We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Vallorcine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a very pleasant stay with Helen and Steve in the Guest House. The rooms were excellent and the cosy living room made us feel right at home. Breakfast and dinner (Note: you have to notify Helen in advance if you wish to have dinner) were splendid and there are some very nice restaurants nearby (like Le Café Comptoir). The surroundings were great for skiing. Make sure not to miss the Aiguille Verte.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Guest House Chamonix provides a truly wonderful experience in a magical location. We return to the Chamonix Valley year after year and it remains our favourite ski destination. The Guest House is our 'home from home' and combines a warm, friendly, family atmosphere with top class service and facilities. Helen is a fantastic chef and manages to create some truly amazing three course dinners with a combination of Swedish and French influences as well as terrific breakfasts and homemade cakes. Its a good job that there is plenty to keep you active winter or summer! Access to the ski area at Le Tour is easy with a newly installed telecabin system in Vallorcine itself. Alternatively, its just a short drive to Argentiere where you can access the Grand Montet ski area. The views from the Guest House are truly breathtaking and we have spent some glorious summer evenings enjoying one of Steve's barbecues (and of course a glass or two of wine!) in the alpine garden - the mountain spring is an excellent wine and beer cooler!! In the winter, the views of the snow covered mountains are spectacular and all the more enjoyable when viewed from the cosy living room over an excellent dinner! Whether we go as a family or a short break for two, we always have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Congratulations to everyone who takes the decision to experience the wonderful world of "The Guest House Chamonix". There are a million reasons to come here: the world class powder skiing, ski touring, climbing, biking and hiking or the amazing views from the house and star clear nights away from it all.

What makes "The Guest House Chamonix" so special and different though is that you get a chance to visit Helen and Steve and their wonderful family. They open their home to visitors from all over the world and share their decades of experience and love for the Chamonix valley through stories and memories.

Helen is an amazing chef who gives you a culinary experience from the breakfast in the morning to the three course dinner in the evening. Every house she ever touched in the valley has been full of light, warmth and calm. Steve, the skier, golfer and entertainer takes you on adventures and shows you his best spots, from that hidden couloir for each snow condition to which golf course to play each day of the year.

This family's long experience in taking care of and guiding people in the valley leaves you with unforgettable memories, far bigger than an ordinary vacation. "The Guest House Chamonix" is not just a guest house that you visit once - it is a place to call Home where you will want to return, year, after year, after year.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SannaHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltsjo-Duvnas, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I just came home from a very relaxing weekend in Chamonix valley and stayed at the best place.
The Guest House!!! The service was excellent in a very warm and cozy atmosphere. The rooms are amazing with totally brand new bathrooms. You just have to stay at the Guest House if you are planning to go hiking, biking, climbing or skiing!
Do not miss the The Guest House you will have the best vacation!
Thank you Helen and Steve!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennykask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallorcine
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
824 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,110 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
486 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 3 le Morzay, 74660 Vallorcine, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Vallorcine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vallorcine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing