We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the walk a must visit!”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk a must visit!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

On a nice day the walk to the falls kept the kids interested and when you get to the falls wow what a great place to visit ,take a picnic as we did and have lunch with a super backdrop and just a short walk up a very rocky path is a bonus falls witch is very pretty

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 141tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    39
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The falls are well worth the walk - was a really nice day and its a lovely place to sit with a picnic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 719Traceyc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must visit! You won't regret it!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

An incredible and gentle walk up to the majestic waterfalls is just what you need on a nice summers day :) a short walk after you will stumble upon the second fall, after climbing up and seeing a breathtaking view of the coast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't go to North Wales without going here”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stumbled upon this by accident when looking for an alternative to going up Snowdon, which turned out to be the fluke of our trip as this was by far the best thing we did.

The walk to the falls can take anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour, but it's very easy and accessible for almost everyone. There is a rocky route you can walk, but we didn't want to risk it although it looked fairly tame for the most part.

The falls themselves are beautiful. As others have mentioned - it's perfect how they've set up the area as there's enough human involvement to get you there and guide you, but everything else has been left completely natural.

The lake at the bottom of the falls looked far too rocky to get in to, but you can get down next to it in order to grab a handful of the water. You can probably go paddling if your feet can take the rocks. But the photo opportunities are worth every second of the walk easily.

Hugely recommended for couples - it doesn't get more romantic than a picnic by a waterfall in the middle of a national park. And there's sheep to talk to on the way if you're going alone.

Tip: We drove here via the A470 & A5. Stunning drive - highly recommended.

Tip 2: Parking costs £2

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally breathtaking!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

If you're up for a 2km walk through the gorgeous Welsh countryside this is well worth the effort. The carparks have ample space,it's free to enter and the whole route is well maintained with places to stop and rest along the way. We were pretty tired when we got to the waterfall but it was so worth it.The falls are spectacular,totally breathtaking and you'd never know they were tucked away in the mountains. It seemed very popular and lots of people were taking photos.My only advice would be to make sure you have good footwear and you take plenty to drink as there is nowhere to get refreshments. We only saw one of the falls as the second waterfall required walking a lot further, but we have it on our to do list :-) Definitely give it 10/10!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aber Falls (Rhaeadr Fawr) also viewed

 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Tal-y-Cafn, Conwy County
 

Been to Aber Falls (Rhaeadr Fawr)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing