We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had a great time and excellent stay at Doubletree Resort in Puntarenas! Excellent weather and great site seeing tours, made Costa Rica a great place to travel to. Enjoyed the scenery, food, room, service and the pools.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The experience is very good, not complaints about food and hotel benefits, but the activities for people which is hosted during weekdays decrease a little bit, so my feedback is not make differences and have a full activities itinerary for non weekend days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rigoberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I just came back from our stay that the DoubleTree in Puntarenas and our experience was amazing! The grounds are just beautiful, the pools, the food, the staff were all great. Especially the staff they are so kind and the nightly shows/entertainment were awesome.We stayed in building 1 and it was very clean. I can't understand why people give this place a bad review so I suggest people to come see it for yourself. My husband and I will definitely be back many many times :-)

Room Tip: The wifi is free when you are in the public areas of the hotel, but if you are a Hilton Honnors memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Now I will leave this disclaimer, I have stayed at various all inclusive resorts so this experience is based on past ones. The hotel is great, they have security at the gate and the entrance is huge and spectacular. Check in was a breeze and they handed us our rooms and wristbands without any hassles. Now being this is all inclusive you have to wear the wristbands at all times so they know you belong there and also helps tell the teens from the adults. The food was pretty good for a buffet, plus the menu changes nightly, and the latin a la carte restaurant they had was very good and filling. The beach is slightly rocky and given that its on the pacific I would not recommend swimming due to the fact the ocean shelfs and the waves are very strong, we also did not see anyone swimming. They offer beach kayaking and boogie boarding with your stay, but the surfing is done by an outside company. My only complaint with this place was the lack of an energetic atmosphere Ive been used too. The poolside entertainment is kinda just there and at night you have to search for the fun and its only like a small group of people dancing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ry5838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm currently on my 3rd day of my 5 night stay and I must say how great my stay has been so far. I called ahead to inform staff about my concerns (reading other reviews) and they were very helpful and understanding. As an American, staying out the country can be terrifying being so far away from home. The food has been great, staff is friendly and helpful and we we're upgrade to a better room (HHoners Members) the next day with no problem once rooms were available. I plan on writing a full review once I leave, my email is t90@sbcglobal.net, if you have specific questions.

Room Tip: Enroll in Hilton Honors for free wifi, free upgrades etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CountryWife J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was shocked to know that this was a Doubletree. This hotel is located in a bad area and the hotel warns you about it when you arrive. It would have been nice to know this before I booked a trip. The water that came out of the faucet was black. There was poop floating in the pool and they didn't inform guest to get out of the pool when they were told about it. Good luck eating in the specialty restaurants because they will either be closed or all booked up. Buffet is all you be able to eat. Don't expect much for customer service from the staff. The rooms are old and worn out. It's very obvious that this is an old hotel that is headed down the toilet. The beach is horrific and be prepared to be approached by locals that might rob you. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms were not nice. They have no concern for guest and begin working very early with motorized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aquidneck8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePuntarenas, General Manager at Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Aquidneck8585:

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and please accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience you experienced.

We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve.

We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.


Thank you,

Ricardo Rodríguez Gil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband and a group of friends. The staff was great and very helpful. They always went the extra mile to help. The food and drinks were wonderful. Recommend you try the cocktail called "Chiquita banana". The place needs a little up keeping though, softer beds maybe and replacement of floor tiles in the rooms. There could also be a stronger cooling system in the dining rooms...it gets a little hot while eating, to the point where you are literally sweating. Otherwise, everything was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Roble
22.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
21.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
835 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
Hotel Puntarenas Beach
#7 of 21 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,345 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Las Brisas
Hotel Las Brisas
#6 of 21 in Punta Arenas
68 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alamar Aparthotel
Alamar Aparthotel
#10 of 21 in Punta Arenas
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica

Address: El Roble 171-400 Puntarenas, El Roble, Punta Arenas 5400, Costa Rica (Formerly Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Costa Rica - Puntarenas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Punta Arenas > El Roble
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Roble
Price Range: £140 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest all-inclusive resort to San Jose! Doubletree Resort by Hilton Costa Rica - Central Pacific is a modern, full-amenity, all-inclusive resort hotel. This beachfront Costa Rica Hilton hotel is perfectly situated on the Central Pacific region outside the port city of Puntarenas, Costa Rica. Located only 50 minutes West of Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) and the Costa Rican capital city of San Jose, and two hours south of Liberia International Airport (LIR). Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner served daily. Snacks and drinks available all day long. Two a-la-carte restaurants open for dinner. All-day activities for adults, teenagers or children, nightly entertainment and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Resort by Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Hotel El Roble
Doubletree El Roble
Doubletree Hotel By
Hilton El Roble
El Roble Hilton
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Central Pacific - Costa Rica Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing