We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in Dorset - La Fosse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fosse at Cranborne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Fosse at Cranborne
Ranked #2 of 3 Cranborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in Dorset - La Fosse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

La Fosse is run by a husband and wife team, Chef proprietor Mark Hartstone and his wife Emmanuelle. Mark is an outstanding chief and all the food is perfect. Emmanuelle runs front of house and offers outstanding service whilst maintaining a friendly atmosphere. Great place to eat, we live locally so tend not to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houghtonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    29
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
126
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked for 6 nights , not sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised . The breakfast was suburb with so much choice, cereals, fruit, cheese,toast,yoghurt and a cooked selection,couldn't go wrong. The room was cleaning and nicely furnished and some nice touches such as proper coffee not little sachets,fresh milk and a nice selection of teas.We dined out most nights. On the last night we dined in and had an enjoyable meal with nice wine and a beautiful cheese board, this is a place to stay and slow down to appreciate what is being offered. Thank you all at La Fosse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked here for a mid week meal for two and were not at all disappointed. The food was excellent and the young waitress who was serving was very friendly and professional and had obviously been trained very well.

The quality of the ingredients are amazing and the portions are generous.

This place represents really good quality and at a fair price. Can highly recommend.

I hardly ever give 5 stars, so this must be good!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreww4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We ended a week long stay in Shipton Gorge, in Dorset and decided to spend an extra night near to Salisbury, to enable us to visit the Cathedral.
Looking to the Internet, there were plenty of good reviews & rooms available both in Salisbury & close by.
Check out the prices quoted & then get a room at La Fosse!
Not too far from Salisbury & in a very quiet village on very narrow roads, La Fosse is special & eclectic & eccentric - which make sit very special!
A walk up the stairs past old furniture quickly gave the impression of somewhere far removed from Chain Hotel or shabby chic - this was the real deal.
A huge room & a huge bed with old furniture mixed with expensive & modern bathroom, simply oozed class & style & individuality. You don't like this? Stay somewhere else.... please!
Mark, the chef-proprietor, produced a varied menu simply oozing class & flavours to die for.
The huge choice at breakfast featured a wide range of local produce that just tastes different - you know it does!
Stay, relax & dine in a quality establishment that will surprise & pleasure you.
Worth five stars? Definitely! Whatever you are used to paying - it does not get better than this!
Thanks for a great night & a great dinner, Mark & good luck for the future.

Room Tip: Choose the Old Sarum with the huge kingsize bed & the view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome during our three night stay at La Fosse. The room we had was really a suite made up of a proper bed room, second room turned into a bedroom for our twin boys and a full bathroom. It was very nicely decorated and very comfortable.

The breakfast was wonderful and all locally sourced. In the evenings the owners open the restaurant to non residents and although we didn't have time to sample their evening meals the food smelt exceptional and the restaurant was well patronised.

One final note - travelling with twin 4 year old boys is always something of a challenge and I always travel with mattress covers; however, when one of our boys wet the bed two nights running due to Wedding over excitement and tiredness, it just wasn't an issue and clean sheets were provided in and instance.

We would fully recommend La Fosse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

After our original accommodation fell through, we eventually found La Fosse in Cranborne and what a find! They say things work out for the best and we were delighted at how things turned out. La Fosse is a boutique B&B set in a quaint village. Our room was fantastic, the breakfast the next day was superb and the people that run the place incredibly friendly. We've vowed to go back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are a 20 year old couple who stayed and the trip was perfect. Cranborne is a lovely little village in an ideal location for us, not too far from Bournemouth, Lulworth Cove and Stonehenge. The B&B was superb, the bed was really comfy, the owners were really friendly and genuine and made our stay extra special as they always went the extra mile to please us. THE FOOD WAS DIVINE and Mark is an unbelievable chef. Best 'Value for Money' experience I have ever had! Simply brilliant.

Room Tip: The room one above the 'Cosy bedroom' had more than enough room for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby_Katz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranborne
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Cranborne
The Inn at Cranborne
#1 of 3 in Cranborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Home Farm House
Home Farm House
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Saint Giles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheaf of Arrows
Sheaf of Arrows
#3 of 3 in Cranborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Fosse at Cranborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fosse at Cranborne

Property: La Fosse at Cranborne
Address: London House, | The Square, Cranborne BH21 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cranborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fosse at Cranborne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chef proprietor Mark Hartstone and his wife Emmanuelle would like to extend a very warm welcome to you and invite you to experience our homely Restaurant with Rooms in this beautiful countryside of Dorset. Providing six quality accommodations, as well as delicious home cooked dinners with friendly and efficient service, in comfortable idyllic rural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your La Fosse at Cranborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fosse At Cranborne Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing