We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodside Hotel

Woodside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Doune
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We only ordered starters as the main courses didn't appeal and the prices seemed a little steep. My soup wasn't particularly hot and came with half a white roll. My friend had haggis, tattie and neeps, very obviously microwaved and dried out. The service was pleasant enough but wouldn't bother visiting again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, West Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Holiday abroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great hosts, meals are good and wholesome. I loved the roast with vegetables. Hard to find places that serve a good lot of veges. Busy place but very helpful and welcoming service. A good wholesome meal, nothing fancy which is just what we liked.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“~Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Really good choice and lovely cooked breakfast. Smaller portions for the kids too. Great sausages !!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandy0271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth visiting just for the chilli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

After visiting doune castle we were looking for lunch. There are a few cafes but no parking. This place had ample parking although didnt look like much from the outside we went in. Staff were fast, very friendly and chatty. I had chilli which was easily the tastiest ive had with just enough heat to remind you what chilli is all about. Amazing dish. My wife had a prawn baked potato which she was very pleased with. Properly baked with crispy skin and a mountain of prawn and fresh salad. My toddler had macaroni cheese and he cleaned his plate. Quantity and value were just spot on. Staff took time to discuss the dishes even although our waitress was finished and about to leave she took her jacket off to let us pay our bill and chat with my wee boy. Definitely be back even if its only for the chilli.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank divermckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, VT
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. We wandered in with no expectations. Upon entering we were rather ignored which made us feel a bit awkward. When the waitstaff finally did tend to us they were friendly and helpful. On the other hand...the service was extremely slow. As Americans were are used to fast service, so we tried not to expect the same thing we'd find at home. The service in The States might be considered...rushed. So...we waited...patiently...and waited....still patiently...but we were the last folks still waiting. It seemed a bit excessive.

The food itself gets mixed marks as well. As the sole vegetarian in the lot I chose a simple baguette...Brie and cranberry sauce. The roll was not the freshest...although it was Sunday...perhaps it was baked on Friday. Can't expect bakers to work on Sunday. Too much cranberry sauce. My meal was LTM...Less Than Memorable.

On the other hand...the carnivores were delighted! Can't tell you what they had...but they were very pleased. The desserts...while advertised as homemade...were not made in any home nearby. But then again...they were pretty yummy. The custard sauce was especially good.

My biggest complaint...besides the LTM sandwich...was that we were just wanting lunch. We didn't really want to spend the afternoon or the night.

BTW...Lovely loo.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodside Hotel also viewed

 
Doune, Stirling
 

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing