We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax and feel at home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avalon Inn
Ranked #1 of 20 Mandrem B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and feel at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Avalon Inn is a great place to stay in Goa if you're looking for a relaxing and peaceful place in a beautiful setting.

It's very clean and well run, and the owners, Salvador and Erika, are extremely helpful and welcoming. They really made it a home away from home.

Close to the beach, restaurants and small shops and only 10 mins on a scooter from Arambol with its abundance of yoga, tai chi, meditation and other courses. With a scooter to get us around when needed, this was a perfect location for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemettejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed at Avalon inn in January & it was a wonderful clean place - calm peaceful & well kept with a lovely hostess erica. Initially, we were disappointed that it wasnt a beach facing guesthouse but then we realised that the beach was just a5 minute walk away and it was better than any beach guest house - the landscape, flowers, shacks, everything. If i go back to Goa, Im going back there - its for people who love calm & quiet....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgopal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I found Avalon on tripadvisor, the reviews were very personal, talking about Erika and her welcoming place which convinced me to book it. We stayed in shack for a day, 7-8 December, than we moved to cottage for 10 days.
Accommodations:
Shack:
We stayed in shack No 1, cost – 800rs/day.
Classical coconut leaf shack, simple and nice, with big bed and mosquito net, sealing fan. Shack had toilet attached which was clean. Shower is coommon with cold water, normally warmer afternoon.
Cottage:
We stayed 10 days in one of two cottages called Pearl, cost – 2 000 rs/day.
Cottage was very clean and nicely decorated, no A/C instead had sealing fan, with queen size bed, non Indian standard very clean room, with toilet attached to the bathroom.
Shower is common, sharing with one more cottage, with cold water which get warmer afternoon.
Internet:
No internet available.
Food:
Breakfast is not included but available, we had natural breakfast which was very nice and cost 170rs/person.
Café in lobby serve drinks and coffee on request.
Location:
B&B is located beside the park, and 10 min walk to the the beach, it can be noisy sometimes at night with wild visitors from the park, but most of the time is quiet.
Garden:
Avalon Inn is special with its perfect garden what I can’t not to mention.
Why this place?
Erika and Salvador are the soul of this place what makes this place have personality, always ready to help you and listen, making feel you part of the family.

Room Tip: Shack is better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Spend 11 days there, clean and wonderful. We stayed in concrete cottages and bamboo ones , I think the bamboo rooms are just as clean, albeit smaller and a better deal.

Erica the hostess takes you on a wonderful little tour which is great to get your bearings.

no wifi and you pay for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed ten days at the Avalon Inn last month (10/2011).
We came with 4 children and rent the two Cottages. Their are no special Kids facilities but there is enough space inside and outside and after ש day at the beach the kids were looking for a book and good night sleep.
The resort is very nice and green. Not far from the beach but still quite.
The service was very good. Comparing to the "interesting" standards of service in India, Erika (The Inn's owner) is keeping western standards of service and the place is clean, the toilet paper exists (With no need to ask two times and pay ten rupees …), same with soap and towels etc.
We took breakfasts few times; they were good and reasonably priced.
Regarding the beach, we didn't sample every beach in Goa but the guide gave it a good recommendation and we find the recommendation accurate. There is also a nice restaurant at the beach (The dune's restaurant) and some other that where still closed when we were at Goa. At the Village there are also few General stores.
Public transportation is 2km walk from the Inn (Erika can also call a Taxi if need) and is the best way to get to the nearest cities.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Avalon Inn is the perfect place to relax and let all your worries and stress fall away. We arrived exhausted from bustling Delhi, and the first thing that struck us was the peace and quiet.

Erika is a kind and caring hostess who takes excellent care of her guests. Although the season was just starting when we arrived, she arranged for a nearby restaurant to open especially for us. The chef was happy to source the freshest, most delicious fish of the day, and cooked it perfectly. Erika also took us on a tour of the beach and surrounding area when we arrived, recommending things to see and do in the village.

We stayed in Pearl Cottage, which was spotlessly clean and charming. The solar-powered open-air shower was a delight, as was the beautifully maintained garden. We came to relax, and there were lots of nearby beach restaurants, cafes, and bars, but these were all low-key, chilled hang-outs rather than buzzing bars: exactly what we wanted.

Needless to say, we headed back to Delhi with a rosy glow and plans to return very soon...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Immaculately maintained bamboo huts surrounded by green grass, cashew and fruit trees and very short pleasant walk to the beach. I had wanted to be right on the beach but I was happier staying at Avalon! Erika was a wonderful hostess, she took care of everything and offered lovely conversation and things to do. Quiet location, but close to all restaurants and action. Breakfast was simple fresh and the chai rose tea made my tastebuds want to party!(very delicious) I enjoyed the experience in this small operation, made our stay much more enjoyable than at a larger hotel or resort.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitteryshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandrem
2.1 mi away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mandala
The Mandala
#4 of 20 in Mandrem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Saiba Beach Resort
O'Saiba Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Mandrem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mandrem Beach Resort
Mandrem Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Mandrem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riva Beach Resort
Riva Beach Resort
#1 of 12 in Mandrem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
#2 of 12 in Mandrem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Inn

Property: Avalon Inn
Address: 364 Asvewada | Near Mandrem Church, Mandrem 403527, India
Region: India > Goa > Mandrem
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little gem by the emerald sea... a tropical hideaway awaits you in Goa, India. Rich in colors, aromas and textures, the ambience at Avalon Inn is one of casual tranquility, charmed by an Indo-Portuguese touch. Whether it is sun and sand you crave or the calm of nature's embrace, once here you will find it hard to leave.Now our Bed & Breakfast also features Culinary Holidays in cooperation with Olive House Mandrem. Together we offer food enthusiasts an ideal combination of rejuvenation by the ocean and out-of-the-ordinary Indian cooking classes which will spark the interest of those hungry to experience an authentic taste of India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Avalon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Inn Goa/Mandrem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing