We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical NZ motel - not great but not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matakana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matakana Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matakana
auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical NZ motel - not great but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were a group of friends, all with young families, away for a weekend together. The grounds are a little shabby, and the old spa pools made into fish ponds are probably better just filled in, but the rooms were tidy, comfortable and clean. the only available heating was one fan heater, but the rooms were surprsingly warm considering it was a cold weekend.
No fire alarms!! despite full kitchen facilities.
Great location 50m to the Matakana Village and markets.
It pretty much meet expectations.
(PS the father and son at the Matakana Pub next door are great sorts who know how to have a good time and look after customers! thanks)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Had read the negative reviews AFTER we'd booked so were really looking for all the the things others had said were wrong with the motel But to our great pleasure we were impressed with how clean & cosy our 2room unit was,also how gr8 the owners were --couldn't do enough for us And its so close & easy to walk to the village cinema & the wonderful market & down to the river No mozzies either. The motel was fairly well booked out & we had no problem with noise from other guests
I would choose to stay there again & tell as many others to do the same We had a gr8 time in that beautiful part of our country Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THERESE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

If you can find somewhere else, go there. This place is expensive, dirty and full of mosquitoes. The grounds are filthy with rubbish and junk dotted everywhere. The bathroom smelled of urine. The towels smelled of body odour. I felt dirty after showering. Revolting place.

Room Tip: Keep away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_Bongo_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Matakana hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Matakana is becoming an expensive place to stay however we found this motel reasonably priced. We were only in the area to attend a wedding and this place suited the purpose, it's located close to Matakana village and although basic has everything you need. Also very clean and spacious.

Great if you just want somewhere clean and well located to explore the area from.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I too wish that I had read these reviews before I stayed there. Shocking - grounds were untidy, recycling rubbish was outside our unit. Bed was uncomfortable. The managers( ?) were as tired and unhelpful as the buildings. We didn't stay for the second night even though we had paid for it. $160.00 a night = what a ripoff!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

My family visiting form overseas stayed once and me and my partner stayed there together with them the second time. Good location, our unit was spacious and out the back there was sliding doors with a patio facing a wonderful field, adorable setting for relaxing!
Very helpful manager who rang around the vineyards to find out which were still open for lunch. He was also understanding when he had to shorten one night due to the car breaking down.
The apartment was very cozy and clean, free tea coffee and milk, nice bathroom, heater, plenty of parking. A really nice and affordable stay while travelling up north or spending time in Matakana. I would really recommend it for families, couples or single travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzi-Kyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

I can't fault the location for the market, restaurants, and ice cream. Loads of parking. We had a 2 bedroom, which was ample space for us and 2 school age kids.

It was adequate for sleeping (although a very warm night, with mossies, and very cold morning). The unit was very dusty and under the sofa was enough food to feed a small family.

There was ample equipment in the kitchen, clean towels and sheets. Microwave. TV. It did the job (everything else was booked out in the area). Trampoline on site is too dangerous for kids (that's what the kids told me!).

We would probably stay there again for the location as there are no other real options, that I'm aware for families. It was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
4.4 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.7 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
15.8 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
Walton Park Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Motel

Property: Matakana Motel
Address: 975 Matakana Road, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Matakana House Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Matakana Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is made up of 16 modern, purpose built units, from studio units with tea and coffee making facilities through to 2 bedroom units complete with kitchen. Or, spoil yourself in the spa unit which has its own spa bath.• 2 bedroom units have full cooking facilities, separate lounge and dining area.• Studio units have bathroom, fridge, tea/coffee and breakfast making facilities. Outdoor heated pool, children's playground & a gym for those energetic guests. Location is only minutes from Omaha Beach & golf course. Goat Island Marine Reserve, local wineries, Morris & James pottery. Opposite Matakana Farmers Market cinemas and shops. Handy to Matakana Country Park and equestrian centre, Kawau Island via ferry, Sandspit and more. Matakana is situated 8kms east of State Highway 1 from Warkworth on Matakana Road, approximately 1 hour drive from Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Matakana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing