We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Yoga and Well-Being oasis in Goa, India” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashiyana Yoga Resort Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mandrem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashiyana Yoga Resort Goa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Yoga and Well-Being oasis in Goa, India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've just come back from a fantastic 3 week stay at the Ashiyana Yoga & Well-Being Retreat at Mandrem Beach, Goa.
- The Yoga & Spa
The quality of the Yoga teaching at Ashiyana is superb. There are at least 2 Classes a day, the first starting at 8am. Whether you're a Beginner or a seriously experienced advanced Yoga practitioner, Ashiyana's superb Team of Yoga Teachers have the technical skills, knowledge & human-skills to make sure you get the most out of each Class and your Body.
At the Spa there's a wealth of Treatments and Workshops offered by their Team and visiting Teachers, and I enjoyed a superb Cranial Treatment, a bespoke Meditation session and took part in a very interesting Workshop looking at the connection between the Hara and the heart.
- The Accommodation
I stayed in 2 beautiful Apartments there - 'The Mango Tree' and 'The Jodhpur' - and they were simply wonderful. Very different from each other architecturally, in terms of interior design and where they're positioned in the Retreat - but both absolutely stunning. Ashiyana has been designed around the vision of it's Owner Chris Nelson, and no one Apartment is the same, and the sheer variety and styles of Accommodation is part of what makes Ashiyana such an individual, idiosyncratic and stand-out Yoga Retreat or base for your stay in Goa.
- The Food
The Food at Ashiyana is as you expect, incredibly healthy, beautifully balanced, very tasty and whatever Diet or Programme you're on during your stay there you're bound to lose weight and feel hugely better within yourself even without the Yoga as the Kitchen Staff concoct the freshest and most delicious Breakfasts and Dinners.
- The Ambience
Ashiyana is a beautiful place. The brainchild of Chris Nelson - as said - it's been designed to offer high quality accommodation and facilities whilst nestling and blending in with its beautiful tropical surroundings. Coconut Trees and all manner of specially planted flora and fauna envelope the Retreat and whilst there are many beautifully designed areas where you can relax and read or chat, the natural vegetation affords wonderful shade seemingly at every turn.
Ashiyana is also incredibly peaceful and calm - by design. The 'energy' of the Retreat provides a wonderful quietude and serenity throughout, so if you're looking for somewhere to re-charge those batteries whilst getting int ouch with your 'Yogic' being, then you really couldn't do any better than here.
- What Else?
Well, Mandrem Beach is a delightful walk across Ashiyana's own wooden Bridge and 2 minutes thru a pathway that cuts thru the Dunes. The Beach itself is breathtakingly huge in terms of depth and width, The Coast in this part of Goa is entirely unspoilt and has almost no accommodation or Housing looking on to it. Apart from the odd property all you'll find are fantastic Beach Cafe's such as Dunes. The Sea itself is incredibly warm and refreshing and has nice-sized waves to have some fun jumping into and mucking about in.
Mandrem itself is a small Village but one with plenty of Shops and places to exchange Currency. There are some Bars and Rsetaurants there, but this part of Goa has a proliferation of excellent Restaurants & Bars (La Plage was particularly pretty at night nestled by the beach at it is and beautifully lit).
Hiring Scooters and Motorbikes is easy and like much else in Goa incredibly good value. Ashiyana will help you with everything you need and they sorted a classic Royal Enfield M'bike for me which was a sheer joy to ride the short hop to Arambol or to take on further-flung journeys to places such as Paradise Beach & Dhaboli.
Reception can organise a daily delivery of a Litre of the freshest Coconut Water for only 80 Rupees (80p!) which you pick up on from Reception on your way to a Class or Treatment or Breakfast.
Laundry is also taken care of for around 10 Rupees (10p) an item too.
Should you need help with anything from booking Taxis or a sunrise Dolphin excursion or a Motorbike - Reception were very helpful indeed and dealt with every request in a warm and efficient manner.

All in all my trip to Ashiyana was wonderful. I made some wonderful new Friends, had a fantastic time with the Friends I met out there and for my first trip to Goa itself I couldn't have chosen a better place to have as a beautiful base and to practice and improve my Yoga technique(s).
Just wonderful!

Room Tip: The Mango Tree is a first floor beautiful wooden Chalet/Hut, with a huge main room with high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PercipientDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    28
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
7
74
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mariehamn, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Don´t even hesitate, just go!

The yoga is wonderful, intelligent and magic.
The teachers are top quality, experienced, loving and warm.
The staff is helpful, kind and friendly (and funny!).
I loved my beach hut.
The food is the best, constantly trying to copy it here back home.
The area is safe and quiet, the beach 2 minutes away. Best sunset Ive ever seen,

If you are thinking about going for a retreat I would say its the best place to calm down and find your inner peace.

I am certain I will return to Ashiyana some day (hopefully soon!) :)

Room Tip: I lived in a hut for five weeks and I could go on living in that hut for the rest of my life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna-Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went 1 week to this centre for a yoga retreat.. it was a fantastic experience.. the yoga was great and so where the teachers. they were also in for a chat as well! The food was delicious and my room was very convenient. The whole centre is well organised and is on waking distance from the beach. highly recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoostBerndsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I spent a week at Ashiyana earlier this month and it really exceeded my expectations. It was a truly beautiful and inspiring week. The setting is what Ashiyana has most going for it, absolutely gorgeously designed and thought out, very natural and calming. There are alcoves everywhere that are private, comfortable, and shaded. The studios are large and well maintained.

I stayed in a beach hut which was lovely, totally comfortable, with great water pressure, both hot and cold. The meals are taken communally (but there are plenty of places to sit if you want to be on your own) and the food is very delicious, I'm a gluten free vegetarian and there were always options. Only two meals a day so you might want to supplement with snacks from the nearby village (2 minute walk).

The staff was very friendly and relaxed, I enjoyed getting to know the teachers and the management. It very much felt like I was part of a family by the time I left, and was sad to say goodbye.

The yoga was extremely varied: each teacher was drastically different from the next. This isn't great if you're looking to develop specific areas or wanting to match your own practice, but I am a serious ashtanga practitioner and I was able to glean from each of the four diverse teachers I had in the course of the week. Moreover, I really appreciated each and every one of their warm personalities and encouragement. There was absolutely no pressure to be some super goddess yogini or busting out one arm handstands. Everyone was accepted where they were at, and encouraged to make the practice their own. That's good yoga.

Only suggestions are to make more information about the classes and teachers easily available to the guest before the class - I never really knew what to expect, and in the course of six days had had hatha, kundalini, Iyengar, and one indescribable! The website does not do the place justice.

Overall, I'd highly recommend coming here for introspection, solitude, detoxifying yoga, and a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Loved ashiyana, great service, great location, great food, great yoga. Nothing negative to offer. Stayed in the moon room which is beautiful but with no views. The walk across the river to Ashiyana is stunning. The massages next to the Oasis are amazing, not particularly pleasant surroundings but cheaper than in the venue,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jf3155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I went to Ashiyana for a 3-day getaway and was very impressed with the staff, the food, and location. However, I'm an experienced practitioner and the classes were geared toward VERY beginning students. I wish they had more levels to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbathgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My friends and I stayed there for two weeks. We were very lucky with yoga teachers, but I would not recommend this place for those who seek an 'ashram experience' or a serious yoga training. This place is a little 'commercial'... It is better to come here with a good teacher and/or as a part of a yoga tour. The beach is ok, but not perfect.
Staff is friendly. Meals are good.

Room Tip: Find out what kind of yoga retreats are scheduled before going. It takes about 1.30 or 2 h. to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandrem hotels
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
Banyan Tree Yoga Goa
#2 of 12 in Mandrem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mandala
The Mandala
#4 of 20 in Mandrem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riva Beach Resort
Riva Beach Resort
#1 of 12 in Mandrem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach Street Resort
Beach Street Resort
#1 of 38 in Mandrem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandrem Beach Resort
Mandrem Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Mandrem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Saiba Beach Resort
O'Saiba Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Mandrem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashiyana Yoga Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashiyana Yoga Resort Goa

Property: Ashiyana Yoga Resort Goa
Address: Junas Waddo, Mandrem, India
Region: India > Goa > Mandrem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashiyana is a tropical retreat centre located on the beautiful and unspoiled Mandrem Beach and the enchanting Mandrem river in the very north of Goa. We warmly invite you to come and visit us between 1st October and 30th April. You can stay with us on one of our retreats, yoga holidays, yoga teacher trainings, massage trainings. Alternatively join us for yoga classes and workshops at the drop-in centre if you are staying in the area. You may also wish to enquire about our luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashiyana Yoga Resort Goa Mandrem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing