We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spend 4 days enjoying the facilities and area, and found the accomodation hard to fault. The accommodation was modern and practical for a family of 5. The facilities were brilliant and created some endless memories of tennis, swimming & fishing ( kids caught 5 fish) off the private jetty. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and maintain a picture perfect environment. Highly recommend, and already planning our return !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Matakana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

I organised a Leadership team offsite for my company at Riverside Matakana recently and it was perfect for our needs. The conference space is great for a group from 12-15 with a break-out room for catering with bi-fold doors to a huge deck overlooking the vineyard. The service and catering was fabulous. The accommodation "bach's" have two bedrooms and two bathrooms so good for twin-sharing or no problem if you want a bach each. The team were all impressed and will be recommending to my colleagues and others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in these lovely 2 bedroom baches in Riverside Matakana recently and loved it. The baches are well appointed, with everything you need , including you own BBQ. Great views from the deck over the Matakana river. Very clean and tidy. And also quite private, with each bach having its own space. Set amidst grapevines in rolling green hills, I thoroughly recommend this for a romantic getaway or for a family of 4.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here. The first time was by ourselves, and this time we also took our 2 teenagers.It is both a relaxing place to go and unwind as a couple, as well as fantastic for a family holiday.The baches are spacious, immaculately clean, and well appointed, with great kitchen facilities, and a BBQ for each bach.
We love the way you can open them up and have a large spacious area or shut off different rooms to create an extra bedroom or reading space.The views are beautiful, looking over vines,olive trees, the river, and surrounding hills- an extremely quiet and peaceful setting.
The kids took off by themselves and spent heaps of time fishing from the wharf, and playing tennis on the courts.
At night,if you don't want to cook, there are fabulous places to eat out in Matakana, only 3 minutes down the road.
Next time we would bring the boat and Kayaks to make the most of the on-site boat ramp and river, and it would be good to visit in summer to be able to use the pool.
Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All the baches are identical, they are just positioned differently on the property.As there are only...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeriAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

“It was amazing! Big and spacious, quiet and tucked away yet so close to Auckland. We drove up in the evening as I had been in Hamilton earlier in the day and arrived to find a stunning, large and clean house style apartment! Would be a perfect family getaway. We enjoyed a good drink and eat and catch up (Lisa and I) and really loved the peacefulness of it all. In the morning we could hear the birds chirping away and I really enjoyed the break away from the busyness of life here.

Jan showed us around in the morning and it was good to see the conference room, pool and tennis court too which is good for versatility of guests. They have put a lot of time and effort into making Matakana an ideal stopover for anyone heading up further north.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Riverside Matakana is made up of around 20 two bedroom small houses, built like an upmarket bach. They have full cooking facilities and two ensuite bathrooms. They are designed so the second bedroom can be opened up to increase the size of the living area. Furnished beautifully and very peaceful surroundings. They have tennis court and boat ramp onsite so would be nice to bring the family and the boat.
The only downside to Riverside Matakana is that there is no restaurant or bar onsite so you have to drive to find sustenance. However, local taxis were great and charged a flat rate of $20 into Matakana Village, which considering we could fit 7 in their people mover was excellent value.

Room Tip: If its windy, the ones down the bottom are most sheltered, otherwise the ones higher up the hill hav...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennipea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Myself and my husband needed a weekend away, so we chose the most expensive and most 'luxurious' place in Matakana for the weekend and took advantage of the special. $445.00 for two nights at Riverside Matakana.

Now, the website and reviews don't tell you this but these little 'lodges' are actually just little flats all grouped up together in a great big vinyard, which is great if you're a social person on a social weekend. But for us, we wanted somewhere quiet and secluded by a river. We were put in one of the lodges which was no where near a river, in fact, I couldn't even SEE a river and right next door to us (and I mean RIGHT next door) was a family of young kids. All we could see/hear all weekend was the young kids running back and forth over our lawn, screaming first thing in the morning. It was horrendous.

As the owners/mangers you'd surely think to put a couple in another flat away from the family?

It was terribly overpriced for what you got, horribly uncomfortable bed and the milk in the fridge when we arrived had gone off in MAY. Two month old milk isn't something you'd expect to see in a $280 a night lodge.

All in all we left feeling dissapointed and disatisfied and will not be reccomending this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matakana123, Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear Sarah P
We are very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Through photographs we do our best to accurately represent Riverside on our website.
It is our policy to group couples and families seperately in the different clusters to avoid this type of conflict.
We respond to any complaints from guests immediately and would have been very happy to move you if we had known you were unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
75 reviews
2.2 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
330 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
8.2 mi away
Leigh Central Coastels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price Range: £108 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing