We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the doubletree for our honeymoon and we enjoyed it. You can't really complain with an all inclusive. There are a lot of kids so if you want it more quiet an adults only might be the way to go. I gave an average rating because we have visited better all inclusives, but this one was just fine. We had the best view from our hotel room in bldg. 3. We paid for an upgrade since it was our honeymoon and I am so glad we did!

Room Tip: Request bldg. 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    861
    504
    240
    141
See reviews for
980
924
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is horrible. It is not all inclusive as the ads say. You have to pay $20/person for lunch upon arrival and restaurants visits are limited. Lunch is horrible and pool was absolutely filthy. Entertainment was a complete joke. If you are looking for all-incl in Costa Rica, try Riu Guanacaste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mr. Richard D:

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel and we sincerely apologize because our Resort and facilities did not met your expectations. I would like to highlight that the extra cost you have mentioned in your review, it was because the all inclusive service starts at the check in time and our check-in it is at 3:00 pm and our check-out 12:00 md, as it is listed in our web page.

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of our pool and I am actively working with our cleaning staff so this situation doesn’t happen again, you can be sure that we work hard to personalize each guest's experience.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,


Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a nice and relaxing time at this hotel. It had everything we needed and was centrally located to many of the nature areas we wanted to visit. Would have been nice if they had more authentic Costa Rican dishes on the buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JeffCreekside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The all inclusive resort is beautiful, full of friendly staff and guests. My friend and I easily made friends in the lobby with a gorgeous family from Chile. There are many tours to choose from, like waterfall hikes and lunch/museum in the city. The lobby is full of hustle and bustle as everyone waits for their taxis and guides. Wish we would have stayed but instead rented a car from the Thrifty office inside the Hilton. Salvador was lovely to deal with, spoke perfect English and answered all my questions. Totally professional, many representatives in the states could learn a few things from him. I highly recommend renting from him, it is possible to return the car at a different location which makes seeing the country a lot easier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I purchased a Groupon for this resort that included the flight and a rental car. When we first arrived I was surprised to see the resort had a bar in the lobby but no one was there to hand drinks to people who were checking in. Not a big deal but they are missing out on an opportunity to set a good tone as soon as people arrive. We did not request a room in the 3rd building before hand but put in the request once we got there. Unfortunately there were no rooms available in that building so we stayed in the 2nd building which has Jr Suites. The room was disappointing. Many of the doors to the rooms are rusted and are in desperate need of paint and the room we were in was very warm when we arrived and the AC either wasn't working or was not very powerful and required a long time to cool the room. We called, requested someone to look at the AC and left for the afternoon. Once we returned the room was tolerable but it was hard to determine if it was due to the AC being fixed, the fan running the entire time to get air moving, or because the AC needed a few hours to cool the room. Like many others, we were surprised there are no refrigerators in the rooms. Our Jr Suite had a metal kitchen sink in the room but nothing to go with it... very weird. Luckily they were able to give us a handicap room in building 3 the next night. The room was about the same quality as a standard Holiday Inn room in the US. Nothing special about it but it does the trick. We were pleased with the new room and grateful they could switch rooms for us. We tipped housekeeping $5 each night and they ended up bringing us extra towels and made animals out of them. It was very nice. The meals were average at times. The main buffet is just that, a buffet. Expecting anything more would be a let down but it did the trick. The best meals we had ended up coming from the Latin America a la cart restaurant and the snack bar and grill. We were not a fan of the seafood restaurant. Also, as an FYI they told us you only receive one a la cart reservation pass for every 3 nights you stay at the resort. We found this to be a little strange but only wanted to eat at each a la cart once and they ended up giving us an extra reservation ticket. The breakfast buffets are good and they have several chefs working grills to make eggs, french toast, omelets, etc. No one spends time swimming in the ocean or playing on the beach. If you go to this resort you will want to plan on spending almost all of your time at the pools. They give you towel cards to use to obtain towels for drying off after swimming but will charge you $20 if you lose a card. Also,if you venture off of the resort beach they have you sign a liability waiver showing that they gave you a warning about leaving the property and urging you not to bring any valuables with. I didn't have any problems off of the resort but all of the resort guests would be easy targets given you have to wear a wrist band while staying at the resort. Wifi is free in public areas (main bar, lobby, etc) but otherwise you have to pay $10 per day per device for wifi. We had issues with connecting and they ended up giving us a free access code for our stay which was very much appreciated. The staff is very accommodating. Since we had a rental car we wanted to make reservations and plans off of the resort and the guest services staff did an excellent job of calling where we wanted to go and setting everything up for us. Overall the resort had some pros and cons. If you are looking for a place to stay in a tropical environment that provides food and drink then you can get it here.

Room Tip: Listen to everyone else and get a room in the 3rd building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my husband ,daughter and son in law . the resort is nice the food was good , except the seafood restaurant. Plenty to pick from on the buffet. My son in law is a picky eater and he always found plenty he liked. The main pool has a snack bar and the pizza there is really good ,so is the latin american restaurant. The rooms were clean . we were in building 1 and yes it is the least nice of the 3 buildings but it was clean. Nothing fancy but all we did was sleep and shower so we really didn't care . the drinks are not very strong BUT flip them a buck and they will hook you up. The only thing I was very disappointed in the beach, not just the one at the resort but all the ones we visited . good if you wanna surf but not for snorkeling. If your gonna book an excursion walk across the street its half the price as the resort. Tortuga island was a nice day trip. So was manual Antonio but the best thing we did was right down the road 5,mins the monkey lady's house...... Ask a local ...give her 5,bucks pp she will give you bananas and call the monkeys out of the trees .they will crawl all over you . it was awesome. We rented a car and so glad we did . I really would suggest you do. The whole resort is non smoking so u will have to walk down the beach if you want to smoke. Just be careful my daughter fell our last night there and broke her ankle :( I have plenty of pics and video posted on my Facebook . feel free to view them or ask any questions. Leisa pool Garton

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nunyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My 60 year old mother and myself (I am 30) spent April 14-21 at the Doubletree and had a fantastic time. The resort itself is very clean, occupies a good amount of space for the number of people staying there, has pretty landscaping, and contains everything you need for a nice, tropical week away.

The resort is well-designed with two a la carte restaurants (one was seafood based and open-air, the other was Latin American, was inside and seemed a bit fancier), a lovely buffet, 24 hour food services, and four pools. The buffet food was always varied, with different themes each night. I am vegetarian and always found plenty to eat, and my mom likes meat and had no complaints. The fruit at each meal was amazing... especially the mango and pineapple! The food was always fresh and healthy seeming, not drenched in strange sauces.

We were there over Holy week, but even so it did not seem crowded. Plenty of chairs in the shade and sun, by the pool and on the beach. The pools were busy at times, but with four swimming options, it was never too crazy. One pool is adult only and was always quiet and peaceful.

This resort is not overly luxurious, but it is beautiful. It was extremely comfortable and we never wanted for anything. Probably about 60% of the people there were Costa Rican, making us feel like we were not rich tourists living it up at an elite vacation spot. Many of the people were there as families, which was really nice to see. There were plenty of activities for kids (pool-based, and otherwise - one day Disney characters came by, one day there was a small bouncy castle at one end of the property) and for teens - soccer games on the beach, pool sports, bocci, shuffleboard, etc. Though the main language was Spanish, there was enough English around that we got by just fine.

On the grounds of the resort there were huge, fascinating lizards along the rocks by the pool and in the grass. Nothing intimidating, just neat for anyone interested in different fauna. There were also funny little squirrels and lots of birds. We never saw a biting insect of any kind.

The beach itself was quite wide, especially when the tide was out. The tides are large there because of the resorts position on a gulf. There were always surfers to watch as the waves were huge. We never went in the ocean because the water was not clear and the waves were strong... we preferred the pool as our means of cooling down. The beach is black sand.

We felt safe while at the resort. One day we went for a walk along the beach and were stopped by a guard at the property's edge who asked us to sign out as we were going off the grounds. When in the pool or walking around we always left our camera and towels on our chairs and never had any issues with people taking them.

We had a room in the older part and it was extremely quiet - far from the pools or ampitheatre. I am a picky sleeper and slept hard every night.

In terms of location, the resort is good for making day trips to a variety of areas - we did a boat tour on a river that had crocodiles and through a mangrove swamp, went to a volcano and hiked to waterfalls, and went on a hike through a cloud forest. For a review on these see Tiquicia Tours on Trip Advisor. Just beware that the roads are narrow and windy, some are gravel, and driving time is always longer than you would think from looking at a map due to these factors.

Overall we would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice, all-inclusive place to stay in Costa Rica, especially if you want to do some tours in addition to relaxing :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jessica T:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this positive review about your recent stay in our resort.

It fill us with great professional pride to know that we have been successful in making your visit, a vacation a pleasant one . Your comments are a perfect example of our dedication towards “the customer come first culture”.

Once again, thank you very much for chosen Costa Rica and our Resort as a destination for your vacations and will be looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ricardo Rodriguez Gil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 21 in Punta Arenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hotel Arenas
Hotel Arenas
#2 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
24.8 mi away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 7 in Tambor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
24.9 mi away
Croc's Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Property: Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing