We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant with rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Fosse at Cranborne
Ranked #2 of 3 Cranborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bideford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with rooms!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We also went through Travel Zoo - as soon as we had been warmly greeted by Mark, he asked if we would like fresh milk for our bedroom - that set the standard for the stay! A lovely room, Dorset Blue, with a tray containing a cafetiere, fresh coffee decaff and ordinary plus every tea you could think of! DVD's were available from the landing and magazines were provided in the room. There was a small settee and a pull out wall mounted flat screen TV. We had pre dinner drinks in the lounge and played jenga, one of the many puzzles and games available, then after choosing our meal from the excellent menu we went through to the dining room. We had a very very good meal - the cod was the best I have tasted and the cheese board, as already mentioned, was excellent and every cheese was explained by Mark. Our bed was extremely comfortable with high quality cotton sheets and a feather duvet. We found Mark and Emmanuele very welcoming and the stay at their family home was delightful. I would thoroughly recommend La Fosse.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    31
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
128
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were given a voucher from Travelzoo for a 3 course meal and, although local to us, we had never been before.
We found the service to be excellent right from the moment we walked through the door and all of our food was very tasty and well presented. I also went for the award winning cheeseboard which didn't disappoint with 9 different cheeses which were all explained upon serving what they were.
With a homely feel and a very welcoming atmosphere, I can thoroughly recommend a visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mrbonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We were fortunate enough to visit La Fosse courtesy of Travelzoo. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful, Room we stayed in overnight was very clean, spacious and had all amenities you need in this modern world, All in all, a very delightful stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We've stayed at this delightful small hotel twice now, and can warmly recommend it. They have invested in really top notch, comfortable, generous-sized beds and the food is great. They are slowly renovating it, keeping all the lovely historic features, but adding luxurious, contemporary shower rooms and bathrooms. Downstairs there are two stylish seating areas, where you can find lots of information on what to do in the area. The owners were really helpful and friendly, and we would go back any time.

Room Tip: If you like a really big bed, ask for Old Sarum. If you prefer a bath to a shower, there is another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Lovely people, great room with very comfortable huge bed, lovely bathroom etc. in a beautiful old building. Very peaceful and pleasant restaurant, slow service, but only because meals were cooked to order - fine for us as we were here for the evening anyway. Meal was nice, lots of local products, mostly supplied from within Dorset, and the cheese board had about 10 cheeses - all local.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranniStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I had been treated to an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast as a Christmas present so we booked in for end of March.

There are only 6 rooms but each is unique and named after a different and special cheese! Our room was spacious and very comfortable but the meal we had topped everything.

Mark the owner made us very welcome and served up 3 stunning courses, all ingredients sourced locally. Our deal included a selection of cheeses to share at the end of the meal and we've never experienced anything like it...there were nearly a dozen to taste all with a story to them which Mark took great delight in telling. The breakfast the following morning was first class...the atmosphere is very relaxed....for a one or two night break from the kids or work stress you could do a lot worse than stay here...my wife wanted one more night here!

Would absolutely recommend this but if you dine at La Fosse....save room for the cheese board!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

What a delightful break this turned out to be. A much needed break away, we couldn't have chosen better. We were made very comfortable by the warm hospitality of Mark and Emmanuelle. The evening meal was like dining should be, relaxed and nothing too much trouble, well cooked and presented beautifully completed by the cheeseboard which Mark talked us through so that we could fully appreciated the cheeses. We had a very comfortable stay and we intend to go back and meet up with friends there. Treat yourself and seek out this little piece of delight!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranborne
7.4 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheaf of Arrows
Sheaf of Arrows
#3 of 3 in Cranborne
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
10 Castle Street
10 Castle Street
#9 of 27 in Wimborne
18 reviews
1.7 mi away
Home Farm House
Home Farm House
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Saint Giles
158 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Museum Inn
The Museum Inn
#1 of 3 in Farnham
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fosse at Cranborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fosse at Cranborne

Property: La Fosse at Cranborne
Address: London House, | The Square, Cranborne BH21 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cranborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fosse at Cranborne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef proprietor Mark Hartstone and his wife Emmanuelle would like to extend a very warm welcome to you and invite you to experience our homely Restaurant with Rooms in this beautiful countryside of Dorset. Providing six quality accommodations, as well as delicious home cooked dinners with friendly and efficient service, in comfortable idyllic rural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Fosse at Cranborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fosse At Cranborne Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing