We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Koenig Ludwig II.
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The location was perfect--the U-Bahn entrance was outside the hotel door. Restaurants, bakeries ice cream stores and food markets were nearby. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff
gave prompt and courteous service at breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable, but the
WiFi did not usually work in the room and sometimes did not work in the dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bon871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel when i had to pick up my son from his workplacement.
I was lucky to have a good deal through booking.com, else i think the prices of this hotel are too high for what they offer.
The rooms are ok, but not more than that. For the price they charge for a room i would expect a bit more luxury.
The breakfast however was very luxe. I think this hotel aims on people who want to spend a bit more for their stay. However, as mentioned, that only is shown when using the breakfast and the variety of food. The rooms are certainly not value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik1964_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This one was for business reasons - me alone, 1 night. It was such a nice place: the staff is very helpful and attentive, the hotel is clean, very spacious and comfortable. They put a handwritten note with an apple on the table wishing the guest a nice stay and asking for feedback.
On top, the breakfast buffet was excellent! Huge range of products and good coffee...
The metro is 1 min away - very practical!
I woudl take that hotel when visiting Munich: becasue of the metro being so close, you would pay less for greater value and comfort...

Room Tip: take the 4 star part (I dont know the other rooms, but my room was in the part marked with 4 stars)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paternionerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Solid good hotel. The service is sometimes grumpy.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a very nice hotel located just outside Munich. The town of Garching is very nice, a small quiet place with great access to the "U" service, underground train running directly into the centre of Munich.

The rooms are nicely equipped, clean and comfortable.

I stayed there with a friend as a base to visit the Allianz Arena, the football stadium. The "U" service is 2 stops, 10 minutes, and no crowds as the vast majority of people will be travelling from the city centre.

it is off of the main tourist route, it's very much a rural area, but a great place to stay if you want to stay out of town but have good and immediate access by subway...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBlueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you need to visit the Technical University this is your place. Price/quality ratio at its top. Comfortable room, clean, new bathroom, free wi-fi. The U-Bahn station is just few steps from the entrance if you want to reach Munich. If you are not a great eater, breakfast is a bit too expensive (12 €), but just around the corner you can find an amazing bakery (that serves coffee too) or a supermarket. Close to the hotel there is also an interesting Bavarian restaurant, good food at low price. If you travel by car you have to reserve the parking, or if you are very lucky and plan to leave before 9 am, you could park on the street for free. Overall, recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Of course Garching is not a prime tourist location, but it's the seat of a number of world-class research institutions. Hence the hotel will cater to visitors of the above institutions. For this purpose, it does its job perfectly. Located at the exit of the subway that will bring you either to Munich or to the research institutions in one convenient stop, the hotel offers spacious clean rooms for a competitive price. Again, hardly the hotel for a romantic escapade, but, if you need to be in Garching, it's very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garching bei Munchen
0.4 mi away
SOULMADE
SOULMADE
#1 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Garching
Ibis Muenchen Garching
#5 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Zur Post Ismaning
Hotel Zur Post Ismaning
#2 of 11 in Ismaning
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Park
Hotel am Park
#7 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Coro
Hotel Coro
#6 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
19 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Erber
Hotel Erber
#3 of 11 in Ismaning
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koenig Ludwig II.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenig Ludwig II.

Address: Buergerplatz 3, 85748 Garching bei Munchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garching bei Munchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Garching bei Munchen
Price Range: £70 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenig Ludwig II. 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Konig Ludwig II consists of two buildings: the main hotel lodge and our additional Residenz hotel, which is a mere 30 meters away. Our hotel is the right choice for both private and business patrons, as demonstrated by its excellent facilities geared to the individual, as well as its regal charm. The hotel is situated directly in the pedestrian zone of Garching. From the Residenz building, you can access the U6 directly and reach the center of Munich in only 20 minutes; the Research Center and Technical University, the Business Campus and the Hochbruck Industrial Park in only two minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Koenig Ludwig II. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing