We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful 3 days”
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent the first 3 days of our holiday in NZ at Riverside. The Bach we rented was most comfortable and had everything which we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the grounds were beautifully kept. we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for posting such positive feed back about your stay at Riverside Matakana. We are glad that you discovered the magic of the Matakana region during your stay to New Zealand.

Thank you for the recommendation,

The Team at Riverside Matakana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Matakana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I was the lucky recipient of the 'Awesome Customer Service Award' which entitled my partner and I to a night away. Having won the award and not researched or chosen the accommodation myself, I was unsure of what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised and very impressed with the Riverside Matakana!

LOCATION:
You'll need a car/taxi as the accommodation is around 5 mins drive from the famous Matakana markets. The Riverside Matakana is nestled on a hill overlooking beautiful mountains.

SERVICE:
Friendly, helpful, approachable, professional yet down to earth. I have nothing but the most positive things to say about the service. Please note that this is not a typical hotel/motel - it's far more homely and definitely not intrusive - the Reception area is only open until 4pm during the weekend.

ACCOMODATION:
Unique - they are individual 'kiwi batches' with all of the mod cons. Simple, yet well designed. The sun sets right in to the lounge/deck area in all of the batches - the perfect place for a vino after a busy day. The only criticism that I would have is that because they are batches, you can hear the wind/rain more than you would with a standard concrete construction (wind makes the batch creak a little). The configuration of the room can be changed to suit your needs. There were two extra beds in another room (that was a garage) in our batch - we didn't need to use them as their was only two of us, but I personally wouldn't have wanted to stay in there.

EXTRA:
All of the land and the vineyard/grapes etc makes you feel far away from busy city life. The setting is very peaceful. Even though we didn't use it, we loved the pool area / tennis court / BBQ.

OVERALL:
I would be happy to come back and stay or to recommend the Riverside Matakana to friends/family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kezz083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have recently returned from a highly successful overnight conference hosted at Riverside Matakana for our team of 24. Conveniently located only one hour North of Auckland, the setting is a tranquil vineyard set against the Matakana River. Michael, Kelvin and their team were an absolute pleasure to deal with throughout our experience from booking, through to planning the conference and the ultimate hosting -these guys certainly understand hospitality! Over the two days many of the team praised Riverside Matakana and commented that they would be keen to return with friends and family. It is certainly a venue where we would happily host another conference. It would also make a brilliant venue for weddings and due to the well thought out spacing of the villas, a weekend get away for couples and or families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradGatehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had great local wine, a brasilian style churrasco with amazing NZ meat, the kids had fun in the pool, we had fun taking pictures, going after rabbits, and relaxing.
The knife set in the kitchen was amazingly good and it was a great xmas morning brunch with nz crackers and champagne!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMDuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at Riverside Matakana for two nights during the October School Holidays with three children - x2 13 year old boys and a 7 year old girl. We had a great time. The very comfy and modern bach accommodation is isolated enough from the busy weekend centre of Matakana to feel you are on holiday but close enough that if you hanker for lunch or dinner out or an espresso it is really just a short drive. Riverside has a pool and a tennis court and lots of land for the children to wander about on with frisbies and hide and seek antics and lots of other fun to boot. It is very pretty in amongst vineyards and overlooking a tidal river. There is a pontoon which was fun for stone throwing and fishing. The bach comes with Sky TV and all the mod cons. Riverside is a mere 40 minutes from Auckland and I recommend it to any parents who want an escape with /without the children that is very comfortable and fresh and fun. Thank you M and M.

Room Tip: If you want a bach with a nice view ask for ones closer to and overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We hosted 30 senior international guests for a two day conference at the Riverside Matakana. Everyone loved the scenery, the accomodation was excellent and the food was supurb. The catered BBQ one evening particularly stood out and is highly recommended.

The staff did an excellent job of ensuring our conference went smoothly and in many instances went above and beyond to help us out and make things work. From an organiser's perspective - this made a huge difference to the success of our meeting.

Thanks again, and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I recently spent three nights at Riverside Matakana, where we experienced relaxation, inspiration from the beautiful natural settings, and the New Zealand hospitality from Michael and his team beyond the call of duty.
A group of people from different parts of the world were there attending a conference, and each of us had different requirements and petitions, that were met by our hosts to our fullest satisfaction. They served us food that was nutritious and delicious and accommodated every type of request, and the accommodations were comfortable and with stunning views.
I also appreciated Riverside Matakana's commitment to use environmentally friendly products and their promotion of sustainable development.
Places like this make you want to come back. I absolutely recommend it for professional gatherings as well as for a family or personal escape for rest.
Thanks to Michael for his attention to detail! Alejandro R.

Room Tip: All the cabins have a great view to the vineyards and/or river.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
75 reviews
2.2 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
332 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
8.2 mi away
Leigh Central Coastels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price Range: £109 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing