We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Doune B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food with friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just been here for food. Well worth it. A good menu of traditional food with a good serving, at a good value price. The service is very friendly and the hotel is obviosly very popular with the locals, don't let the 'tired' look turn you away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loiriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    35
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
34
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

we stayed for weekend friday to monday beds clean and comfy, bedroom good size food was amazing and staff were very helpful and friendly they could not do enough for you we will certainly be back even if its just for the night this is one place where you get more for your money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone
Level Contributor
209 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stopped for food only ........This hotel is sitting in such a good position on the A84 ,and there are new food sign which have gone up so it should have be full but its wasn't, it is a little on the tired side inside but we were welcome and with only four other people there we could sit anywhere, we both had the Sunday roast good size plate with three slices of beef the roast potatoes' I'm sure were deep fried? they were ok but not to my liking, you know it was so quite in the bar and theres a complete lack of any atmosphere the only sound was the sound of knifes and forks ..... bit spooky that , the hotel bar area needs somethink........something to make it a place you would want to come back to, we didn't hear any music from our table but when leaving we did hear some faint music coming from a speaker in the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdisapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Rooms booked for two couples, we got the four poster bed which was teriffic. Hotel could do with a slight refurb, but the staff all make up for this. I would certainly recommend this hotel due to the location and the friendliness of the staff. Beds clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed here for one night in the family room with my mum and 5 year old grandson, the owner Susanne is lovely and very helpful as are all her staff. Rooms are spacious with ensuite and tea and coffee. Mum couldnt come down for breakfast and they gladly made up a tray of breakfast for me to take up to her. Nothing was a problem for the lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magst299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were looking for somewhere to spend our last night in Scotland after a two week tour. After driving too far and ending up in Alloa (no disrespect, people) we drove back through Dunblane and ended up in Doune. What a delight. The Woodside might be chipped and frayed around the edges but we had a lovely big room with a four poster, large windows, a large mirror next to a plug socket (readers of my reviews will know how crucial this is - posh expensive hotels please sort yourselves out) and a good bathroom. The huge bed was exceptionally comfortable, dinner in the bar good and great value (plus proper homemade puddings and real ale) and the full breakfast huge, but what makes the Woodside exeptional is its staff. They are all wonderful - warm, fun, friendly, kind, attentive and helpful. We felt like we'd dropped in to visit a much loved auntie and uncle and the nieces and nephews had turned up to join in. They gave us the room at a standard room rate of £75 prpn including breakfast. I can live without grade A carpets, swags and tails, halogens and wet rooms but I need the human touch and to feel welcome. If you want a hotel at the "gateway to the Trossachs" this is the one. Loved it. Oh, and Doune Castle is where Monty Python and the Holy Grail was filmed. Go and see it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conyngham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doune
6.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
6.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
6.7 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ravenswood Guest House
Ravenswood Guest House
#3 of 62 in Stirling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside Hotel

Property: The Woodside Hotel
Address: Stirling Road, Doune, Stirling FK16 6AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woodside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodside Hotel Doune, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing