We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for collectors and anyone who loves Belleek”

Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Belleek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2014 Northern Ireland Tourist Board "Best Visitor Experience 2014" Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre is home to one of the oldest working Potteries in the world beginning it's existence in 1857. Guided tours of the complete production facility are offered giving guests a real opportunity to see how the product has been made throughout the ages, from start to finish. Many of the unique tools and techniques are still used today being handed down from generation to generation. Guests are afforded the opportunity to also meet with the craftspeople along the way and even get the chance to try casting a new piece, dipping in transparent glaze, painting some of the beautiful hues of pastel colours or even breaking products in our QA rejects department! After the Pottery tour our guests are invited to relax in our Belleek tearoom and have a cup of coffee or lunch whilst looking out on the River Erne.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must for collectors and anyone who loves Belleek”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great shop of beautiful Belleek items. The tour was so interesting and personal. The craftsmen and women were open to tourist watching them. Our tour guide was charming. After watching the care and hand detailing that goes into each piece, I now plan to collect more of this beautiful pottery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 9Susan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 9Susan9,
Thank you for your recent visit and your kind comments on our Tour. Indeed all of our craftspeople welcome all of our visitors and love to chat with them too. I am often told on the shop floor by our staff of the many conversations they have with our guests and how far and wide they travel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    119
    29
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“How Pottery is Made”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a three part visit. First it was general history of Belleck. Second we toured the factory in full operation. We were free to take pictures, make movies, and talk to the workers. Third we visited the shop which included limited edition items and close out items in addition to many main line items. The tour was thorought, not rushed, and we were free to puruse the shop. We thoroughly enjoyed this visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Jerry v,
Thanks you for your comments on your recent visit. We realise that you have many other places that you can visit on a trip to Ireland and we appreciate the fact that you chose us for a stop. Many people nowadays do not expect to be able to walk around the production process let alone chat with the craftspeople, take pictures and shot the odd video. We absolutely encourage all of it. And what's more, our craftspeople want our guests to interact with them, they just love explaining how the carry out their work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I took a tour of Ireland in April of 2014 and our tour group stopped at the Belleek Pottery Center for a tour - the tour was very interesting. We saw some of the artisans at work. We purchased some Belleek Pottery as gifts for friends at home

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Pamela S,
Thank you for your comments on the visit to our Centre and specifically on the tour. I am assuming you arrived on one of the many coach tours that visit Belleek Pottery each year. To rate us with 5 stars with the description "exquisite" is testament to what we are about; thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was very curious about this place and its roots in Irish handmade products' history. Neither my husband nor I were disappointed in stopping by this facility. The tour was fantastic, very reasonable in price and extremely informative. You actually get to tour the entire facility and get a step-by-step instructions on how the pottery is made from start to finish. You get to see right there in front of you how and what each craftsperson is creating. They seem to truly enjoy the tourists and their questions. Not rushed, not annoyed by your interest or inquiries. This was a truly enjoyable tour and would highly recommend it. As expected, there is a large gift shop where you can select items to take with your or ship home.There is even a clearance section to choose the discontinued patterns of items if that interests you or you are looking to add to a collection. Michaela was our guide and was terrific and informative. Great take-in on our tour of Northern Ireland.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank beachquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear beachquilter,
Thank you for visiting Belleek recently and I am glad that you found the experience very rewarding. We are one of only a few ceramic manufacturing facilities in Europe to still allow tours of the working pottery! And, yes, all of our craftspeople are only too glad to see our guests alongside them and in some cases they will even get up so that a guest can take the chair and do a little of the pottery work with their guidance!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exchange Rate Mark-Up Warning”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our visit to the Belleek Pottery Visitors Centre was soured when we made a purchase in their
gift shop. When we used our credit card to pay they added a 3.5% exchange rate mark-up to
convert from Pounds to US Dollars without telling us(we noticed it in the FINE PRINT after
signing the receipt). In our three weeks visit in Ireland, this was the only business to pull this
trick on us. Our advise is to pay only in cash or to demand that a credit card charge be in the
local currency(Pounds).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Skip045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AP_Goan, Company Director at Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Skip045,
I am disappointed by your comment that you felt we "pulled a trick" on you regarding your recent transaction. The fact is that, with any foreign transaction, there is always a charge levied by the banks (not us) when a credit card is used. Now, there is a law stating that this must be transparent and detailed for the consumer to see. We are only following good banking practice here, unlike others perhaps.

I do hope that you enjoyed your overall experience of the visit and I would like to thank you for the purchases that you did make at our Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre also viewed

Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to Belleek Pottery & Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing