We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful situation but accomodation a little uncomfortable”
Review of Casa d'Calma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandrem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa d'Calma
Ranked #18 of 21 Mandrem B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful situation but accomodation a little uncomfortable”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here xmas 2011. The place is beautiful and has a wonderful situation but the hut itself was a little uncomfortable. The bed was very hard and the pillow very thin. No table outside so nowhere to put books or stuff except the sandy floor. Seems I'm being a bit picky but these are things that could so easily be fixed for little money-it's a shame as everything else is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Harptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We tried to book this by email but the owner insisted on cash in his bank before he would take a booking. We refused and when we arrived in Mandrem we went to Casa D'Calma and checked out the rooms and facilities. We were shown into a hut by a member of staff and, as the owner was not there, we were handed a mobile phone to speak to him. We decided not to stay.

Refusing was the best thing we did. We booked into Dunes next door where we had a similar hut but in an established garden, full reception staffed by a really helpful team, tiled bathroom, access to the beach and beach beds, a restaurant, free wifi all with lots of shade and all for 20-40% less depending on your choice of hut. Casa d'Calma has none of these facilities.

We have since checked out much of the accomodation in Mandrem and Dunes is excellent.

PM me for further details of my experience as I am happy to help fellow travellers.

I suggest that you never pay money up front until you have seen what you are getting. This applies to everything in life not just rooms.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandrem hotels

Shanghai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

After a few crazy days in Mumbai, Casa d'Calma was just what we needed. The huts were simple, but comfortable. The owner was very laid back and made us feel right at home. The weather was super hot while we were there, but the temperature in the hut stayed relatively comfortable. If it is relaxation you are looking for, Mandrem Beach is the place to stay. Next door at the Dunes Resort there is a pretty good restaurant that serves all types of food, and is a great place to be during sunset. I highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Huts closer to the road have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

When we arrived the palce next door we booked was depressing so we walked here and loved their cute shacks authentic style decorations... place is on the beach and it was great ... food was good too..hope this problem was fixed because at the time i was there in a week some noises keep waking me up.. rats are not afraid of people there, so they just wandered in our shack all night and one thing kept me awake was that they entered from window just beside my bed and it was so close to me that woke me every time the get in or out... we tried couple times to scare them off but they instead of running away just come closer .. i'm not afraid of rats are afraid of ..me but those pretend to attack me is making me worry not to get bitten, not sure i want to get some of crazy number of infection they can transmit...
but if you don't mind those creatures to share with you a room i'm sure you will enjoy your time in there ...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afinanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshKal13, Manager at Casa d'Calma, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Please do let me know when exactly did you stay with us? As far as I can remember, you have sent me a booking inquiry few weeks ago requesting accommodation for rooms in Dec 2011 and Jan 2012. You have never stayed at our property, so maybe you confusing us with another property or just posting fraud reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Don't tell anyone, but Casa de Calma is one of the best places on one of goa's best beaches. Lovely location right on the beach, with comfy huts and rooms.

Could use a great in-house restaurant.... the food around there sucks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmiki5goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshKal13, Manager at Casa d'Calma, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thanks buddy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at Casa d' Calmafor two weeks first and had a perfect time during the peak season. It was fully booked as all the places at Mandrem Beach, but still quiet and layed back. In the end of January we stayed another week!
As Casa d' Calma doesn't have an attached restaurant, you are not disturbed by trespassers or noise. But there are a lot of nice and delicious restaurants just some minutes walk away.
The huts are new and in a very good condidtion. The owner keeps an eye on everything and the staff is absolutely friendly and helpful.
For us it definetely is the best place in North Goa!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kekue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshKal13, Manager at Casa d'Calma, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thanks Kerstin and Thore! love you guys and look forward to meeting you again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is really a wonderful place in Goa. We were so surprised to find such a beauty among the other touristic beaches.
This place will present you beautiful beach, comfortable and cosy accommodation, friendly people, and inner peace.
We definitely will come back there.

Room Tip: A perfect place for yogas also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galanchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshKal13, Manager at Casa d'Calma, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thanks Katya! It was a pleasure to have you all here. Beautiful memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandrem hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Street Resort
Beach Street Resort
#2 of 39 in Mandrem
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Saiba Beach Resort
O'Saiba Beach Resort
#3 of 21 in Mandrem
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shiva Resort
Shiva Resort
#17 of 21 in Mandrem
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riva Beach Resort
Riva Beach Resort
#1 of 12 in Mandrem
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly's Nest
Molly's Nest
#4 of 39 in Mandrem
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandrem Beach Resort
Mandrem Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Mandrem
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa d'Calma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa d'Calma

Property: Casa d'Calma
Address: Junaswado, Mandrem 403527, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Mandrem
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa d'Calma 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa d’Calma offers 10 beachfront wooden cabanas at reasonable prices as well as villas with stylish living room furniture, deck chairs, kingsize beds, furnished kitchen with refrigerator ,private bath with shower giving its guests a value for money getaway and its ideal for the much needed escape from the hustle and bustle. These are all situated in our 2 acre property with a beautiful quiet, less-crowded beach and friendly people yet still close to fine dining restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa D'Calma Goa/Mandrem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing