We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beauty of surroundings, quality of accommodation and great hospitality”
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I recently spent three nights at Riverside Matakana, where we experienced relaxation, inspiration from the beautiful natural settings, and the New Zealand hospitality from Michael and his team beyond the call of duty.
A group of people from different parts of the world were there attending a conference, and each of us had different requirements and petitions, that were met by our hosts to our fullest satisfaction. They served us food that was nutritious and delicious and accommodated every type of request, and the accommodations were comfortable and with stunning views.
I also appreciated Riverside Matakana's commitment to use environmentally friendly products and their promotion of sustainable development.
Places like this make you want to come back. I absolutely recommend it for professional gatherings as well as for a family or personal escape for rest.
Thanks to Michael for his attention to detail! Alejandro R.

Room Tip: All the cabins have a great view to the vineyards and/or river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one night at this beautiful property and would have liked to stay longer. Thank you for great service. We arrived on a cool evening and the bach was beautifully warm which was a lovely welcome. It was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Birdsong and beautiful rural views surrounding the property. Hope to stay here again thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangatira2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Riverside Matakana and will be returning again. Absolutley stunning location set within grapevines and olive trees. So quiet despite all the cottages full, you had no sense others were around. Cottage is well fitted out and cosy with gas fire. Great balcony..plenty of room and well designed. Brilliant location for travelling all around the region. Definitley do the sculpture walk close by. Treat yourself and stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsamjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were very lucky to spend 3 nights at Riverside. When we checked in we were greeted by friendly people who were happy to help us with anything we needed. The place was really well set up, very clean with lots of really nice touches such as dressing gowns, lovely bed linen and interesting New Zealand artwork throughout. Thank you Michael and team, we will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Matakana where we based ourselves at Riverside Matakana. We loved it! The rooms were immaculate, very well appointed, quiet and private. Great views down through the vineyards to the river and countryside beyond. Located only minutes from the Matakana Village and surrounding region - this was the ideal spot to explore what the area has to offer. We highly recommend this location, and will be returning with friends as soon as time allows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

After coming to NZ for a wedding in Hamilton, we stayed in Matakana for the final leg of the trip.

It was amazing and everything we had hoped for. The management team were all great, very helpfull and all very relaxed.

The stay was perfect and the village of matakana was great.

We had around 4 different beaches all within a 15 min drive and all amazing.

Worth going to Nosh food store, they have some very good steaks for te bbq.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webbt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just had a weekend at Riverside Matakana and found it a great place to stay. The baches are well appointed and not too far from local attractions. The only thing I would say is that the next time we stay I would ask not to be put in 13 to 17 they are on the flat and don't have such a good view. However, we would return it is a wonderful peaceful setting and we really enjoyed the time we spent there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Many thanks for a great review and we do take your point about the bottom cluster. Fantastic to hear that your stay was not longer and that you wish you had more time.

To be sure next time, feel free to ask to be put in a cluster of your choice as all baches are located on different parts of the property (30 acres). Subject to availability at the time of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
79 reviews
2.2 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#5 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price Range: £130 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing