We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good start”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good start”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

we booked this baches via internet.ariving in auckland we drove to matakan ,only 80 km,since we liked to startnour nz trip with some days relaxing and overcoming the jet lag.
riverside was a very good desission .super quiet location,modern design and with everything one needs.we stayed 5 nights and made excursions to the north as well as to auckland.matakana itself is a beautifull little town with good restaurants,cinema a very nice market on the weekend.we have been very happy at riverside and it has been a perfekt start of our trip through nz

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfgang3633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
62
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Riverside is quite unique ; the bach style was a little offputting at first until we settled in.I was a little concerned at the lack of a conventional oven (there is a microwave and hob) until I noticed the steel barbecue and broiler. It's much more fun than being in the kitchen and cooked everything from steaks to grilled vegetables. The sleepout idea is fun , but more suitable for younger children. Our two teenagers stayed in the main accomodation with us and pronounced it comfortable.

The bach itself is beautifully appointed; good sized bathrooms and comfy beds.The place was perfectly clean and well serviced.The manager was delightful and very helpful.A broken dvd player was replaced within minutes.

The Riverside grounds are probably it's strongest point. It's delightful to sit outside on the deck, surrounded by tui and kereru, drinking the local wines.It may have been the wine or the complete and utter tranquillity and quiet of the place, but I've never slept better.I am really looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have little children, try and get a bach close to the pool/tennis area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 284Blatter284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spend 4 days enjoying the facilities and area, and found the accomodation hard to fault. The accommodation was modern and practical for a family of 5. The facilities were brilliant and created some endless memories of tennis, swimming & fishing ( kids caught 5 fish) off the private jetty. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and maintain a picture perfect environment. Highly recommend, and already planning our return !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I organised a Leadership team offsite for my company at Riverside Matakana recently and it was perfect for our needs. The conference space is great for a group from 12-15 with a break-out room for catering with bi-fold doors to a huge deck overlooking the vineyard. The service and catering was fabulous. The accommodation "bach's" have two bedrooms and two bathrooms so good for twin-sharing or no problem if you want a bach each. The team were all impressed and will be recommending to my colleagues and others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in these lovely 2 bedroom baches in Riverside Matakana recently and loved it. The baches are well appointed, with everything you need , including you own BBQ. Great views from the deck over the Matakana river. Very clean and tidy. And also quite private, with each bach having its own space. Set amidst grapevines in rolling green hills, I thoroughly recommend this for a romantic getaway or for a family of 4.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZDread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is the second time we have stayed here. The first time was by ourselves, and this time we also took our 2 teenagers.It is both a relaxing place to go and unwind as a couple, as well as fantastic for a family holiday.The baches are spacious, immaculately clean, and well appointed, with great kitchen facilities, and a BBQ for each bach.
We love the way you can open them up and have a large spacious area or shut off different rooms to create an extra bedroom or reading space.The views are beautiful, looking over vines,olive trees, the river, and surrounding hills- an extremely quiet and peaceful setting.
The kids took off by themselves and spent heaps of time fishing from the wharf, and playing tennis on the courts.
At night,if you don't want to cook, there are fabulous places to eat out in Matakana, only 3 minutes down the road.
Next time we would bring the boat and Kayaks to make the most of the on-site boat ramp and river, and it would be good to visit in summer to be able to use the pool.
Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All the baches are identical, they are just positioned differently on the property.As there are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeriAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

“It was amazing! Big and spacious, quiet and tucked away yet so close to Auckland. We drove up in the evening as I had been in Hamilton earlier in the day and arrived to find a stunning, large and clean house style apartment! Would be a perfect family getaway. We enjoyed a good drink and eat and catch up (Lisa and I) and really loved the peacefulness of it all. In the morning we could hear the birds chirping away and I really enjoyed the break away from the busyness of life here.

Jan showed us around in the morning and it was good to see the conference room, pool and tennis court too which is good for versatility of guests. They have put a lot of time and effort into making Matakana an ideal stopover for anyone heading up further north.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Property: Riverside Matakana
Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing