We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matakana Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matakana Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Matakana B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

A great place to rewind and relax - we spent a night here to have some rare time to ourselves and felt relaxed after mere minutes taking in the amazing view. The lodge is clean and tidy with great amenities and a fantastic location. A huge thank you to Susan and Garth for their hospitality, delicious food and good stories. Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
I'm glad you left feeling relaxed after only one night - just imagine how you would feel if you were able to stay longer.
We know how hard it is to escape for time out, being situated one hour from Auckland makes Matakana very appealing.
We hope to see you back here sometime in the future for a longer stay.
Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
76
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is one of the best equipped places we have stayed. Susan makes a lovely breakfast and was great helping us working out where to go. All 3 rooms are very special. The drinks and nibbles made it all very sociable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpennie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Garth and I appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

"Happy Hour" certainly is a very social time. It gives you the opporunity to meet and find out a little more about other guests staying in the Lodge.

As you experienced first hand, we often have couples head off to dinner together or offer rides, as you are now comfortable with people who were complete strangers only an hour earlier.

It's what we love about this lifestyle we have chosen.

Enjoy your travels around New Zealand and catching up with friends/family.

cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived slightly ahead of the 2pm earliest checkin time and were met by Susan who was more than happy to see us ahead of schedule. To make things even better (for us) we were told that we were the only booking that day so had the lodge to ourselves. Susan uncovered the outside pool so we could spend the afternoon relaxing in the water. At 6pm Susan re-appeared with wine and cheese and buiscuits for a chat, latter returning with our evening meal. In the morning she prepared us pancakes as we ate our breakfast. We really appreciated that our host not only provided excellent accommodation but also was also happy to share her time with us. This why we prefer b & b to hotels.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
As you said yourself, it's a shame you could not stay longer. I'm glad you felt rested and ready for your motorcycle tour around New Zealand. The weather has been on your side - nice during the day with the odd rain at night, perfect for motor cycles.

Enjoy the remainder of your trip. I'm sure the kiwis you meet along the way will make you as welcome as what we did and you'll have many great memories to take home with you.

Stay safe. I hope you got the helmet speakers working and can communicate during the ride.

Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed in Nov 2013 on a lovely hot day. The villa is on the top of one of the highest hills and over looks some beautiful countryside. The accommodation is just the best, clean, extremely comfortable, a kitchen, laundry facilities, hot tub and pool. We wished we had stayed a lot longer.

We explored the local villages and Matakana is small but the Saturday Market was great fun, lots of food, wine and small local shops lovely distraction.

Susan and Gareth were some welcoming, and the breakfast was wonderful. I could not recommend this enough.

For anyone think that the Bay of Islands is a must see then you need to add on an extra stop to look at Matakana.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. The villa is just for guests, each has its own bathroom plus. The quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
May thanks for your review and thank you for including the sentence about making a stop at Matakana on your way to the Bay of Islands.
I'm sure you will agree that one night is simply is not enough as there is so much to see and do in this region. I suggest 2 or more nights to take it all in or use the time to relax and recharge before the next stage of your adventure.
Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at Matakana Country Lodge. Susan and Garth were very helpful with suggestions for travelling around the area. Breakfast was served outside looking over the hills and toward the ocean with birds playing around the garden. Very peaceful nights sleep. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Room Tip: We had a tour of all three rooms. We stayed in the Chablis room. You will not be disappointed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The birds at this time of year are plentiful thanks to the flax flowers. Tui's in particular love the flax nectar and keep the guests amused during breakfast. The wood pigeons are extremely social birds and can be found around the pool area whilst people are swimming.

The birdlife is one of the reasons we were attracted to the area. We have recently sighted 2 Kaka which are nesting in the area. A great place for bird watching.

We hope to see you back at the Lodge sometime in the future. Who knows what you might see the next time.

cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful location with stunning outlook over the Matakana countryside. This is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. Susan & Garth are the perfect hosts and really take the time to make sure you're comfortable. We just loved 'Happy Hour' - it was a lovely start to our evening out in Matakana at one of the restaurants.
Magnificent breakfast the following morning!
The room was extremely comfortable and we had the best night's sleep.
Couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely be back to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: The Chardonnay room had direct access to the patio & pool area which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zjcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We too enjoy 'Happy Hour' and getting to know our guests on a more personal level. As you say, it's a nice way to start your evening at one of our many great restaurants in the area. It also helps you to relax around people that beforehand were strangers.

We'd be only too happy to have you return - maybe next time you could try the Chablis or Champagne Room. The views from each room differ and the Champagne Room has a large bath, great for that end of the day soak.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge sometime in the future.

Cheers!
Susan & Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
294 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A gorgeous hilltop setting with broad vistas. We stayed in the Chardonnay suite with direct access to the patio area and with great views. Nice little touches; dressing gowns. Hot tub/spa and swimming pool. Susan and Gareth are great hosts, Susan solving a restaurant problem for us, even driving us there. Sadly we arrived late and only stayed one night (our loss). A place not to be missed.

Room Tip: Reservations are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatakanaCL, Owner at Matakana Country Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. Hope you took in a little of the night sky we talked about before you hit the hay after a long day.
We wish you safe travels for the remainder of your journey through New Zealand and hope to see you back here sometime in the future.
Enjoy being grandparents!
Cheers!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
2.3 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.1 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
4.5 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 10 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.1 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakana Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakana Country Lodge

Property: Matakana Country Lodge
Address: 149 Anderson Road, Matakana, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Matakana Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Matakana Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing