We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, could do better!”
Review of L'Escapade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Escapade
Ranked #8 of 8 Carentan B&B and Inns
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not bad, could do better!”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I recently stayed here with members of my family on a cycling weekend. We had booked this weeks in advance, stating on the booking we would be arriving with 6 bicycles. On our arrival we were told to leave or bikes outside in the back yard overnight! We were very concerned bout security, so we negotiated, and the only option was to leave them in the food store! Not ideal. Our evening meal was okay, the service was could have been better, as we often had to keep chasing the staff. Our bedroom were as stated by previous reports. Nice and clean, good beds.

The problem came when we came down for breakfast the next morning. We were booked in for 7.30, as agreed the night before with the hotel reception staff. At 8am we were still waiting and as you could imagine, we were on shedual. The 1x member of staff who eventually open up the restaurant was quite abrupt!!

Just be prepared to wait for service, I couldn't help but feel second to French speaking guests. No members of staff spoke English, which is okay, but not when your ignored a lot of the time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    35
    26
    33
    36
See reviews for
29
69
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed as a stop-over between Cherbourg and Paris; I wanted Carentan due to its strong WWII connections, and we wanted a more typical French-style country hotel than something more modern like an Ibis.

L'Escapade is situated in the town square, 5 mins walk from the town's little harbour. Despite that, we parked our car right outside the hotel's front door!

The rooms were very clean and functional (no baths), slightly more modern than the rest of the hotel, and the beds were soft and very comfy. The restaurant/eating area downstairs is fantastic, filled with French bric-a-brac; the evening menu was superb (though not much for the vegetarians and it did take a while to come) and breakfast was a good spread continental.

Staff were very polite (and spoke English).

Carentan is beautiful, and L'Escapade feels authentic French; I would love to go back to spend longer exploring the countryside. (L'Escapade offered a far more enjoyable stay than our expensive Disneyland Paris hotel!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlet0nr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Another one night stay on our cycling trip along the Normandy beaches. We booked one of the cheaper rooms which was advertised as having a small bathroom - an apt description. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The 'bathroom' was a small self-contained 'pod' in the corner containing a toilet, handbasin and basic shower (which pumped out plenty of hot water). Not recommended if you suffer from claustrophobia or if you're staying longer than a couple of nights, but perfectly adequate for our needs and exactly what was advertised.

The staff were friendly and helpful and there was secure storage for our bikes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I totally agree with the other review about being ignored and the French getting served before us. We ordered a 3 course meal, the soup came and then after the dishes were taken away it was half an hour before we realised that we just were not going to get out 2nd course!! after trying to attract the attention of the waiters and waitresses, that were rude and ignored us, we finally got our last 2 courses. Having read these other reviews I realise that it must happen all the time and I would not recommend this place. The food was nice and good value but the service was dreadful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carentan hotels

Swanmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We came here for dinner. The service was awful and the waiter (apparently one of the owners) was very rude and offhand. We ordered a bottle of white wine which was room temperature and had to ask for an ice bucket to cool it down. Overall extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: We did not stay - only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Four of us were on a cycling tour of the the D Day beaches and were booked in for one night at the Hotel Le Vauban which is a nice hotel just up the road. Unfortunately this hotel does not have a restaurant so the very helpful lady on reception there said we could try the L'Escapade Hotel for a meal.
What a disaster!! It was like something out of Faulty Towers! The waiter and I assume the manager, both wore straw 'pork pie' style hats, had an attitude problem and were extremely rude. We noticed that French people sitting down after us were being served well before us. Being a group of four we all checked that it wasn't just one of us imagining everything but the waiter actually went out of his way to ignore us. The food was sub standard, service was appalling and I would strongly recommend that you give this place a very wide berth!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I arrived at l'escapade as passing trade on my way up to the ferry in Cherbourg.

First the negatives
I arrived at lunch time and the staff were obviously very busy. The man on reception was a little frazzled and the welcome was not as warm as I would expect. However, I was quickly allocated a room. The hotel was in the middle of decorating and the stairs were covered with bits of damp wallpaper. This was a little dangerous and I think that for safety reasons someone should have offered to carry my bag. I also ended up hitting my head on sme scaffolding over the stair way.

The positives ( which outweigh the negatives)
The room was very comfortable and extremely reasonably priced. The bed was perhaps the most comfortable that I have slept in. The wifi was free and excellent. Carentan is a beautiful town with a lovely walk along the estuary. I had dinner in the restaurant and it was fantastic. I had been in France for three weeks prior to this and l'escapade was by far the best meal I had during my holiday. The portions were huge and the quality was very good. I had a very tasty country salad which would have been a meal on its own for a starter, then I had a Normandy chicken which was exactly as it should be. The waiting staff were very efficient.

I don't usually write reviews but after reading all the negative reviews for this hotel I felt I should stand up for them. I didn't notice any of the abusive or anti English behaviours that other reviewers have mentioned. I do speak quite good French and I am from Northern Ireland not England but I sat beside to two non French speaking English men at dinner and they were treated very well. Waiting staff made every effort to translate the menu for them and ensure they had what they wanted.

All in all this is a hotel that I would return to just for the food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronagh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#2 of 2 in Carentan
110 reviews
7.6 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
157 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
162 reviews
22.4 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Normande
L'Auberge Normande
#3 of 8 in Carentan
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escapade

Property: L'Escapade
Address: 28 avenue de la Gare | Rue Du Docteur Caillard, 50500 Carentan, Carentan-les-Marais, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan-les-Marais > Carentan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carentan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — L'Escapade 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your L'Escapade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing