We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Hotel del Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel del Lago
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Puigcerda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I went last summer to Puigcerda, and after checking some of the hotels in the area, Hotel Del Lago seemed like the best option in the city. Some other good hotels around, but not in the city sentry as this one. I was in a room outside the hotel, so I could move in and out without entering the hotel. The swimming pool is nice, and the rate was ok for the season. I am happy with the choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkWent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is in a lovely location good for the centre of town and a half an hour from La Molina ski resort. I found the hotel to be a little worn in particular the spa area which in my opinion was not clean at all (all around the jacuzzi was mould) the infared sauna was not working and the spa itself has many cracks in the glass which are taped up, it looks better in the dark! Just a note to mention the spa is not attached to the hotel (I had not read this in previous reviews) fine in the summer but in the depths of winter a little chilly, you have to hire dressing gowns or bring your own.
We were in a triple room which was perfectly clean and we were warm and comfy. Would stay here again if the rate received reflected the true quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kizzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Backroads bike trip. The family that runs it was super, the breakfast was nice. It was hot and our room had neither air conditioning, a fan, or cross venting windows. So, if you go in summer make sure you book a room with one of these.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Clean and confortable rooms. Nice swimmingpools and jacuzzi. Everything is very clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotamundosj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We stayed at Hotel del Lago for a couple of nights in July 2007. It is a pleasant little hotel and the previous comments regarding the reality of its location are true. Our room was reasonable, although the air-conditioning was provided by a rather noisy free-standing unit and we did detect a slight drain smell in the room on occasions. I think that the staff were working on some kind of problem relating to this as they were scurrying around various manholes etc during the day.
The pools were great with hardly anyone else using them early in the day. Plenty of loungers and lots of shady spots to sit if you want to keep out of the sun. We also took our very pleasant continental breakfast outside. Very enjoyable. There are loads of restaurants in the town and plenty of bars, some serving excellent tapas to get your appetite going for later.
There is plenty of secure parking at the hotel and the staff were pleasant.
Lots to see in the surrounding areas. We explored Andorra and the French Pyrenees. The solar ovens were very interesting and worth taking a look at. The French border is on the edge of town.

Well worth considering a stay here for reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Don't be fooled: Hotel del Lago's lake is not much of a lake, very man-made, cemented. The site's images make the location look more roomy and edge of town than is true. The hotel is surrounded, close in, by many (mostly) residential buildings. But the hotel is comfortable, clean, and quiet. The grounds are nice for breakfast out of doors and relaxing. Everything in town is in walking distance. It was difficult to find a bad meal anywhere (we were there a week), even at small pizza counter-places. Sit outdoors in a cafe and order a Bitter Kas; my favorite! And not available in the US. And if you have a car, France is (literally) 1km away. Lots of opportunities for exploring rural Spain and France in the Pyrenees. We came from Barcelona and loved the quiet after enjoying a busy urban week.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Puigcerda is not that interesting in and of itself but is a great base for exploring the Catalunya Pyrenees, especially if you stay in this lovely and friendly hotel. The grounds are self-enclosed & feel like a garden oasis in a somewhat utilitarian town. Our 'superior double' was one of a few ground floor rooms overlooking the sweet yard/pool area; it was spacious, cute (wood beam ceilings), and complete with mini-bar fridge; there was no airconditioning but the nights were cool and we did fine. Breakfast is only adequate-- the usual cheese, meat & bread, juice, not much choice of cereal, coffee out of a machine-- but eating it on little white-clothed outdoor umbrella tables in the garden made it nice. Extremely friendly staff helped us with info on hikes, taking the 'petit train jaune' through the mountains to Villefranche (France), dinner reservations, and travel tips. Be aware that many restaurants & shops are closed in this area for the month of June...we were very limited on where to eat.

Stayed: July 2005
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puigcerda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paulita
Hotel Villa Paulita
#2 of 9 in Puigcerda
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parada Puigcerda
Hotel Parada Puigcerda
#1 of 9 in Puigcerda
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Prado
Hotel del Prado
#5 of 9 in Puigcerda
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Puigcerda
Park Hotel Puigcerda
#7 of 9 in Puigcerda
122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalet del Golf
Chalet del Golf
#4 of 9 in Puigcerda
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puigcerda
Hotel Puigcerda
#8 of 9 in Puigcerda
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Lago

Address: Avda. Dr. Piguillem, 7, 17520 Puigcerda, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Puigcerda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Puigcerda
Price Range: £96 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing