We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and serene stay”
Review of Matakana Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matakana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matakana Castle
Ranked #1 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Matakana Castle and it was a great escape from the hustle and bustle of our city back home in Malaysia. My husband, son and I were awed by the fantastic scenery surrounding the castle and by the warm welcome from our hosts, John and Natalie.

We stayed in the Tower Suite which provided us with a stunning view of the bay and the country side. Matakana Castle is also very close to several fantastic beaches and vineyards and it was a perfect location to move around for short day trips.

The breakfasts prepared every morning by Natalie were just great! Wonderful escape for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siew Peng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we're glad that Matakana Castle lived up to your expectations. Hopefully you get the chance to return and we can meet up again. John and Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Matakana Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were looking for a one night escape from the city for a bit of R&R before the birth of our first child. Matakana Castle was perfect for this. John and Nat instantly made us feel welcome and little touches like the evening drinks with nibbles and the homemade chocolates in the rooms added to the experience. They were really helpful when it came to booking somewhere in Matakana for dinner and were able to offer us good advice about local walks and attractions. Nat even went to the trouble of making sure the breakfast was all things that I could eat being pregnant. Her homemade muesli is sublime as were the pancakes! And the views from our room (the Writing Room) and the living room made us feel like we had completely escaped the city.

Room Tip: Even though the Writing Room probably doesn't have the spectacular views of the Tower Suite, the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks for your review, really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Good luck with the pregnancy and hopefully we will see you again. John and Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Wow from the moment you arrive you feel yourself relax. From the warm welcome from Natalie and John to the toasty fire and gorgeous sented candles. It is a truly fantastic experience. Many thanks to our wonderful hosts for providing such an incredible environment. Highly recommended for that memory making getaway .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

We are really glad that you had such a memorable weekend. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and hopefully we will see you in the not too distant future when you come up to the area for the wedding. John and Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have stayed at Matakana Castle twice now and both times we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Nat and John are fantastic hosts who provide just the right mix of friendly hospitality while still allowing guests private chill out time in the spacious guest lounge overlooking the ocean.

Rooms are impeccable and the breakfast delicious.

Overall we recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thanks Rebecca, it was great to see you both again. It's always nice when people come and stay for a second time, hopefully you will return again. Thanks John and Nat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We went to Matakana for a relaxing weekend. We had a 14 month old little girl and we needed some peace and relaxing time. This was the perfect place. The attention to detail was immaculate, The owners are very friendly and flexible in accommodating our needs. Will def go back!! Highly recommend this place!

Maria and Stefan

Room Tip: We stayed at the Garden room and loved it
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks for the brilliant review. I was great to meet you both and we are glad that you got to catch up on some sleep in the peace and quiet. Hopefully we will see you again. John and Nat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband and I have just spent a night in the Tower Room and only wish it had been longer! The room was beautifully prepared for our arrival with fresh flowers, complimentary chocolates and biscuits, was absolutely immaculate and had the most stunning views over the hills down to the sea. Our plan had been to explore the surrounding area, but the sun loungers on our own private roof terrace prooved too tempting.... Natalie prepared a lovely cheeseboard with wine at 5pm served in the stylish lounge with a roaring fire adding to the welcoming atmosphere. The lounge is shared between the three guest rooms but as the only guests there, we sat reading magazines a listening to music, all provided for the guests enjoyment.
Breakfast the next morning was truly delicious - freshly prepared fruit, cereals, juices, tea or coffee and the most amazing French Toast with homemade blueberry preserve. We didn't eat again until dinner!!
Natalie and John were fabulous hosts, and had thought of everything we'd hoped for for our little getaway. All the little touches made us feel very spoilt and we had such a wonderfully relaxing time - it's hard not to when the surroundings are so peaceful.
For a romantic getaway or with friends, Matakana Castle is a real gem and we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslaFatimaOwenJoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thankyou for that fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and it is really appreciated when people take the time to write a review for us. The most rewarding part of running a bed and breakfast is getting feedback like this. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of spending our 2 year anniversary at Matakana Castle. On arriving were amazed at the beauty of the place. The Tower suite was private, spacious, and had great views across farmland to the local beach.

Highlights include the complimentary morning breakfast with fresh fruits, cereals, and amazing french toast. John and Natalie were lovely hosts, and we had a great time exploring the local beaches; Leigh, Pakiri, Omaha, Tawaharnui all within a short drive.

We had a truely lovely stay and will recommend this to all our friends. It was an amazing getaway. Simply the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thanks for your review, we are really glad that you enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you again for your third anniversary when hopefully you can spend some more time in this fantastic area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
3.5 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
73 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
121 reviews
4.9 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
90 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Castle

Address: 378 Whitmore Road, Matakana, Auckland 0986, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: £119 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matakana Castle is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set in 3.5 acres of rural splendor with magnificent sea views over Kawau Bay from every room. Three luxurious rooms all with en-suite bathrooms. The Tower Suite is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion whether it be your honeymoon night or you just feel like spoiling yourself. Enjoy our 2 course gourmet breakfast which is included in the price. Enjoy a glass of wine in front of the roaring log fire whilst enjoying the breathtaking views. Complimentary wine and hors oeuvres are included in the price as well as sweet treats in each room and fresh flowers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing