We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth more than a one-night stay ...”
Review of Sugarloaf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugarloaf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth more than a one-night stay ...”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Travel agents often use Sugarloaf Lodge as a one-night stop-off on the way to Bay of Islands, which is a shame, as the beach is lovely, there was an island to visit and snorkelling to be done, a village, vineyards and bird sanctuary to be explored ...

And the Lodge itself was in a spectacular setting, with freindly hosts, the most comfortable bed, and several welcome and thoughtful touches: bathrobes, a room-fridge you could barely hear at night ( bonus!), a drink and hors d'oeuvres in the early evening.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for a great review! Sorry about the late response, but we were away overseas for five weeks - should have replied before we left!

Look forward to seeing you here again.

Allan and Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at Sugarloaf Lodge. We were totally impressed with our hosts, their attention to detail and the warm welcome on arrival. Then there is the view from the rooms....stunning! Divine nibbles on the deck at sunset (accompanied by George!) followed by scrumptious breakfast. A must visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomac701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you for reviewing us and very pleased to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer. George is works diligently in his PR role. Unfortunately he had occasion to visit the vet and needed a small operation on his foot. This resulted in him having to wear a "bucket" which he felt was very uncool. He is now sleeping the embarrassment off at my feet now as I write.

Kind regards
Vanessa & Allan Barber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a lovely time staying in Matakana up in the hills surrounded by vines. Very peaceful and relaxing and we wished we had stayed for more than one night. Our hosts made us very welcome and brought us a glass of their local wine and nibbles on the house. Very comfortable bed, linen and soft pillows! On a clear night stargazing is wonderful! I would definitely recommend this luxury B and B especially for couples.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 988Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us, and thanks for the wonderful comments. The weather is still glorious here, but we have had some rain thankfully - mainly at night though. (We could be living in Camelot here!). Look forward to seeing you on your second trip to New Zealand.
Kind regards
Allan and Vanessa Barber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I visited here for a couple of days as a part of our honeymoon. We had never been to the area before and were blown away by the great views from our room. The 2 suites are very well laid out in terms of ensuring privacy and noise reduction. They had some great recommendations for us to visit. The breakfast was also wonderful and the pre dinner drinks were a lovely touch,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Hi Ruth

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We enjoyed having you and David to stay with us on your honeymoon and were very pleased to be able to recommend things to do in our beuatiful part of New Zealand.

All the best

Allan and Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Although we didn't have the pleasure of good weather for our three night stay, we did have the pleasure of amazing views and every comfort whilst the rain rolled by. Pre-dinner drinks came to us with some wee nom-nom nibbles, and we were perfectly located for the wedding we attended as well as all the local vineyards and restaurants. We also had tasty breakfasts (which included home-made preserves), and the suite was clean, tidy and provided with everything you might need. Vanessa and Alan our hosts were friendly but unobtrusive and able to provide us with accurate information about the local area. We thoroughly recommend Sugarloaf to anyone interested in staying in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Hi Catherine
Thank you for your lovely review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather and hope to see you both again.
Kind regards
Vanessa and Allan Barber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Alan and Vanessa are great hosts, we just love the relaxed atmosphere and wonderful outlook over Omaha. We also appreciated the pre-dinner drinks and nibbles and the breakfast was delicious. For a night away its really hard to beat Sugar Loaf.

Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Hi Liz

It was great to have you and Warner stay with us again. Many thanks for your very complimentary review - look forward to seeing you again.

Allan and Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Hubby and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Sugarloaf. The lodge is perfectly located, just a few minutes drive from Matakana township - but it feels secluded because it sits up a long drive with spectacular farmland views. Vanessa was overseas at the time but Allan played the perfect host, serving up delicious cooked breakfasts, answering all our questions about the area, and offering to make dinner bookings. The guest rooms are detached from the main house and very well-presented, with all the mod cons you'd hope for (and a few extras.. like underfloor heating in the ensuite!) We would stay again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Hi Amy

Thank you very much for doing such a prompt and positive review. It was lovely having you and Ian to stay. Come again!

Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
6.0 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.9 mi away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.0 mi away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Lodge

Property: Sugarloaf Lodge
Address: 1068 Leigh Rd, Matakana 0948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugarloaf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
90 minutes from Auckland airport and under an hour from the city centre, Sugarloaf Lodge is on five acres with plentiful birdlife and views out to the Hauraki Gulf from self-contained bedrooms with ensuite and own access. Matakana Village, restaurants, shops, cinemas and Saturday market are only five minutes drive, while nearby there are several wineries, cafes, white sand beaches, and bush and beach walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Sugarloaf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing