We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Matakana Country Lodge. Susan and Garth were very helpful with suggestions for travelling around the area. Breakfast was served outside looking over the hills and toward the ocean with birds playing around the garden. Very peaceful nights sleep. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: We had a tour of all three rooms. We stayed in the Chablis room. You will not be disappointed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The birds at this time of year are plentiful thanks to the flax flowers. Tui's in particular love the flax nectar and keep the guests amused during breakfast. The wood pigeons are extremely social birds and can be found around the pool area whilst people are swimming.

The birdlife is one of the reasons we were attracted to the area. We have recently sighted 2 Kaka which are nesting in the area. A great place for bird watching.

We hope to see you back at the Lodge sometime in the future. Who knows what you might see the next time.

cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful location with stunning outlook over the Matakana countryside. This is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. Susan & Garth are the perfect hosts and really take the time to make sure you're comfortable. We just loved 'Happy Hour' - it was a lovely start to our evening out in Matakana at one of the restaurants.
Magnificent breakfast the following morning!
The room was extremely comfortable and we had the best night's sleep.
Couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely be back to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: The Chardonnay room had direct access to the patio & pool area which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zjcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We too enjoy 'Happy Hour' and getting to know our guests on a more personal level. As you say, it's a nice way to start your evening at one of our many great restaurants in the area. It also helps you to relax around people that beforehand were strangers.

We'd be only too happy to have you return - maybe next time you could try the Chablis or Champagne Room. The views from each room differ and the Champagne Room has a large bath, great for that end of the day soak.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge sometime in the future.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A gorgeous hilltop setting with broad vistas. We stayed in the Chardonnay suite with direct access to the patio area and with great views. Nice little touches; dressing gowns. Hot tub/spa and swimming pool. Susan and Gareth are great hosts, Susan solving a restaurant problem for us, even driving us there. Sadly we arrived late and only stayed one night (our loss). A place not to be missed.

Room Tip: Reservations are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Hope you took in a little of the night sky we talked about before you hit the hay after a long day.
We wish you safe travels for the remainder of your journey through New Zealand and hope to see you back here sometime in the future.
Enjoy being grandparents!
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

New Zealand is endowed with some of the most spectacular natural beauty, yet one is often forced to stay indoors as the weather gods hold you ransom to their vagaries! A mere 40 to 45 minutes North from the hustle and bustle of Auckland, lies an Oasis of beauty and calm, the Matakana Country Lodge offers unparalleled hospitality. A home away from home with gracious hosts Susan and Garth to spoil you, share and swap travel tales and much more. We stayed for a couple of nights and were treated to the company of our hosts and fellow lodgers each evening with a shared drink and nibbles. The media room, which was there to enjoy did not get a visit as we were too busy doing other stuff. If there is one drawback, it would be the need to step out for a meal in the evenings...oh how I wished we could have lingered over our wine and ordered a home delivered meal one night. But that aside, it is a perfect place to relax and rejuvenate :)

Room Tip: The rooms are close together and we found ourselves in the "sandwich" room, perhaps I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RashmiMadhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We too enjoyed your company and getting to know you over the few days you were with us. Garth and I both enjoy the social aspect of the Lodge and love sharing stories and bantering good naturedly with our guests, as you experienced.

Thanks also for sending me the photos of Tawharanui. The photographer and camera produced some amazing photos which I will use for marketing the area sometime in the near future.

Enjoy your piece of Paradise, especially your outdoor cooking area.

cheers!
Susan & Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Toward the end of our New Zealand Vacation, we spent three nights with Susan and Garth at their Matakana Country Lodge - and barely scratched the surface of the area. How can someone spend just one? In two and a half days we packed in four wineries (an enjoyable tasting at Brick Bay, a long and wonderful chat with Farida at Runner Duck, a fascinating talk with David at Heron's Flight and a fabulous time with Toby at his Gillman Winery), a couple of decent hikes, some very nice breakfasts, the Farmer's Market, two great dinners (Plume and Matakana Country Market), the Puhoi Pub ... and North Harbour Rugby. Suggestion: If someone suggests the Puhoi Pub and a Cheese Shop nearby, try the cheese shop first. We missed the cheese shop..... But we did manage to take two cases of New Zealand's Finest home with us.

You simply cannot take in all this area has to offer in one, two or even three days.

Room Tip: The Chablis was fabulous. The other two have different attributes, so check out the photos on line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDexterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

You are so right about staying more than one night as there is so much to do in Matakana region. It was so nice to see a couple that made the effort to see and do as much as possible , including a rugby game at North Harbour!
Going forward will we adjust our guest itineraries as suggested - Puhoi Cheese followed by Puhoi Pub.
Thanks again for the tee shirts! Who knows we might surprise you one day and show up in San Diego!
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Quite a journey up from the main road (at least by UK standards) but worth it. A warm welcome from Garth and Susan plus a wonderfully equipped and spacious lodge awaited us. There is a warm hot tub, though we didn't use it. A novel offering for us was a series of downloaded movies which allowed us to enjoy a film in front of a huge HD screen.
The location of this property is suitable for stargazers as the sky is truly dark - well away from any serious light pollution. It was cloudy on the night we stayed, which was a shame for us.
A good breakfast was accompanied by instruction in the intricacies of sailing the catamarans in the Americas Cup.
Highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks for your feedback Alison. Yes the drive up to the Lodge is quite something - not everyone likes driving on a gravel road but that is part of living in the country.
The night sky on a clear evening still that takes our breath away after 4 years of living here - no light pollution so the milky way is really something.
Glad you enjoyed some of the movies we have saved and Garth's commentary during one of the America's Cup races. Our boys gave it their best but unfortunately came home empty handed.
Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We arrived in the rain and felt warmly greeted, with umbrellas waiting. Pre-dinner drinks and introductions were enjoyable and wonderfully hosted. A great opportunity to meet new people and yet relaxing.

We stayed in the Chardonnay Room, our room of choice, with a little run along the patio we could quickly slip into the outdoor spa. With the rain pounding down, we sunk into the warmth and breathed in the fresh country air.

We greatly appreciated ideas, local knowledge and information to support our travels. All the tips shared proved worthwhile and added greatly to our holiday experiences. Strongly recommend being guided by the hosts as they certainly know the area well.

Matakana itself, must be the happiest, most positive place in New Zealand. The many people we meet had an extensive knowledge of the district, keenly recommending places in a positive and friendly way. They ooze excitement and contentment with life. No need for advertising - as these people are their own best advertisement.

On the trip home, we wondered why we live where we do and are now making plans to return for a week. With so much variety of things to do, wineries, arts and crafts in the district, shopping, and even movies.

Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Take the Chardonnay room and don't let the weather deter you from a late night dip as this is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Garth obviously did a fine job of hosting you in my absence - not that I ever doubted he wouldn't. We are both very passionate about the region we live in and love to suggest places we think guests would enjoy.

Matakana and the surrounding area is a hidden gem. You really need a few days to take in all the region has to offer. It was great that you were able to spend a second night with us on your return.

When planning your return visit you should try to make it during the summer. That way you can take full advantage of the many beaches and water activities on offer. By that stage we should be offering our guests "sunset cruises". Watch this space.

Cheers!
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matakana hotels
3.1 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
141 reviews
4.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
74 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
16 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
4 mi away
No photo provided
EbbTide Homestay
#8 of 9 in Matakana
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range: £116 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing