We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice for our wedding retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best choice for our wedding retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Planning a wedding from overseas is never simple, but with the help of the staff at Riverside Matakana, we pulled off a 4 day weekend retreat (with a wedding in the middle).

We chose Riverside because of the beautiful surroundings as well as the friendly staff. There was plenty of accommodation for all our family and friends, and Riverside took care of everyone's needs throughout the 4 days. Through emails and a few phone calls, we expressed our needs, and Riverside coordinated everything for us!

Close to markets, wineries, restaurants and beaches... there is something to please everyone. And for those not wanting to leave the property, there was still plenty to do including tennis, swimming, a walk down to the jetty or even just relaxing in a beanbag working on your tan!

A very special thank you to Kelvin and Michael for helping coordinate all the transportation during a busy holiday weekend!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, they all have stunning views and are identical inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesoontobemrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
62
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have only praise. A relaxing stay in well-appointed accommodation on a well-kept estate. On arrival (and throughout my stay) Michael was friendly and helpful - as were the staff who serviced my rooms. The bach was spotless, with everything I needed and more in the way of furnishings and chattels. From a BBQ to cotton buds, from properly sharp knives to current magazines. It's the details that count. Comfy bed, good sized en-suite, great views and solitude. I imagine during summer the pool, tennis court and river come into their own. For me, the gas fire will see my return for a winter retreat.

Room Tip: In winter go for elevation, views from up the hill rather than on the flat. Summer, go for on the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_R_Jones_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks for your positive feedback about your stay. We are super glad that you had everything required to relax, restore, and retreat while staying recently. You are absolutely correct that summer is amazing for fun in the sun and enjoying the property, river, pool, etc. Winter too is superb, especially if it remains dry and settled like it has been.

We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The property is serene and very peaceful. It has wonderful views of the river, the vineyards and the countryside views. It is located only few minutes away from the town.
We had organised a surprise birthday party for a friend and Michael on the front desk was extremely helpful and co-ordinated so well in organising the surprise.

We stayed here only for about a couple of days however their batches are so perfectly well-equipped and maintained that you could easily stay weeks. The owners probably have a great attention to detail as they have thought of everything that could be required.

The rooms are stylish, immaculate spacious and are equipped with almost all the amenities that you require in the apartment. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are en-suites.
A nice Fully Equipped kitchen if you do not wish to eat outside. All the batches also have a private bbq machine (which is a bonus) if you wish to have a bbq.

All the facilities were brilliant and we have some great memories of tennis and swimming. This place is a perfect place for a group outing as it has great activities and is a wonderful place to have a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the swimming pool and tennis court
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shreya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for such a full and complete review of you stay at Riverside Matakana. We enjoy family groups who are getting together and sharing special occasions with us. It's all about creating memories.

We are glad your stay was a success and you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful venue for a business meeting and team building activities. The management and staff were fantastic nothing was too much for them. Breakfast and lunches were excellent. Michael and your team, thank you for everything

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you and we are ecstatic that your team away days were a success. We are glad that the food and environment was what you required and we get a lot of joy from seeing happy faces as you depart.

Hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Having scheduled and attended a number of conferences over the years in varying venues around NZ, I would have to say that Riverside Matakana sets itself apart from the competition offering a boutique and customised service to people who use the facilities with realistic and affordable pricing for their conference packages and offers. I would strongly urge anyone looking for a conference location with “that point of difference” to contact the team at Riverside Matakana as a priority and put this on your must attend list.

The team in our business now request to go back to Riverside Matakana for National Sales Meetings and conferences and everyone gives it a 5 out of 5 for service, commitment from the staff and flexibility in making our conferences a memorable event. The food is second to none and highly recommend that you utilise the on-site dinners, gourmet BBQ’s and catering rather than heading out into the wider environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Wow! What can we say? We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your team over the duration of your stay. It was great to see a team, although working hard, make use of the entire property and all that we provide at Riverside Matakana.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We Been here for My 25th Surprise Birthday party ( That of course i don't know). My Fiance and my friends had planned this and i have no idea about it. when we reach there to check in Mr Kevin and Michael been great actor and host. i didn't even realize that it was pre booked or they have done all the setup already.

Great facilities, we had so much fun while playing tennis, swimming and most in interesting part is the late night BBQ. the views are amazing.

All of the land and the vineyard/grapes etc makes you feel far away from busy city life.The room itself was great. Very spacious, very clean, plenty of towels and tea/coffee. The rooms are clean and modern with all the needed amenities.

we loved our stay and we will definitely come back. Highly recommended if you want to experience something different.

Room Tip: If you are on the way to Matakana then make sure you stop over here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for the appreciation of your surprise birthday celebration. We often get many varied requests and it was no trouble at all. It was fantastic to hear the sound of laughter, surprise and fun coming from you bach and the smiles on your faces as you departed your stay.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a relaxing 3 night stay at Riverside last month. The rooms are clean and modern with all the needed amenities. The staff is super friendly and helpful. They provided excellent local recommendations and even brought us a fan during a warm afternoon. This was a very nice and much appreciated gesture. The views are spectacular and perfect for unwinding and enjoying a glass of wine. The location is remote but close enough to the Matakana town for dinner, a movie or groceries. We visited several beautiful beaches and amazing regional park within a 15 minute drive. We were two so the room size was more than plenty and the bach will accomodate a family of 4-6 comfortably. This is definitely not your busy city hotel and more of a relaxing home away from home.

Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversideMatakana, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Matakana, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
It is always exciting to host visitors from overseas and ensure they not only have the Kiwi experience but just as important, the Matakana experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you got out and about in the region.

Take care and we hope to see you again if you venture back to this part of the world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.1 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#5 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Property: Riverside Matakana
Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing