We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* location, 5* facilities, 5* service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 9 Matakana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5* location, 5* facilities, 5* service!”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My fiance and I wanted a weekend break away from the city and we came across the wonderful Takatu Lodge online. The place sounded amazing and I had very high expectations - these were met AND exceeded.

We were greeted by Heather who showed us around and made us feel very welcome. The room was fresh, clean and very comfortable. All the little touches (chocolates, flowers, chilled water) made it even better. The heated floor was pure decadence!! It was lovely to soak in a bath overlooking the vineyard and towards the coast.

Before heading out to dinner we relaxed, drinking wine, in front of the open log fire. It was so peaceful and cosy.

The whole lodge was very well designed, every detail had been considered. The beds were comfortable and very warm, just what we needed on a cold night.

Breakfast the following morning was delicious - if only every day could start that way!!

We would highly recommend Takutu lodge - it is expensive, but it is VERY worth it!! Just what we needed!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Very comfortable and peaceful accommodation - particularly the bath. Great design and architecture with great district views. Sensational languid breakfast. Heather and John - the hosts - were the highlight. Genuinely friendly and helpful - particularly on what to see locally - and there is a lot to recommend.

Try the Old Saw Mill Bistro at Leigh and the Sculpture Trail.

The local wine was also a revelation.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Timetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

After initially booking my parents elsewhere, I needed to change and found Takatu - Heather, the host was so lovely. My parents had a simply AMAZING time of relaxation and enjoyment there. Wine tasting, massages, wonderful restaurants. Just what they needed. Thanks Heather and John - you were just what Mum and Dad (Gill and Gavin) needed to simply get away from it all!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

we stayed at Takatu over a long weekend - about 1 hour's drive out of Auckland city. The lodge only has a few rooms.

The accommodation is a few minutes drive from the main town, and the hosts Heather and John are great on reccomendations on local sights and restaurants, including detailed descriptions on how to get there.

The room was fantastic, including in floor heating in the bedroom and bathroom, a giant bathtub and shower and double sinks in the bathroom. Almost everything had been thought of in the room including pot tea, pot coffee, juices and other basics. Views from the room are fantastic - over looking the vineyards and then onto the ocean.

Breakfast was a fantastic 3 course affair and gave us an opportunity to catch up with other guests. There is also an extensive CD and book library if you don't feel like exploring. Internet is also free (finally! a hotel with free internet), but the room construction means that it is not wireless. There are no TVs in the room - something we didn't realise until after we left.

Only word of warning - the beds are very soft. If you're used to sleeping on a hard bed, it may be difficult to sleep in these.

I would reccomend this place for anyone lookign for a relaxing weekend away without any worries.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanouhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I was fortunate enough to be hosted at this lodge with my partner.
I was aware of the status of Takatu wine and the high quality of its reputation within the world of wine.
However, what I gained most exceptionally from this visit was being able to see and to gain an insight into the passion of John and Heather through their determination to develop wine of exceptional quality using the purest methodology amidst a lodge of exceptional quality. I gained a sense of genuine friendship from our hosts who spent time amongst their respective busy lives to take/make the time to share accounts of their journey with my partner and I as well as to enable them to host us to a very high standard.
For me this was more than a place in paradise to lay our heads, but a place where I was able to be invigorated by the passion of a couple who took the risks with a purest vision and who are continuing to strive to achieve the most highest of standards.
The area is only 45 minutes from Central Auckland and seems a world away. The beach at Buckleton's Beach is a gem too with the nearby townships of Matakana and Puhoi providing divergent impressions of current rural living. The determination of the local people to prevent and/or manage the challenges of the "big city developments" is to be admired and to be commended and to be totally encouraged as the "big city way" is not the way for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Copperduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Every detail is thought of at Takatu Lodge...My husband and I spent a couple of nights with Heather Forsman on our recent trip to NZ. It was a genuinely luxurious break in our itinery, the rooms are fantastic and the location and architecture of the Lodge itself have to be appreciated! Heather's breakfasts were yummy - I have emailed for recipes! - and the main reason for Takatu - the wine - some of the best we found in Matakana. A little bit of heaven in the chaos of life!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrotFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

John and Heather were incredible hosts, made us feel at home and amazed us with their attention to all details. Their spot is amazing, in the center of their vineyard, the room has an incredible view. It really is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of life.
We are already planning to get back there next year and bring our parents with us.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
5.2 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Matakana Country Lodge
Matakana Country Lodge
#3 of 9 in Matakana
90 reviews
19.0 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#4 of 9 in Matakana
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takatu Lodge & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takatu Lodge & Vineyard

Property: Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Address: 518 Whitmore Road, Matakana 0948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matakana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Takatu Lodge & Vineyard 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the entrance of the beautiful Takatu Peninsula, this award-winning 5 Star lodge & vineyard is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean and magnificent beaches. Takatu Lodge's contemporary design incorporates walls of glass to capture stunning views of the vineyard, mountains & sea beyond. The luxurious suites are designed for ultimate privacy and comfort. A sumptuous breakfast with a "slow food" approach and 'A Gift for Every is included: 1st night: A bottle of Takatu’s award winning Bordeaux style Kawau Bay 2007 2nd night: Two tickets to the local Brick Bay Sculpture Trail – explore & view the best renowned NZ sculptors works, exhibited in a natural bush setting. 3rd night: Hosted by the owners, experience a complimentary wine tasting of one of their award-winning wines, accompanied by an antipasti dish for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takatu Lodge & Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing