We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling and frankly offensive”
Review of L'Escapade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Escapade
Ranked #8 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Never, ever come to this place. Given the large number of war tourists that come to this town and region, you would think that the staff at L'escapade would be happy to have such tourists spending money with them.

Well that is not the case. From the very start we were lectured for not speaking French. We tried to be polite with our limited French, but evidently was not enough. Sure, when you're in another country you try, but given the history of this town you'd expect the locals to be a little more tolerant. This town was liberated by English speaking soliders and many died here trying to. Would you prefer to be speaking German? Yeah it was 70 years ago, but come on - have a little tolerance.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sdjeagle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank fanny95240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank ikeo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisir une chambre à 49€
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amandine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le0netta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaryseCOINDARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carentan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Normande
L'Auberge Normande
#5 of 8 in Carentan
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Clos Castel
Le Clos Castel
#1 of 8 in Carentan
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Domaine Saint-Hilaire
Le Domaine Saint-Hilaire
#7 of 8 in Carentan
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Roseliere
La Roseliere
#4 of 8 in Carentan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escapade

Address: 28 avenue de la Gare | Rue Du Docteur Caillard, 50500 Carentan, Carentan-les-Marais, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan-les-Marais > Carentan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — L'Escapade 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Escapade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing