We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Board Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$285
US$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wheeldale(Whitby)(Great Value!)
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
237
45
8
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
237
45
8
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmuttonfood is locally sourcedvillage greenesk valleyfriendly localsstepping stonessunday lunchsmall bedroomkaren and alistairhaddockhomemade biscuitspuddinghuge portionsstayed recentlycomfy sofasthe north yorkshire moors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Searched the internet for a dog friendly place to stay and wow did we hit the jackpot with Ash Cottage. The cottage is so quaint and comfortable and, as for the Board Inn, we can't rate it high enough. The food is exceptional and the owners and staff are very friendly. We, and that includes our dog, were made to feel very welcome. Thank you for a lovely couple of days. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sally_and_co11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ash Cottage over the weekend of the 2nd May 14 on a motorbike trip with friends. The cottage has 3 bedrooms with en-suite facilities, it is spacious and well kept with everything you would expect to hand. On our arrival late on a cold Friday evening we were met by the owner who showed us where we could park our machines prior to changing for a meal in the pub. The meals, including breakfasts were excellent and all the staff were always friendly and attentive. This was a very enjoyable stay and I would wholeheartedly recommend the Board Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinySideUp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We've stayed at the Board on several occasions over the last couple of years and have enjoyed it every time, such that going anywhere else for a short break anywhere else in and around the Moors these days isn't even considered.

Karen, Alastair and their team are all fabulous and nothing is ever too much trouble.

The food is simply devine, fresh local ingredients utilised to their best, always cooked to perfection. Service is excellent, but done in an unpretentious way that completely suits the character of the the pub, village and surrounding area. Make sure you leave room for pudding or cheese board...not easy given the usual portion sizes!!

Locals and regular visitors always make for a wonderful evening of conversation.

Looking forward to our impending next visit!

Room Tip: Ring and ask for the type of room that suits, example if you don't want a room over the bar, not that we've ever found this to be an issue.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon_Highlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My third stay here, my husband's umpteenth. Its difficult to express the absolute delight of a meal and a stay here. The food is locally sourced, superbly cooked and presented - be it dinner or breakfast, the quality and attention to detail is second to none, Their rooms are charming. The location idyllic. I cannot recommend The Board Inn highly enough. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen02ACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful setting. Guided there by my Doggie Pub App.
Will certainly stay next time. Only went for lunch, which was very tasty - and as for the puddings....well....
Beer very well kept. People and dogs given warm welcome by very friendly (but not over friendly) staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyoneinracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews