We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway for quality personal time!!”
Review of Riva Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riva Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway for quality personal time!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

With beach facing rooms and beach just a small wooden bridge away it's a perfect family vacation spot. Beach was not crowded, clean and gave us personal space.

Food quality was below average and rooms were also not that great. But a good cost affective option considering its modest price.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alok_Shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    121
    32
    27
    23
See reviews for
94
121
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calangute, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Riva Beach Hotel has been open for only 3 years. It is situated overlooking the Mandrem Beach which is in Goa's northern district of Pernem. The first thing that is obvious as you enter through the main gate to the reception is its extraordinary similarity to beach resorts in Kenya.

Guest accommodation is in comfortable, air-conditioned wooden chalets, all of which have verandas giving lovely views through the palm trees of the white sand beach and ocean. These are on various levels as the property is built into the cliff face. There is, at beach, level more expensive brick built accommodation.

There are two restaurants; one at road level (top of the cliff) and one at beach level. The service and atmosphere is very good but the standard of food is rather ordinary. This is something the newly appointed manager is going to change. Down on the beach, which is a vast stretch of white sand, there are a number of cafes and restaurants serving some very good sea food.

Some points to note:
1. Car Parking is limited but a new car park is being constructed.
2. There is no swimming pool but one is being constructed (despite the lovely beach and ocean)
3. The food is not very exciting but this is being looked at.
4. It is not easy for elderly or handicapped persons because of the steps from the road level to the beach. However, with the new car park this may not be a problem.
5. When you are not on your veranda close the door. The monkeys who live in the trees are thieves!

Our overall impression that it has a wonderful ambiance and by next season, once all the improvements have been made, this will probably be one of the best holiday locations in North Goa

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dijon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I found this resort through Google and booked it through Agoda. Lovely location right on the beach , quiet ambience , interesting space . I was surprised by the spacious room . It provided a view of the sunset and sea waves . Anyone looking to spend quality time and have conversation with sea waves , this is the place . Food is ok , service and hospitality very friendly .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here with a friend in the middle of December. We went into the trip not having anything planned at all, and our new friends at Riva Beach Resort made sure that each day was a delight! They made excellent recommendations for restaurants, places to visit, and how to spend our time. The room was kept very clean and neat. The food and coffee at the resort was wonderful. Mr Manoj at the front desk became a great friend and took care of us! I can't wait to return to this place one day!

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

One of the best places we have visited.... The location was simply awesome. The Beach Front cottage provides a magnificent view of the sea & the beach. If someone is looking for a secluded, calm & serene place for holidays then this is it. The best thing that was the photographs posted in the website for Riva Beach resorts were not manipulated and it displayed what the place is in reality. Would visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose Beach Front Cottages....they have a superb view and very peaceful !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Riva beach resort is an excellent resort in the northern most goa, at Mandrem beach near Arambol area of Goa. We stayed there for three days from13th to the 16th Feb.

Pros:
1. On the beach property, separated by a small river with a wooden bridge leading to the beach giving it a scenic look.
2. Most rooms with a clear beach view.
3. Mandrem beach is a quiet clean beach, ideal for people looking for a peaceful time rather than the commercial madness of Baga or Calangute.
4. Decent food options in the hotel and the shack outside.

Cons
1. Some of the cottages do not have a good view, avoid them if possible.
2. Breakfast is not a buffet but pre-fixed menu.
3. Travel to Baga, Calangute


Overall a recommended property for someone looking for a good 3 star property.

Room Tip: Delux rooms, Ocean facing rooms, Suites are good. Courtyard cottage Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhattjignesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked an overnight stay at Riva as a birthday/thank you present for my sister and husband, 5/2/14. On arrival the management upgraded our rooms. The rooms are lovely, flat screen tv and facilities to make a cup of tea. The sound of the sea is so comforting. We had a fantastic couple of days, and staying at RIVA only added to it. We will hopefully be back next year

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms while we where there and all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandrem
11.9 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,675 reviews
11.7 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Lotus Sutra
Lotus Sutra
#1 of 3 in Arambol
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
249 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,227 reviews
12.0 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#14 of 65 in Candolim
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Beach Resort

Property: Riva Beach Resort
Address: Junas Wado,Mandrem | North Goa, Mandrem 403527, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Mandrem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mandrem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riva Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riva Beach Resort situated right on the white sand beach of mandrem,one of the finest beach in Goa. we have world class coco wood cottages and ocean palms luxury rooms,all the rooms have a sea view, aircontioning,hot shower,32"lcd,minibar,phoneetc..we provide private sun beds and beach service for all our room customers.we have Buddha grill muti-cusine restaurant where we serve finest food and best service.we also have ayurvedic massage center and yoga thearapy centerother facilities like bike on hire,doctor on call,forieng exchange etc are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Beach Resort Goa/Mandrem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing