We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Review of Hotel Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Varadero
Ranked #2 of 2 Porto Petro B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The room smelled of rotten drains and the shower is a health hazard.
The booking system is rubbish and they often double book rooms. Then having to relocate people with no compensation. They have no idea of customer service and the manager is rude. Save yourself a lot of anguish and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalVaradero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Hello,

I am really sory to hear that. I will check personally what happened and i will make sure it won´t be happening again.

My kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    61
    42
    25
    22
See reviews for
15
142
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This Hostel wont disappoint,I've stayed in very much worse 3* Hotels,The service was extremely helpful and efficient, the room I was allocated was in the second building 50 metres from the main
building.The room was very spacious and crisp, clean and brilliant white with a kingsize bed, some may say a bit basic but to my mind very stylish and cool, didnt need to use the airconditioning once during my stay,temperatures around 30 degrees.The bathroom was very spacious with an exteremely powerful shower.
There is a lovely roof terrace with great views over the harbour.The swimming pool situated behind the main building again was very very stylish with good beds and parasols not the biggest pool but adequate,there was a bar serving food and drinks,and barbeque (used for theme events in the evenings).
The hotels seperate restaurant situated right on the slip way to the harbour and again very stylish
served very good food from a varied menu(10% discount for hostel users).Great!!!

Room Tip: A balcony room would be good but certainly not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalVaradero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your comment my friend. I promise you we will keep improving our services in order to offer an excelent stay to our clients.
I wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.

Octavio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

What is exactly the Sky See View Cocktail Bar? what a wonderful name for a plaster bar in the flat roof!!! I suppose that if you want to order a drink, you have to go downstairs (3 floors, there is no elevator, so handicapped people or families with strollers forget this hostel) and ask for it in the lobby bar.
In the "Varadero Beach Club" (public and free pool of the hostel located in the back street) you can find no Balinese Beds, no hidrotherapy (as it is said in the web page) and the pictures showed in the web are fake.
The bathroom in our junior suite was the littlest bathroom I have ever seen in my life!!! once you are inside it is imposible for an adult to close the door unless you put yourself inside of the shower!!!!!
There is no A.C. in the lobby bar, so breakfast time is "sauna time".
I will never return to this hostel. The main reason is not the lies and the fake pictures in the web page, is the rudeness we were treated with, when we complained to the manager.
Mallorca is a wonderful island do not let these people ruined your hollidays as they did with ours.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gnasla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Petro hotels

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Excellent value, with friendly and helpful staff. We stayed here 10 years ago and were very impressed by the location of the Hotel, on the doorstep of a beautiful, upmarket Mallorcan harbour. We were, particlarly impressed by the beautiful swimming pool at the rear of the hotel. Our return visit was for us, very nostalgic, and we were in no way disappointed with our stay!

Room Tip: Get the most expensive available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahs1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalVaradero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hola,

I am really happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation in our Hostel...that is the best reward for the work we have done here. I am looking forward to see you again...just let me know when you are ready. :)
All the best from Varadero team.
My best regards.

Octavio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Lovely Hostel! Ibiza style. Nice staff and atonishing view from the upper terrace bar. Better book a room with sea view.

Room Tip: room with sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Hola,

Good morning. I am glad to hear you had a good time in our company, Porto Petro is a very special spot...and our Hostel with its location and services offers the opportunity to spend a great time...just as you did! :)
Thank you very much for choosing us and hope to see you again soon.

All the best from Varadero team, my best regards.

Octavio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

We are normally a couple a books apartments in Majorca and have been coming to this part of the island for many years. As our normal choices were not available this month we tried this hostel and found that this exceeded all of our expectations!! From the welcome at reception upon arrival to the cleanliness of the rooms this is a delightful place to stay, a real Spanish feel to the decor. The staff are friendly and make you feel well looked after. The pool and sun loungers etc are first class. The breakfast selection was very good with fresh produce and something for everyone. This really was a lovely place to stay so much so we have booked to come back in July! Totally recommend it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalVaradero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Mr. Chris,

It is a pleasure to hear from you. I am glad to hear that you really had a good time in our Hostel, that is very important for us. Looking forward to see you again in Porto Petro and specially in our Hostel where you are always welcome ! :)

A big hug in the name of our team.
My best regards.

Octavio Frincu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

we stayed here at the middle of May for 5 nights and we had a great time, for us, and believe me we've stayed in a lot of hotels with ....stars, but this was such a great experience, it's so intimate, beautiful white nice rooms, it was very clean, very friendly personal, good food at the hostal as well at their restaurant at the habour also called Varadero, great music on the saturday evening with of without diner, but we recommenend the beef mignon at the hostal!, The breakfast buffet was very good, fresh and large. I know we where very lucky because the swimmingpool was just ready, not quiet there where still a copple of things to do but give them time and evrything will be perfect, I hope next year we can return if there is still space for us!?
Claudia, Matty and Octavio you where great, thank you hope to see you again.

Room Tip: rooms with the terrace where very nice, with a view to the habour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maud_meuwissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalVaradero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Varadero, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Buenos días :),

Nice to hear from you...thank you for joining us and thank you for your honest opinion. As you´ve noticed we do our best to please our clients...try to make smile the people that don´t...and try to make keep smiling the people that smile...not only our clients...but our friends!:)
You are always welcome to Porto Petro and Hostal Varadero...we hope to hear from you as soon as possible...

A big hug from Varadero team.
My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Petro
0.2 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Niu d'Aus
Niu d'Aus
#2 of 4 in Porto Petro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cala d'Or
Hotel Cala d'Or
#19 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inturotel Cala Esmeralda - Adults Only
1.6 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
Sol Cala d'Or Apartamentos
#12 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ses Puntetes Hotel
Ses Puntetes Hotel
#27 of 46 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varadero

Property: Hotel Varadero
Address: Calle Patrons Martina 1, 07691 Porto Petro, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Nereida Hostal)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Porto Petro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Porto Petro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varadero 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 3 * Hotel is located in the heart of the fishing village of Porto Petro, living mirror of the real Mallorca, with a typical Mediterranean style construction with a mix of Ibiza style and ancient Greek Islands . Divided into two buildings, the main building has 27 rooms where the reception and the Skybar is located. What we call Lounge, is the annex building with 16 rooms and a nudist terrace on the roof. Both buildings offer superior rooms, with balconies and a side sea view and standard rooms without balcony. Both type are elegant and fresh with a large and comfortable beds and open cupboards. The bathrooms are equipped with natural stone shower, WC, washbasin, hairdryer and magnifying mirror. All rooms have Led TV with satellite, Air conditioning and heating, free WI-FI throughout the hotel and Safety Box (with charge). The hotel has a large Swimming pool surrounded by a beautiful garden in a completely chill-out place, with a fantastic bar where you can enjoy a cocktail or smoothie. Not forgetting the Tennis Court that you can use any time and for free. For your most intimate moments we offer a nudist terrace on the roof of the Lounge. Our Sky Bar is located on the roof terrace in the main building with wonderful views of the sea and to port of Porto Petro. Perfect for weddings, events or meetings, or just for a relaxing or romantic time enjoying the fantastic sunset. And if you are an early riser you can enjoy one of the most beautiful sunrises you’ve ever seen. We think of all details, we know that sometimes it can’t be only relax, you also have to work, why not combine it? We have a totally free conference room, with a max capacity. 40 persons, for any meeting, The hotel offers some wonderful views. We’re located a few meters from the port and all its restaurants; the nearest beach is just 700 meters (5 minutes’ walk). You’ll find all you need nearby the hotel, taxi and bus stop, supermarket, pharmacy, hairdresser and beauty salon. The reception is open from 8.00 till 0.00 o´clock. If you arrive late, please contact the hotel one day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Varadero Hotel Porto Petro
Nereida Hostal Porto Petro
Hotel Varadero Porto Petro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing