We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hotel le Vauban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Vauban
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carentan
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Picked hotel based on reviews on here lives up to expections very central clean and good rooms . The rooms at the front are best as you can watch life go on in the town. Breafast is good value despite reviews on here limitless coffee and they will store milk cornflakes if you wish . Run by very friendly lady who is a mind of information would definitely stay here again when in Normandy . Nearly forgot to say very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Hotel le Vauban
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very nice place to stay, located in the centre of the village, close to Utah beach and sainte mere eglise. The room was big and very clean. The breakfast was normal at a reasonable price of 5.50€. The staff was very friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Davide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Eleven of us stayed there in six rooms on the second night of a group cycling holiday. The hotel was basic but excellent value, very helpful lady in charge who gave us comprehensive advice on where to get our evening meal. Rooms well furnished. Gave us accommodation for our bikes in a lock up garage a couple of hundred yards away. Breakfast was simple but plentiful and with very good service. Hotel in the main square a few minutes walk from the port.

The spiral staircase was a bit of a pain !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked this for its central location during our recent trip of Normandy's battlefields. Having read previous negative reviews, I was worried what we were letting ourselves in for. Thankfully my fears were availed and although not the Ritz (or their prices) it was a smashing little B&B. The rooms were clean and compact with TV and free WIFI. Although the beds were strangely short! The manageress couldn't have been more helpful and we would definetly stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Gezza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Vauban and agree with the last reviewer. Carine, the hotel manager, was very friendly and helpful. It's located right in Carentan and makes for a good central location for touring the Normandy beaches. There are plenty of cafe's and restaurants IVO the hotel. The rooms are plain, clean and a good value. The in-room wifi was excellent. I'd stay here again and recommend it.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank TMO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here two nights in August 2012 on a bicycle tour, and would have stayed longer but was short of time. The hotel is small but comfortable, spotlessly clean and very quiet. Carine, the manager, is friendly, very helpful and speaks excellent English. Was able to lock the bike in the hotel's secure garage. Will happily stay there next time I'm in France. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Room was just adequate (although it was clean) for the price paid. Front desk reception not friendly or particularly helpful. We bought the breakfast and were extremely disappointed - way over priced for what was offered on the "buffet". Coffee cold, pastries left over from prior day, toaster did not work, etc. Service left much to be desired.

Room Tip: Look at room before booking.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carentan
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Carentan
Kyriad Carentan
#1 of 2 in Carentan
121 reviews
7.5 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
166 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel du 6 Juin
Hotel du 6 Juin
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
67 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Isigny-sur-Mer
108 reviews
17.2 mi away
Logis Grand Hotel du Louvre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Vauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Vauban

Address: 7 rue Sebline, 50500 Carentan, Carentan-les-Marais, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Carentan-les-Marais > Carentan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carentan
Price Range: £41 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Vauban 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le vauban is located in carentan,10km from the landing beaches on the normandy coast.it is just 200 metres from the train station and offers accommodation with free wi-fi access.each room at the vauban is equipped with a flat screen tv and a private bathroom with a shower or a bath.the hotel is an ideal base for exploring the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel le Vauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing