We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“everything excellent.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Pat B
1 review
“everything excellent.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

everything excellent - superb cottage central for beaches and all amenities, quiet, secluded and relaxing - so good we have already booked for next year!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
It was very nice to meet you and glad that you enjoyed your stay in Mowhay Cottage. We are very pleased that you have chosen to book again and look forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenMan...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic setting handy for walking to beach, country park from the door.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Clean, spacious, well equipped and a lovely setting. We stayed in The Gew which had an enclosed large patio- great for the dogs. 20 mins walk to Portreath mostly on trails straight from the farm. Country Park also very close and good for walks.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
We are very lucky so have so many different walks and cycle trails on our doorstep. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Gew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will50000
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Cottage was very comfortable and in a nice quiet location but close enough to beach and all facilities at Portreath. One small improvement would be a better fridge with door storage (we had to remove a shelf in order to store milk cartons etc.). Owners are very friendly and the cottage was easily spacious enough for 6. The Wi-fi connection is very hit and miss. Overall, I would say it was reasonable value for money, bearing in mind it was school holiday season and this is Cornwall.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice quiet location with good parking
Liked least: Wi-fi quality.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
We are very pleased that you are satisfied with accommodation but are very sorry that you had a problem with the fridge shelves. We will have a look at this and try to address the problem. Thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hshanks89
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Second time back”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed in the Roundhouse this year after having spent a week last year in Mowhay. Fully accommodating, had all we needed with Lindsey offering any additional help needed. The Roundhouse itself was very light and airy and would easily suit anyone needing everything to be on one floor. The area is quiet, the other guests courteous, it was a wonderful week. The farm itself isn't far from amenities in Cambourne and is a short drive from the A30, getting you to anywhere in Cornwall you want to go. Alternatively it's a quick drive or leisurely walk to Portreath beach.

The only drawback was trying to work out how to switch on the towel radiator. (Do what we didn't do and ask!)

All in all, a great place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light and airiness of the accomodation
Liked least: Failing to work out how to turn on the towel radiator
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Hello, Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Roundhouse, despite having problems with the towel rail. There is a pull cord to turn on the electric to run it. (In the cooler months it comes on with the central heating) I will make a note to label it to help future guests, and I am sorry that you had this problem. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
373jon
Zabbar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottages, great location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Everything was perfect, the cottages were well equipped and in very good condition. The location to explore Cornwall was perfect and the owners very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at Trengove. Thank you for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilandLi...
St. Neot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our 12th Fantastic year here!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I think the title possible say's it all? The accommodation is great, clean, modern and comfortable and very well equipped. Lindsey and Andrew the owners are very friendly, helpful and there with any help or advice you might want. It's a very peaceful location with easy access to the main A30 so getting around Cornwall is easy. Already booked for next year!!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As you can see
Liked least: Leaving to come home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
It was very good to see you both again and we are looking forward to your visit next year. Thank you for your kind comments. Burgess is a lovely sunny property and we are glad that you liked it there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce A
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is our 3rd visit to Trengove as we really enjoy it here! Stayed in The Burgess which has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. As confirmed by previous reviews Trengove is well located for walks, bike rides, visiting the sandy picturesque beach at Portreath and being within easy reach of most popular places to visit in Cornwall. Peaceful and relaxing but also child friendly. The owners Lindsay and Andrew are friendly, helpful and always pleased to see you. We would definitely go back again to this beautiful place.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really but especially beauty of location and peace and quiet
Liked least: The journey of 365 miles! Wish we lived nearer to visit more often
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was good to see you again. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Burgess, as it was a different property for you. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.