We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality in a genuine country pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Doune B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality in a genuine country pub.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent one night at this friendly establishment. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. The hotel has a very friendly bar and a small restaurant. The room was typical pub style with ensuite but very comfortable with very little noise from downstairs. The night we stayed a function was being held but the noise we encountered was minimal. We dined in the restaurant and the food was magnificent even though the kitchen was pumping to cater for the function at hand. I have forgotten Jamie's fathers name but he was so helpful getting us settled in and away the following morning and providing invaluable advice for our drive into Edinburgh. Many thanks for your help and wonderful sense of humour.

Room Tip: The hotel is gradually being upgraded so ask for an upgraded room is one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    32
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
55
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Owned by Jamie Oliver (Not the Chef we all know). We visited the castle then went for a pub lunch. the food is very tasty and fresh. The chef sources his ingredients from the best quality available. i.e. Fresh haddock from Aberdeen, Stornaway black pudding etc. I had the beef and ale pie. What a treat. Deliciously tasty in a quality gravy. Then I had the Stornaway Gateau, Wow, what a feast of flavours. Well worth a visit if you are in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Although bar and dining room were small, the hospitality was big! Bar being refurbished and redecorated. Food - variety and portion sizes were excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order.

Windows may not have curtains - so be aware of moonlight. Take a eye mask if you need complete darkness to sleep. You will need your soap and toiletries as none supplied in the bathrooms.

The early morning birds may be your alarm clock, or take your own if you need a wake-up call.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were in this part of Scotland last week and were looking for a late lunch, around 2pm. We had been looking for a while in the area and came across this pub. From the outside we thought it looked a little basic and the bar area was also a bit bare, but food was being served so we wen't in.

The food was excellent and the service was superb with the landlord going out of the way to help seat us in the small restaurant area. We had 2-3 courses for each of the 4 adults and a course each for the two kids.

All thoroughly enjoyed it with the kids food being fresh and the adult meals better than I've had in proper restaurants. Both delicious and large portions if you like that.

Put on top of that the very reasonable prices and friendly staff and we must recommend this to people visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stream62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

just came back from a 2 night stay at the red lion inn and must say it was great.We went there for a surprise 40th anniversary for my sister and husband who live close,i must say from the minute we arrived we were made very welcome the locals also made us welcome.We had a surprise meal waiting for the party of 17 people and the choice was good plus they made any thing you wanted if you were picky as we had one.The rooms were very clean the beds were very comfy and the food was lovely the breakfast was lovely too,theres plenty of places to visit around the area its so nice.On the saturday night it was a sponsored fancy dress aswell and they looked realy well,well done you locals.Thanks to the staff they made a good night brilliant well done

Room Tip: not sure about other rooms but room 1 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the beautiful town of Doune to visit friends, on arrival Jamie was very welcoming and showed us to a lovely room, very cosy with lots of character. We ate dinner in the restaurant and my husband said it was the best steak pie he' had!! The bar was warm and friendly and we had a great night being entertained by the locals. We slept soundly and had a lovely breakfast served by Jamie and kenny who couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely return, good value for money and friendly staff, jamie does a great job looking after everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We used the Red Lion as a stop over when depositing our daughter at Stirling Uni and it was worth staying just 15 mins away for a more reasonable price. We found the £65 price for bed & breakfast to be very good value. We had a lovely room with a four poster bed which was clean and had plenty of storage and I thought the magazines were a nice touch. The bathroom was very dated and the shower was poor but I discovered next day that that room has not been refurbished yet. The bedroom was lovely though. We ate an evening meal there which was delicious and very reasonably priced and breakfast in the morning was made to order and set us up for the day.All the staff were very friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in you enjoying your stay.

Room Tip: If you want an early night check your room is not above the bar area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampduck74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doune
3.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
3.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Property: Red Lion Inn
Address: Balkerach Street, Doune, Stirling FK16 6DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling > Doune
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 200 years old, the Red Lion is a charming village Inn located in the centre of the picturesque village of Doune in central Scotland. The Inn has 6 bedrooms with 2 family room which can sleep up to 4. A friendly public bar serves a range of whiskey and local beers, while our restaurant offers fresh pub grub with a little finesse. Our Quaich suite is suitable for functions, meetings and events and opens onto a sunny courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Inn Doune, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing