We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but poorly staffed”
Review of L'Auberge Normande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Auberge Normande
Ranked #3 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Flemish Brabant Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
312 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Charming but poorly staffed”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel has all the posibilities to be great place to be but the details ruin the experience. As business travel staying here, I expect internet to be at an acceptable speed. It wasn't and dropped out so often it was frustrating. If breakfast is supposed to be as of 07:00, I expect the breakfast to be ready as of 07:00 and not that the staff starts to prepare the breakfast as of 07:10. Overall, not bad but the lack of attention to those details, most likely by being understaffed or being staffed by less than motivated people, throws a shadow over this place. I will return but hope the owners get things sorted out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ignace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    67
    39
    38
    22
See reviews for
46
107
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has plenty of appeal at first sight - and then you get your instructions from the lady dragon with the false smile and without any sense of customer care; I'm afraid that for the most part the food took the same uncaring attitude as the dragon, who rushed stomping between tables all the time that we were trying to eat. And our bottle of red was chilled to the core. Be warned

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carentan hotels

Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

4 of us - 3 rooms. Ours was the 'handicapped' room just off the outdoor dining area. Large room, large bathroom but no doors around the shower. Water drain in the floor but still floor would be wet after a shower. Slippery when wet, not sure how that is good for someone who must have a handicapped bathroom. For us, it was ok but you had to get down on the floor to dry it prior to moving around in the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. It's hit and miss with the housekeeping, one day no towels, on arrival a dirty tea cup in the room, etc...But just ask for what you need and it's no problem.
Breakfast buffet with more than enough. Again, hit and miss - long periods of time to have the croissant basket refilled, coffee carafes would sit empty, but all you had to do was ask and whatever you needed would be provided. It's sorta like 'at home' where you get it yourself, but not.
We didn't eat dinner any of the 4 nights we stayed at L'Auberge. We,nightly, drug 2 tables from a walkway which did double duty as a storage room for tables and chairs and went shopping in town for our dinners. The staff of the hotel did not mind, and gladly provided place settings for our in-room picnics.
Yes, the staff sits outside the kitchen, hidden by bushes, smoking and also having their meals al fresco. They were not loud over the 4 nights we were there and our room within just feet of their outdoor space.
Overall, I'd stay there again, it's so charming. Very little English spoken but a few of the younger staff would try to speak with us in English and did not laugh at our poor attempts to speak French.

Room Tip: In another wing, there is a studio - 2 floors with big bathtub in the center of the floor under a sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. The staff smoking under the bedroom window was an annoyance though. The meal from the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastystuffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The room was comfortable but was spoilt by the noisy staff who sat outside drinking and smoking until the early hours.
The menu was pretentious and the food was nothing like its description in the menu. My fish was so overcooked that it was completely inedible. Both my husband and I suffered from upset stomachs after dinner. At breakfast we were seated at the same table which still had the spilt candle wax on the cloth from the night before.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellybean514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skibbereen, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Arrived one wet night from Paris. The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were very good. The breakfast was an experience. There were no cereal bowls, and when I asked for four I was given what was the nearest thing to a bucket. Again asked for four bowls, I was given four dirty bowls. Once again I tried and was eventually given four clean? bowls. There was no coffee, no milk and limited other food. I had to ask for everything from the staff who were more interested in being in the yard smoking rather than serving in the hotel.

It was like the owners had gone away and left the children in charge, who had no interest.

There was no car park and my car was vandalised by being keyed outside the hotel. It was the only car damaged which was parked outside the hotel. I would not go there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Tommypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My son and I spent two nights here. Our accomodation had two seperate bedrooms with a bathroom and was quite roomy. On our arrival the bar was closed but we were told that the Hotel 100m down the road, owned by the same people, was still open. We trundled down returning some 40 minutes in the pouring rain only to find the reception area unmanned at night in defference to a key pad entance system. We were not told this (or the code) and had to hastily return to the Hotel in order to find the barman who had served us, who then gave us the code.
The morning breakfast consisted of a half broken french stick, a shot glass of fruit and some cold coffee with some marmalade for the bread. When I complained (9 euros for this) I was told that if there are fewer than four guests the buffet is not available despite still being 9 euros. I also note another posting regarding the lack of milk in the complimentary package, this was certainly the case with us and despite protestations got nowhere. I got the impression the accomodation was run by a bunch of bairns who were suiting themselves and generaly very lazy as I never saw any adults, the coming and going of when the staff could and could not speak English was quite entertaining. Hope you enjoyed your wee laugh L'Auberge but due to fine websites like this one, who's having a wee laugh now ?

Room Tip: Not the one at the front ! Directly above a traffic light on the main road with large diesel trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazza061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
108 reviews
7.7 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
98 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
154 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel du 6 Juin
Hotel du 6 Juin
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Normande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Normande

Property: L'Auberge Normande
Address: 11 C boulevard de Verdun, 50500 Carentan, Carentan-les-Marais, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan-les-Marais > Carentan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Auberge Normande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Auberge Normande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing