We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pensione Moderna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pensione Moderna
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bonassola
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

A friendly B&B close to the train station & beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious! The staff were also friendly and helpful. Bonassola is a good place to base yourself while exploring the cinque terre, especially if arriving by car. Its a quiet and relaxed little town with a nice beach and easy access to the other towns either on foot, by bike or train.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    49
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
40
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This was a quaint hotel located very near the train station, the beach and many resturants. The staff was very nice and helpful and speak English well. The price for what you get is a great bargain and it is a very good place to begin to explore all of Cinque Terre. The staff also let us extend our stay twice and let us keep our same room so we did not have to move our belongings.
The downside of the place it is near the train station, so if you are a light sleeper this may not be for you. However, there are rooms facing away from the train tracks that the sound would not be as bothersome. Also there was not any air conditioning in our room which may be a problem if traveling in July or August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks and avoid peak summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zjc2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

great location, very close to the train station if you are in a hiking trip, close to beach

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Yes it's not 5 star and yes the train is close and yes beds could be more comfortable but this hotel has a wonderful feel to it and it is set in a beautiful quiet village just outside the "touristy" cinque terre. The family who own and operate the Pensione Moderna are great hosts and are very considerate, as are the staff. The breakfast on the terrace makes you slow down and relax. We will remember our week in October for many years with fond memories.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We like the hotel very much. It is very good for families as well as for all who like staying in hotels in quiet towns and close to sea. We staied there for two weeks and had very good time. Staff is attentive, breakfast is good. Sea is the best I've ever seen and only 100 metres from the hotel, almost no traffic in the town, lots of places to eat with reasonable prices. No problems with car parking near the hotel.
In contrary to references about noisy trains I can say: trains do not go at night and they didn't bother me, my husband or my 6-year-old doughter.
I plan to stay in the hotel again next summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Room was terrible, train noise was ridiculous and when you walk into your room and see earplugs, RUN! Rooms were HOT and we were in a pickle as to whether we should open the windows with the train noise. Beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced. Breakfast was decent, but everything else about this place was horrid. Does it also serve as a retirement home? There were several elderly folk wandering around and parked on sheet-covered sofas. Weird place. Find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moderna2011, Proprietario at Hotel Pensione Moderna, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
This replay is to a guest who has been here on the 14th July, for 1 night , booked in January.
She knew that the hotel is close to the railway line, but I think that we have been the only hotel who have assigned a room to her for 1 night during a summer week-end. There was no guarantee 100% she could hold a room in the quiet side. On the 18th May she knew definitely from us that the room was on the railaway side and she could cancel without any penalty until 21 days before the arrival.
We are very sorry that this guest didn’t feel comfortable in our hotel.
But we have to tell that we have found her review very rude and not truth.
It is very offensive to us and to the democratic people of the entire world when she talks about a “retirement home”. We have been astonished! It seems that the hotel have to select only young people! That’s unbelievable! We have young and old guests, and the old ones are very often people coming here since 30 years. . It means that they like our hotel, despite of the steps to the floors (we don’t have any lift). People have been sitting on the sofa, not “parked”. We are democratic and live in a democratic country, and we accepts as guest each one who want come here: according with the Human rights, without distinction of any kind, sex, colour language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status.
Everyone is welcome!

Eleonora Zoppi Ferrari , hotel manager since 1951, and daughters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kissimmee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This Hotel is more like a B&B. Its great for families since its owned by a local family and its intiminate enough for a romantic getaway. The room#4 was opposite from the train tracks, so we weren't disturb by the train station. The owners/employees are very helpful, warm, and speak English. Its an easy access to Cinque Terre, 2 stops from train. The hotel is walking distance from the train station, once you walk down the steps of the station just turn left and then right from the first stop sign. Walking distance 2 minutes from the station. The beach is 4 minutes from the Hotel. This is a small town and very charming. Less touristy than Cinque Terre and this hotel is probably more spacious than any place in Cinque Terre and less expensive. If anyone was going to visit Cinque Terre, I would recommend staying in Bonassola or Levanto. These area is less touristy and you can get a better deal on hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcatunao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonassola
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#1 of 4 in Bonassola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#2 of 4 in Bonassola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pensione Moderna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pensione Moderna

Property: Hotel Pensione Moderna
Address: Via Gino Daneri 81, 19011 Bonassola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bonassola
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bonassola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pensione Moderna 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pensione Moderna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing