We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice accomadation and great location if you like...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Beverley...
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice accomadation and great location if you like outdoor pursuits”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I had to find accomadation that suited an age range between 3 and 83 ! So Gew property was perfect as it was all on one level, an enclosed yard for the children to play safely a pretty 1/2 walk to beach (at child speed) to meet husband who could drive for a surf on the same beach and all return home by road in 5mins and A lovely park across the road to walk ar cycle round. I personally would have preferred to be closer to a village so my husband and I could go out on our own for an evening without driving as we live in a rural location and it's a bit of a treat to walk to a pub! but all round the place was good value particularly as this was in a school holiday and we are looking at going again next year.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We would be very pleased to see you again. In the lighter evenings you can walk on the footpaths to either the Terrace (10 minutes) or the pubs at Portreath and Illogan (15 - 20 minutes) these are lovely country walks but, of course, no streetlights!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a beautiful cottage ~ we stayed in Mowhay Cottage for 7 nights and loved every minute!
We had an online Sainsbury's delivery for when we arrived to save travelling down with essential items like wine!
The cottage was lovely and clean with everything we needed to live comfortably for the week. Really comfortable bed with mattress and pillow protectors; fabulous bathroom with large shower and bath; fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher; log burner with first basket of logs free and a conservatory with small patio. It was perfect!
Thank you to Lindsay and Andrew for making us so very welcome and Golly for welcoming our labrador Elsa!
It was also a perfect location of the beach, walks and visits to places of interest.
We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mowhay Cottage. This is one of our favourite cottages, just right for two! We would be very pleased to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P
Wokingham
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“family reunion”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

My sisters and I visited Trengove as a family reunion and major birthday celebration. Trengove was in a perfect location for us as we holidayed as children in the Portreath and Redruth area. We booked the Trengove suite which is a very large wing of the main house. I believe the family use it when not booked by guests. The area is very quiet but near to major routes. Nowhere is very far in this part of Cornwall and you can soon visit more than enough to fill a week. There are cycle ways and footpaths and a large outdoor area for kids to play safely. A walk to Portreath will take you through an animal park which is open for visits. Portreath beach is very clean and about 15 minutes walk. The owners were very helpful and we were able to borrow tools to restore our family grave at Gwenap Church. A well deserved 5 star rating.

Date of stay: September 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely walk to the beach and pub
Liked least: Cornish weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Trengove.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce A
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable family holiday”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Trengove Farm is a beautiful place to stay as it has everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. Stunning location with panoramic views of both the coast and countryside, very homely, comfortable and well equipped accommodation and friendly helpful owners Lindsay and Andrew. We stayed in The Gew , 4 adults and 1 grandchild, and enjoyed every minute! Also, Trengove is within easy reach of other scenic places to visit in Cornwall and extremely good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb week”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had an excellent week once again staying at Trengove Farm. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants a really relaxing stay in Cornwall.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and the friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John16271...
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The location of these cottage is perfect if you want to visit South Cornwall. Lands End, Lizard Point and Eden Project less that an hours drive. Wonderful beach at Portreath. Great coast road drives with spectacular views. We stayed in "Trevithicks" as cottage designed for people with mobility difficulties and it was perfect. Lindsey and Andrew Richards made us extremely welcome.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: After returning from a day out it was like a home from home, warm and welcoming.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are lucky living in such a convenient location and we are pleased that you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1990K_A_W
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“perfect base to explore from”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Canons Corner, a 4 bed cottage with private patio. The cottage was immaculately clean, the beds were comfortable and the open-plan living area was spacious and inviting.

The cottages are a perfect base for exploring the coast; Portreath beach is a short walk or drive away and St Ives and Penzance are less than 40 minutes by car. Beautiful scenery all around, and a peaceful, relaxing environment - even though the other cottages were occupied we would never have known if not for the other cars!

I would definitely recommend staying at Tregove Farm.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: perfect location to explore from
Liked least: the weather!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
WE are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. Many guests comment that it is peaceful at Trengove, without being too remote from anywhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.