We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Cranborne
Ranked #1 of 3 Cranborne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic country inn”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I booked a night at the Cranborne Inn for our 2nd anniversary and it turned out to be a fantastic decision. The inn is set in the idyllic village of Cranborne and offers a good range of ales, lagers, cider and, importantly for an anniversary, sparkling wine/champagne. The food is extremely tasty, well presented and reasonably priced - as is the accommodation for the quality of room. The rooms are all individually named and ours, the Blandford, came complete with a beautiful rolltop bath (at least that is what my wife told me it was called) and locally produced products.

The inn has a lovely country atmosphere with lots of friendly staff, especially the owner, and locals - plus the presence of dogs milling around, sitting by your feet just adds to the experience.

The only negatives (if you could call them that) were the free WiFi not working (but to be honest we loved not being connected and didn't bother to ask the staff if they could help) and the bedroom temperature, which was too hot, but after a bottle of Prosecco between us we slept well regardless.

Would recommend this The Inn at Cranborne highly to anyone looking for a nice country break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    40
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
98
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed at around 8pm on the Friday evening - this was despite the restaurant being fairly busy - it was nice for them to give the time to show us to our room. The décor in the room was fab, and the bathroom was lovely - we didn't find the bed particularly comfortable, but everyone has their own taste and this certainly didn't deter from our experience. We ate in the restaurant, and wow - the food was incredible! We enjoyed a three course meal accompanied by a great bottle of wine. The selection of food and drink on offer was perfect. We stayed two nights, and had a great full cooked breakfast each morning which was included in the price. All the staff were lovely, the location was ideal, and we would definitely return. The only thing is that we stayed over a weekend where there was a 2 for 1 offer on the nights stayed - if this was not on offer the next time we stayed, unfortunately it would be over our budget for what it is. This place has already been recommended to friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane - The Inn ... C, Owner at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you!

All the staff were chuffed to read this review at our weekly meeting. We don't always get it right but when we do it is lovely to hear about it. Come again soon!

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After touring England for 2 weeks, staying in a variety of accommodation, we were keen to add the country inn experience to our list. We chose the Inn at Cranborne because it had good reviews and appeared to tick all the boxes - historic old inn in a rural village, a good restaurant where we could enjoy some good local food, a pub to enjoy some pre dinner drinks in the bar and a good stopping off point on our journey from Cornwall to London. The village looked gorgeous as we drove into it, but arriving at the Inn at an out 5:00 pm was a huge disappointment. The pub and restaurant were closed on a Monday evening, so all we got was the room. No atmosphere, no country inn experience. We were directed to another pub in the village for traditional pub food (scampi with chips and peas) which were awful! Anyway, to finish on a couple of positives, the room was nice with a comfy bed and quality toiletries. There was tea and coffee but no milk! Such a little thing, but no milk?!! And the breakfast was lovely. Which only made we envious for those who would enjoy dinner that night!

Room Tip: Don't book in for a Monday night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamsjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane - The Inn ... C, Owner at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. We agree it has been very limited for overnight guests with us closed on Mondays for lunch and dinner SO as of August 18th we are opening 7 days a week which has been a goal of ours. We now have built up our team at last to open on Mondays also.

With that limitation gone now you may like to come back again some time. We hope so.

Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A group of 6 of us stayed for 3 nights while cycling in the area. The standard of the rooms was excellent and the locally made toiletries were lovely. Staff were all helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was very good, buffet of cereals, parties and yogurts and an excllent fruit compote; and a good selection of cooked options.
I felt the food in the evenings let the Inn down. The addition of a daily special would be a real bonus (it gets boring looking at the same menu every night), and a different soup option each day would have been better. I also thought the food was expensive for the type of establishment (it isn't a gastro pub).
I am afraid they did let themselves down with our bill. I was presented with a bill for our room and told that food and drink had been divided by 3 so was equally shared by all rooms. There was no problem with this, however diving it by 3 meant our food bill was over £200 while the other two rooms had bills for food of less than £100 - plainly wrong. Would have preferred it if at this point if the bill had been redone completely rather than just adding up the three totals and dividing by 3. I am still not convinced it was correct and the bill I have does not make it easy to check.
Apart of the administration of the bill everything else was lovely and we would go back, even if it was a little quiet in the evenings.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As three experienced business travellers staying overnight, all of us were most impressed with the quality of the rooms. It is clear that no expense was spared in creating delightful and extremely comfortable accommodation when the present owner modernised the hotel with a delightful mixture of old and new, buit everything of top quality.
The owner appears to understand her market very well, as an experienced business traveller in a previous "life". She claims to fill up every weekend with guests paying full price, while marking down the rooms by 50% during the working week to attract what few business travellers come in to the area; this means that the inn offers 4* accommodation for a B&B price.
I think the inn is unlucky that most reviews are from local people coming only to eat, as the accommodation is the star of the show, but nevertheless, the food was good hearty pub food, fairly expensive on its own, but very reasonable when combined on an invoice with the excellent value accommodation. All three of us enjoyed Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for less than £100.
I am unable to comment on the cooked breakfast, as we had to leave at 08.15, but a good continental breakfast was provided, as we had not time to indulge further, and included fresh croissants and fruit.
I would certainly stay again at a pub which exceeded my expectations (after reading previous comments). It was a toss-up whether to award a 4 or a 5.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have to say I've not stayed in the rooms but have seen them and they are SUPERB. And the staff are friendly and run around like lunatics to help you, although on two occasions the manager has been on the wrong side of the bar clogging it up, which looks a little unprofessional, especially when the team are so busy.

The food confuses the Inns identity and even though I've visited a few times, there is no real invigorating reason to go there again :-(

the Inn is presented as friendly, homely and somewhere where you would expect to get a good sausage and mash, game pie, high end traditional pub food and the like. Instead it's pork three ways for £18 with vegetables for an extra few quid on a piece of slate. Fish and chips with crushed peas and deserts with long descriptions and nothing on the plate for £6.

This is the identity crisis. It's not a Gastro pub but pretends it is. The foods not good enough for it to make this claim. (Food quality varies wildly sometimes). If IT put both feet into classic, homely... Then the menu would look quite different and every visitor would know what they will be getting by going to the Inn.

So try it by all means, it will be enjoyable, but be prepared for an identity crisis, small portions and a homely gastro pub (whatever one of those is)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_Morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane - The Inn ... C, Owner at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review. I am glad you think our rooms are SUPERB. Dorset Toursim Awards gave us Silver in the B&B category this year for our delightful rooms, service and food.

Let me go through a few points about your other comments. Feedback is always welocme and always gone thourgh a with fine tooth combe but facts should be correct not just flights of fancy.

The Pork three ways for £18 on a slate and vegetables for an extra charge. Are you sure you ate this dish at The Inn? Our Pork is £15.95 for Fillet of Pork, mustard croquetts, squash puree, purple sprouting broccoli and roasted beetroot with potato of the day. So Pork one way with enough veg on the plate for most guests.

Our Manager IS on the right side of the bar when she mucks in with the team. She is an integral part of the service team and no one that works at The Inn is exempt from pouring drinks, cleaning glasses etc. We are proud of this.

You mention we claim to be gastro. Simple to say I will give you a pint if you can show me where The Inn has ever said, stated or advertised using the word gastro. In fact if you look at an article where I was interviewed for The Blackmore Vale we eshewed the word gastro. We are a pub and proud!

Identity crises? I will take our identity and the awards it has won us; Dorset Tourism Pub of the Year 2013, Dorset Tourism B&B SIlver award 2013, The AA rates us Four Star for our Food and Service, West Country Pub of the Year 2012, Five Star Food Safety Rating and much much more importantly we served over 500 happy customers this weekend with full tables and bedrooms. That will do me!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here at Xmas and decided to go back for a couple of nights recently. It is a very dog friendly place. However in our opinion the food was not good value for money although quality quite good selection not to our taste. The room was very very noisy with a generator downstairs kicking in and out all night. But most annoying was the fact that although Wifi was apparently available it was not possible to get in any location. Unfortunately would not go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane - The Inn ... C, Owner at The Inn at Cranborne, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I agree we are not in the best Wifi spot but whilst speeds are slow it is relaible. We have two networks to choose from in different parts of the building. I would be keen to know fi you asked fore our help to solve this issue rather than remaining frustrated?

A pub requires many services to remain on overnight. 99% of our guests don't get disturbed by low noise levels but some people do and I wish with all my heart we could take all lifes noises away and give 100% of our guests a great night sleep. Look at some of our lovely reviews where a great nights sleep was hugley welcome by our guests.

I am very pleased you enjoyed our food and hope this along with our Dorset Tourism Award for Pub of the Year will being you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranborne
7.4 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Fiddleford Inn
The Fiddleford Inn
#3 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
50 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
131 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Fosse at Cranborne
La Fosse at Cranborne
#2 of 3 in Cranborne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Cranborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cranborne

Property: The Inn at Cranborne
Address: 5 Wimborne Street, Cranborne BH21 5PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Cranborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cranborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Cranborne 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within this 17th Century building, Jane Gould has brought about her own vision of a traditional English Country Inn. Amongst the wood burning stoves, cosy corners and sharing tables you will find hearty interesting food, lovingly restored bedrooms featuring large beds with snuggly duvets and a choice of pillows and fabulous en-suite bathrooms with powerful showers, some roll-top baths and Bramley products.The daily changing menu is interesting but not overwhelming and there is always great range of well-kept Real Ales, including the Inn’s own Fleur Ale, brewed specially by Hall & Woodhouse.The Inn at Cranborne is fast becoming a focal point of the delightful village of Cranborne, set as it is in the heart of Cranborne Chase with its ample opportunities for fishing and shooting. It is a short drive to the New Forest, the beautiful Jurassic Coast and the sandy beaches of Bournemouth. Winborne, Salisbury, Shaftesbury and many gardens and historic places are within an easy drive. The area is also great for cycling and walking, with Jubilee trail right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Cranborne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cranborne Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing