We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archiestown Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #1 of 1 Archiestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were the only ones staying in the hotel that night so we got some most excellent service. The food wasn't as good as I recall (this was our third trip) and the syrup pudding with custard was a bit school dinners but the room was very good. A lovely lounge and open fire set the place off well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mithrandir1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
43
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned home after two nights dinner bed and breakfast at this hotel. It was perfect! The bedroom was nicely furnished and the bed very comfy. The lounge where we enjoyed drinks before dinner is a delightful room with a cosy log fire burning on Saturday evening ( too warm for that on Sunday!!) The food is really exceptional with a great choice at both dinner and breakfast. Jane and Alan made us very welcome as did all their friendly staff. An ideal place for a weekend of recharging the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizS152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

i booked this Hotel in a hurry and then had to cancel next day.
They told me they would take a deposit of £50 per room which was fine.
However, they sent me an e-mail telling me they couldn,t sell the rooms so charged me the full whack £240.....

When i phoned to complain the owner was extremely rude and totally in flexible. She told me that because she had already taken the money from my credit card there was nothing she could do.
She would not budge and constantly talked over me when i tried to speak.

she is a con artist so be very aware when booking this Hotel.
this is not the way to do business. I would call it extortion at worst.....

Room Tip: If you want to keep your money do not book this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dougie s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The most comfortable bed. The cleanest room. The best service. A 5* restaurant reasonably priced. The food was delicious with a great choices on the menu. Local produce used -great wine list.
Breakfast was we agreed one of the best we've had anywhere with haggis & kippers on the menu if you wanted them.
For all the above and the relaxed ambience we will be back. Only downside was we had to leave!
Recommended to recharge batteries.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netball25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed overnight at this nice little hotel on Speyside. It does what it says on the tin - nice helpful and welcoming staff (not always a given in Scotland!) , good food, comfortable rooms, tasteful decor. Would definitely go back and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb0rn0ttb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed the one night here and just for the food alone,wished we could have stayed longer. A well-run small hotel with super-comfy beds and a nice country house feel. As mentioned the food was excellent and with a reasonably priced wine list to boot. We felt well looked after even though the staff were also attending to a small wedding party. The only slight downside was, due to the wedding guests, we were kept awake somewhat. That was no reflection on the hotel and it's excellent staff and we would definitely return again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

A couple of years since my last visit,but the charm remains . Dinner at £26 for. Two courses very good value but when u add pudding and drinks it is pricey- but very good quality. It is the best around for food.
Will revisit

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archiestown
2.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
237 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
180 reviews
3.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
11.3 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
286 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archiestown Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archiestown Hotel and Bistro

Property: Archiestown Hotel and Bistro
Address: | The Square, Archiestown AB38 7QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Archiestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Archiestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archiestown Hotel, renowned for its food, comfort and location. Our country house style small hotel is situated in the heart of the village of Archiestown, on the doorstep of The Macallan and Cardhu, home of the famous Johnnie Walker Distillery and the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. The Hotel has 9 individually decorated rooms with ensuite facilities and many of our rooms enjoy the superb views arcoss the Spey Valley. Our Bistro Restaurant is highly acclaimed locally and we serve fresh, home cooked, high quality food the ingredients for which are always sourced locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Archiestown Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing