We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great experience close to Chamonix”
Review of The Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Vallorcine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value and great experience close to Chamonix”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Steve and Helen have created the ideal bed and breakfast in this beautiful corner of France: warm hospitality, comfortable rooms, a relaxing environment and a great breakfast. The natural beer/wine cooler is fantastic.
We have come here two summers in a row and feel that we have found the perfect base for our hiking excursions. Chamonix is only a short trip by car or public transport if one craves the action.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent three nights here after moving from the vastly over-priced Les Chalets de Phillipes. We loved our room and the atmosphere at the house, which was very homely. The house is set well back from the road and is very peaceful, it's in a lovely little village away from the tourisy craziness of Chamonix but close enough for regular visits. We slept with the window open at night for fresh mountain air, and it was so peaceful.

Helen was a wonderful host and the breakfasts she made were very generous. Little touches like free tea and coffee, the odd chocolate bar and fruit put out, make all the difference to how welcome you feel. We felt so comfortable at the house that we continually failed to make it out hiking for the long days that we planned!

There are only four guest rooms in the top two floors of the house (separated from the family's living area downstairs) so it's never crowded and there's a nice communal living area with access to the kitchen. It is a guest house, not a hotel, so you really are living with the other guests and can hear most things through the walls of the room, but I think that the people who stay there seem to respect the place and reflect back the trust that Helen and Steve put in them so we found everybody to be pretty considerate. I think that it would be a great place to rent out in its entirety as a group or family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a fabulous time staying at the guest house. It is located a 2 minute walk off the main road, in a lovely secluded spot surrounded by trees and alpine flowers. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was a shared sitting room and lots of places to sit outside or on a balcony in the evening after a hard days walk enjoying relaxing and reading. The owners were fabulously helpful and friendly. Are native English speakers, which meant that they could give detailed advise on outdoor activities. They are very experienced in outdoors activities (skiing, mountaineering and mountain biking) and also have contacts for guides etc. So for anyone wishing to do outdoor activities (which is needless to say limitless in that location), while staying in a lovely hotel in comfort, this is an ideal hotel and location. We walked straight out of the hotel up big mountains, including several alpine huts, such as the one en route to the Buet and the Albert Premier Hut. A short drive away are limitless numbers of famous mountains and mountaineering locations, such as the Mer de Glass etc etc. We were there in mid June, and the unusual amounts of snow in 2013 coupled with a very cold spring, meant that there was still snow on the ground and the alpine meadows were full of wonderful flowers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlanDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have stayed with Steve and Helen on numerous occasions and I have to say that its always difficult to leave this piece of paradise. The way that its set up you immediately feel at ease with bedrooms, living and kitchen all tastefully renovated. It definitely could of been in the running of one of the Grand Design project.
Great food and good company made for another memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just enjoyed our third visit to stay with Steve & Helen. Vallorcine is a great location for access the skiing in Le Tour and Argentiere and it couldn’t have been a better trip – great company, good food and fresh snow too! The chalet is really comfortably furnished and you feel right at home straight away. The living/dining room is a favourite spot – with a beautiful view down the valley and a fresh log in the wood burner it’s hard to beat! We really enjoyed Helen’s cooking one night and would also recommend dinner at Café Comptoir (down by the station) and the Ferme des Trois Ours which is only 5 min walk from the chalet – the Station restaurant also does the best omelettes! We are already looking forward to a summer visit!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TesseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This guest house is situated in the most tranquil and beautiful spot in Vallorcine. We have stayed in other locations in Vallorcine but this is truly special. Situated off the main road (which can be quite noisy in summer) with beautiful views straight down the valley to the Grand Montet. The house and rooms have are really tastefully decorated and the owner certainly has a flair for creating a lovely, welcoming atmosphere. The owners are very helpful and accommodating with local information and the best places to ski, eat etc.. My husband was massaged by Helen and he said it was the best massage he has ever had. Great place to stay as a single person, couple and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent a long weekend in the guest house and enjoyed it so much! The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the living room is gorgeous, the enormous breakfast table just great. As well as the rich breakfast that was put on this table! I also had the pleasure of enjoying one of Helens WONDERFUL massages. She´s a real pro - book a massage, if you can!
We had nice walks in the area and enjoyed the tranquility, since the guest house is about 20 minutes away from busy Chamonix. In the evening we sat by the fire in the living room, played some games and just enjoyed the atmosphere of this old refurbished house.
Big recommendation!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielle1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallorcine
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
824 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,107 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#14 of 73 in Chamonix
486 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Property: The Guest House
Address: 3 le Morzay, 74660 Vallorcine, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix > Vallorcine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vallorcine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing