We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm paired to efficiency and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archiestown Hotel and Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archiestown Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #1 of 2 Archiestown B&B and Inns
Kessel-Lo
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Old world charm paired to efficiency and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very nice old hotel in the Speyside area in a small village of Archiestown. Very nice rooms, good restaurant, beautiful guest room. Felt very very welcome, had a very good dinner and some fantastic whiskies from their extensive list. Very personal and nice, but led by the iron hand of the proprietress who sees everything her staff does. Perfect for a whiskey tour including wives, but we (4 friends) spent a most agreeable evening here. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickKessel_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
43
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

How delightful to find this hotel of considerable charm near Aberlour. We sank into the comfortable sofas in the charming lounge filled with paintings, soft comfortable furniture and good lighting. The menu looked very tempting and it was actually quite difficult to choose.
I chose the crispy pork belly and chilli prawns which were good, my husband had mussels which he pronounced as excellent (I tried the sauce which was indeed very good) and my sister had the cheese soufflé which she thoroughly enjoyed. We all went for the venison main course and it was absolutely delicious, the venison was beautifully cooked and so tender and melt in the mouth it was pure pleasure to eat. We did not have dessert, but they did look very interesting and tempting. The house red wine was very good indeed and perfect temperature. All in all I wish we could have eaten here every night as some of our experiences elsewhere only highlighted this bistro as one of the nicest meals out we have had in some time. I would imagine that the hotel and the breakfast are up to the same standard. Glad to see they got a certificate of excellence - I am not surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheeler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Very clean well appointed facility, with really good food, all the staff are very nice and helpful, I have stayed there twice so it must have been good, The catering is by far the best I have had in a long time well worth the visit alone.

Room Tip: not the small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mmyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leningradskaya, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights here whilst fishing. The welcome was friendly and the dinners exceptional value and quality. The rooms have been well furnished and decorated with excellent bathrooms and endless hot water. Breakfast was a feast, black pudding, haggis, eggs, bacon, kippers and anything else you fancied. The staff were helpful and cheerful. Beware of " friendly gin and tonic" they are very strong ! I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Spey

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

It is delightful to eat at a restaurant where your order is taken in a plush sitting room and you are invited to your table when your meal is ready. So much nicer than sitting at an empty table until your meal arrives. The meals were very creative, tasty and hearty. My daughter and I were touring distilleries and came to this hotel based on a recommendation from friends. It is an astonishingly wonderful place with kind and courteous staff hidden in an unassuming but lovely building at a crossroad near the Macallan distillery.

Room Tip: We only dined here but I am confident that their attention to detail and to the needs of their guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Careful_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Over the years I've developed a liking for Scotch Whiskies, but with a strong bias towards Speyside. My WONDERFUL wife booked me a tour of The Macallan distillery and the 'package' included a couple of nights at The Archiestown Hotel. What a gem of a hotel, lovely owners who provided the warmest of welcomes, the food is extremely good, the rooms beautifully appointed, the lounge is snug and comfortable. I highly recommend the hotel as well as visits to the local distilleries - Cardu is as local to Archiestown as the The Macallan and much smaller in scale .. visit both distilleries is my recommendation.

Room Tip: First floor & front of the hotel was very nice and quiet ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toc199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

I am at an age where I want to go to places with a 5 star feel but still feels relaxing. The sitting room has plenty of comfortable chairs and settees where you can relax and enjoy a drink. Everyone made us feel welcome from the first minute we arrived. The menu had enough of a choice to suit most people and the food was cooked to perfection. The room was comfortable with toiletries and a hair dryer provided. Overall, it was a really nice stay and I would definitely recommend a visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimwiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archiestown
4.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
11.4 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 8 in Aberlour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archiestown Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archiestown Hotel and Bistro

Property: Archiestown Hotel and Bistro
Address: | The Square, Archiestown AB38 7QL , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Archiestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Archiestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archiestown Hotel, renowned for its food, comfort and location. Our country house style small hotel is situated in the heart of the village of Archiestown, on the doorstep of The Macallan and Cardhu, home of the famous Johnnie Walker Distillery and the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. The Hotel has 9 individually decorated rooms with ensuite facilities and many of our rooms enjoy the superb views arcoss the Spey Valley. Our Bistro Restaurant is highly acclaimed locally and we serve fresh, home cooked, high quality food the ingredients for which are always sourced locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Archiestown Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing