We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bad experience”

Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland
Ranked #6 of 15 things to do in Matakana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ascension is a beautiful vineyard in Matakana just 40 minutes north of Auckland. With our own rustic cellar door and restaurant we are the perfect location for wine tasting and lunch. We also host stunning weddings and stylish corporate events in the Belfry our fully self contained Function Centre. Life is too short to drink boring wine! Our philosophy has evolved to craft small quantities of distinctive, terroir-driven wines from both traditional and very unusual varieties. Expensive techniques regarded as "special" by many wineries, such as cane pruning, extensive leaf plucking, crop thinning and hand harvesting, are standard here. We make small batches of our handcrafted wines, which you can only buy through our cellar door, restaurant or website. The best way to experience Ascension is to visit us! We look forward to sharing Ascension with you because it is not just a business for us. It's our life.
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went for lunch. The downsides were: the bug crawling around in my salad (it was replaced and they gave a free coffee when I pointed it out), the food wasn't very nice and I was still hungry after my lunch, the poor slow service, they forgot our drinks order and we waited 40min with no food or drinks, they were also unprofessional with about 3 people trying to take our order at different times (once even after we'd eaten) and no one actually bringing any food, and then the price tag for our dissappointing experience was $140 for lunch for three, which seemed a lot. The upsides were the pretty grounds and the nice buildings. We'd gone to check out Ascension as a possible wedding venue. Needless to say, we won't book it for that and I wouldn't bother going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Manager at Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear DebbieNZ

thank you for taking the time to write a review for us,
We appreciate getting feedback from our customers as it helps us improve what we can offer.
We have recently reopened after a huge renovation and now have a new menu with a much wider selection of dishes at all price points. We have also put new policies and proceedures in place to improve our services. I hope you will come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    2
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely stop over on the way to Matakana. Lovely setting and lovely food and good attentive staff. Enjoyed the Viognier but didn't. Are for the rest of the wine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascensionwine, Public Relations Manager at Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland, responded to this review, 14 October 2016
Hi Tania, thanks for your review from almost two years ago! We hope that you have come to visit us since, if not it would be wonderful to see you soon. Have a lovely evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Christmas Function Hosts”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Arranged for our company to celebrate Christmas at Ascension this year. The team at Ascension made the organising a breeze and they were very accommodating to our group. We had a fantastic time playing the outdoor games available and having drinks in the sun followed but a lovely buffet.

We all had a great time and thank you so much for helping us celebrate the year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentholidayer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our second visit to Ascension. We did some wine tasting which was great and we bought some wonderful wines as on the previous occasion. They had a great selection of wines at reasonable prices.

The venue is really lovely and they had a beautiful herb garden and we saw someone freshly picking some herbs for the kitchen.

Their restaurant The Larder had some nice food but there was not much choice for vegetarians/non red meat eaters and we decided not to have lunch there as two of us didn't eat red meat and the only fishy option was a seafood chowder which wasn't really what I wanted.

The service was good but there was something missing from our previous visit last summer. May be it was due to the new ownership.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AKBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matakana, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were lucky enough to be guests at a friends wedding at Ascension. The grounds were immaculate, everything flowed smoothly, including the after ceremony drinks. Service was great, the buffet food delicious and we had a rip roaring night, dancing into the wee hours. Definitely a great venue.

Ive also been to 4 concerts here and they were all absolutely amazing- Bonnie Rait being the last. Such a great live music venue. Really, really worth getting to. We go at least twice a year for the gigs as a rule now our kids are older.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matakanafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland also viewed

 
Matakana, Auckland Region
Matakana, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing