We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Hotel Olympique(Chamonix)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Dahu Hotel(Argentiere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UCPA Argentiere(Argentiere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Montana(Argentiere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
93
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homechamonix valleylovely holidayone nightother guestshelenhikingskiaccommodationsnowfrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have stayed with Steve and Helen on numerous occasions and I have to say that its always difficult to leave this piece of paradise. The way that its set up you immediately feel at ease with bedrooms, living and kitchen all tastefully renovated. It definitely could of been in the running of one of the Grand Design project.
Great food and good company made for another memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just enjoyed our third visit to stay with Steve & Helen. Vallorcine is a great location for access the skiing in Le Tour and Argentiere and it couldn’t have been a better trip – great company, good food and fresh snow too! The chalet is really comfortably furnished and you feel right at home straight away. The living/dining room is a favourite spot – with a beautiful view down the valley and a fresh log in the wood burner it’s hard to beat! We really enjoyed Helen’s cooking one night and would also recommend dinner at Café Comptoir (down by the station) and the Ferme des Trois Ours which is only 5 min walk from the chalet – the Station restaurant also does the best omelettes! We are already looking forward to a summer visit!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TesseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This guest house is situated in the most tranquil and beautiful spot in Vallorcine. We have stayed in other locations in Vallorcine but this is truly special. Situated off the main road (which can be quite noisy in summer) with beautiful views straight down the valley to the Grand Montet. The house and rooms have are really tastefully decorated and the owner certainly has a flair for creating a lovely, welcoming atmosphere. The owners are very helpful and accommodating with local information and the best places to ski, eat etc.. My husband was massaged by Helen and he said it was the best massage he has ever had. Great place to stay as a single person, couple and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent a long weekend in the guest house and enjoyed it so much! The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the living room is gorgeous, the enormous breakfast table just great. As well as the rich breakfast that was put on this table! I also had the pleasure of enjoying one of Helens WONDERFUL massages. She´s a real pro - book a massage, if you can!
We had nice walks in the area and enjoyed the tranquility, since the guest house is about 20 minutes away from busy Chamonix. In the evening we sat by the fire in the living room, played some games and just enjoyed the atmosphere of this old refurbished house.
Big recommendation!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielle1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Guest House for 4 nights and by the end felt so at home it seemed odd to be leaving. Helen is a qualified masseuse and a culinary master so after a day's skiing, being pampered and gorging on beautiful food topped off the day perfectly.

Helen and Steve are well practiced hosts, and it shows. Everything is just so, you never want for anything and spending time in their adorable young family really demonstrates how blessed they feel to be living such an idyllic mountain life.

The chalet is nestled among woods with tinkling brooks and wildlife everywhere, we felt able to completely unplug from the modern world and yet there was wi-fi everywhere and the hubub in Chamonix was only 10mins away.

You could literally walk to the ski lifts which take you to Le Tour, where we enjoyed some spectacular views down to Switzerland....as well as some fabulous skiing!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews