We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to the nordic trails and village centre”
Review of La Buffe

La Buffe
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Buffe
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Autrans
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Good hotel in the middle of Autrans, easy to find, warm and comfortable. Most staff only spoke French but were helpful when needed - I had to use body and sign language to communicate which seemed to work reasonably well. Room was adequate, and bathroom OK but no proper shower - had to stand in a bathtub and use a hand held shower hose with no shower curtain. Dining room available for all meals and food was typically french - not enough vegetables and non fatty food for me. But I got fruit at breakfast time! Hotel is within very easy walking distance of the nordic ski trails and town centre. Great village - non touristy and pretty! However, the village was further and took longer to reach by buses from Grenoble airport than I had thought - a car from the airport would be much quicker.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2008

Due to the € v £ exchange, the room rates don't seem so cheap now...but in any case a family group of 11 of us stayed here for its location to the ski slopes.

Located about 70mins drive from Grenoble Airport, 30mins drive up into the stunning Vecors.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vercors_Plateau

The communal areas of the hotel are good, bright, modern clean, and the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

However, the bedrooms are fairly old fashioned and dated, quite basic, small, 2 star accommodation. But in the whole, they were functional, clean and fairly warm. The Bath/WC just about adequate but small, could do with dedicated showers, but all the same, we had no problems, and we had plenty of hot water. Overall, i would say the rooms could do with being modernized.

Breakfast is typical petit déjeuner continental, limited to cereals, yog, fruit, breads, cafe, tea, chocolat au chaud etc etc, plentiful and fresh.

The village is a short 2 min walk where you can find quite a few nice places to eat, bakers, bank ATM, supermarket, ski-hire, etc.

There are a number of great places to ski within an easy 10min drive from the hotel, which makes La Buffe a good location to base for either novice or experienced ski-ers. There is a very good ski-school there too (ESF) with English speaking instructors, at reasonable rates.

We would go back to Autrans, for the ski & village which we loved, and has everything you need all close by, and may probably stay at La Buffe again, but with availability, may prefer to stay at Hotel La Poste just down the road, which has an indoor Pool & Sauna (La Buffe has a small outdoor pool used in the summer). You wont find hoards of English in Autrans either, which makes the place more attractive!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank jeromeSantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Déjeuner en salle, un jour de chute de neige, c'est féérique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank jpr38210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cathy21072017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Autrans
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Au Feu de Bois
0.4 mi away
Le Vernay
Le Vernay
#4 of 8 in Autrans
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys Le Sornin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Auberge de la Croix Perrin
Auberge de la Croix Perrin
#2 of 2 in Lans-en-Vercors
181 reviews
7 mi away
Les 4 Montagnes
Les 4 Montagnes
#2 of 13 in Villard-de-Lans
104 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
Hotel & Spa les Clarines
#2 of 2 in Correncon-en-Vercors
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Buffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buffe

Address: La Scie, 38880 Autrans, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Autrans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Autrans
Price Range: £74 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Buffe 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your La Buffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing