We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our 12th Fantastic year here!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
118 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
PhilandLi...
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our 12th Fantastic year here!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I think the title possible say's it all? The accommodation is great, clean, modern and comfortable and very well equipped. Lindsey and Andrew the owners are very friendly, helpful and there with any help or advice you might want. It's a very peaceful location with easy access to the main A30 so getting around Cornwall is easy. Already booked for next year!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As you can see
Liked least: Leaving to come home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
It was very good to see you both again and we are looking forward to your visit next year. Thank you for your kind comments. Burgess is a lovely sunny property and we are glad that you liked it there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce A
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is our 3rd visit to Trengove as we really enjoy it here! Stayed in The Burgess which has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. As confirmed by previous reviews Trengove is well located for walks, bike rides, visiting the sandy picturesque beach at Portreath and being within easy reach of most popular places to visit in Cornwall. Peaceful and relaxing but also child friendly. The owners Lindsay and Andrew are friendly, helpful and always pleased to see you. We would definitely go back again to this beautiful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really but especially beauty of location and peace and quiet
Liked least: The journey of 365 miles! Wish we lived nearer to visit more often
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was good to see you again. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Burgess, as it was a different property for you. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S A
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Another excellent stay. Accommodation is very welcoming with all the facilities you need. Warm welcome as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely walks that are on the door step.
Liked least: Having to leave to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
It was good to see you again. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and am delighted that you have taken the time to leave a comment here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice accomadation and great location if you like outdoor pursuits”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I had to find accomadation that suited an age range between 3 and 83 ! So Gew property was perfect as it was all on one level, an enclosed yard for the children to play safely a pretty 1/2 walk to beach (at child speed) to meet husband who could drive for a surf on the same beach and all return home by road in 5mins and A lovely park across the road to walk ar cycle round. I personally would have preferred to be closer to a village so my husband and I could go out on our own for an evening without driving as we live in a rural location and it's a bit of a treat to walk to a pub! but all round the place was good value particularly as this was in a school holiday and we are looking at going again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We would be very pleased to see you again. In the lighter evenings you can walk on the footpaths to either the Terrace (10 minutes) or the pubs at Portreath and Illogan (15 - 20 minutes) these are lovely country walks but, of course, no streetlights!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a beautiful cottage ~ we stayed in Mowhay Cottage for 7 nights and loved every minute!
We had an online Sainsbury's delivery for when we arrived to save travelling down with essential items like wine!
The cottage was lovely and clean with everything we needed to live comfortably for the week. Really comfortable bed with mattress and pillow protectors; fabulous bathroom with large shower and bath; fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher; log burner with first basket of logs free and a conservatory with small patio. It was perfect!
Thank you to Lindsay and Andrew for making us so very welcome and Golly for welcoming our labrador Elsa!
It was also a perfect location of the beach, walks and visits to places of interest.
We are already looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mowhay Cottage. This is one of our favourite cottages, just right for two! We would be very pleased to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P
Wokingham
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“family reunion”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

My sisters and I visited Trengove as a family reunion and major birthday celebration. Trengove was in a perfect location for us as we holidayed as children in the Portreath and Redruth area. We booked the Trengove suite which is a very large wing of the main house. I believe the family use it when not booked by guests. The area is very quiet but near to major routes. Nowhere is very far in this part of Cornwall and you can soon visit more than enough to fill a week. There are cycle ways and footpaths and a large outdoor area for kids to play safely. A walk to Portreath will take you through an animal park which is open for visits. Portreath beach is very clean and about 15 minutes walk. The owners were very helpful and we were able to borrow tools to restore our family grave at Gwenap Church. A well deserved 5 star rating.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely walk to the beach and pub
Liked least: Cornish weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Trengove.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce A
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable family holiday”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Trengove Farm is a beautiful place to stay as it has everything you could possibly need for a great holiday. Stunning location with panoramic views of both the coast and countryside, very homely, comfortable and well equipped accommodation and friendly helpful owners Lindsay and Andrew. We stayed in The Gew , 4 adults and 1 grandchild, and enjoyed every minute! Also, Trengove is within easy reach of other scenic places to visit in Cornwall and extremely good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing