We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the pool to ourselves :-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portreath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Bassets Acre is a lovely relaxing place to stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Pam and Richard and they are friendly and genuine which gives a lovely welcoming atmosphere. There are only 6 apartments and we found that we mostly had the pool to ourselves at the times we went swimming and we were there in the school holidays. Amongst other facilities, the garden has a slide and swing which my younger daughter loved and table tennis which the older one loved. There is a free DVD and book library in the games room along with a pool table (40p a game). This was our second visit to Bassets Acre and we wanted to stay longer (we'd already been there 2 weeks). Portreath itself is a picturesque litttle village/town and I am mystified as to where the 'scruffy' part is as mentioned in another review. It's lovely - you should go!

Room Tip: Apartments on the ground floor are good for getting quickly back inside after a swim or hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassets63, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you loads for such a terrific review , We are the lucky ones having such a fantastic family choose to stay with us again , we try our hardest to make your stay with us memorable and trouble free if we achieve that we have done well and look forward to welcoming you all Next Year .
Our very best wishes
Richard & Pam
p.s Don't worry it wont be long before next years holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

having just returned from our family holiday we are eager to return. upon arrival we were greated by a lovely warm welcome and knew instantly that we'd made the right choice. our appartment was spotless and spacious. we took our 3 kids (16, 14, 11) and their eye's lit up when they saw the pool.

fabulous location, just minutes for the sandy beach. I never knew we had such stunning beaches here in the uk. we took surf lessons and ventured out sea kayaking with W C Adventures that are located on the Portreath beach. great guys, taking time with all the kids making sure we all had fun and progressed.

a fab place to stay, and the gardens and summer house give a great place to relax . the views are stunning from the table by the summer house.

voted by all as the best family holiday ever. well done Pam and richard for creating such a stunning retreat xx

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_louise_sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassets63, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thank you so much for such a lovely review , The hard work is all worth while when it is
appreciated by such fantastic people who understand the ethos of us and our house ,
It is our privilege and pleasure to have had you stay with us.
Very best wishes
Pamela & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was our 2nd year to Bassetts Acre, my partner and my 2 teenage kids love the place, great location to all the beaches, top quality accomadation, the rooms are very clean and spacious, the gardens out of this world.
The pool and hot tub are a real bonus, I couldn't get my kids out of there.
We have stayed in different types of rooms each having there only luxuries.
Pamela and Richard are a great couple and go out of there way to ensure you have everything you need, there summer house at the top of garden has great views and its relaxing watching the sun go down with a beer in your hand.
Definatley will be booking to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassets63, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

What a terrific review , It is always great to see familiar faces ,we all relax instantly , we know we must be doing something right when so many lovely people return each year , some families have been coming to us for over 30 years , It seams like yesterday we welcomed them with their young children and are now welcoming their children with their families ,
We have gone full circle but what a wonderful journey. Thank you all so much .
Lots of love
Pamela & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had a lovely week in early June at Bassetts Acre. We'd found it via Holiday Lettings and having children of 9 and 6 years old we thought the pool and games room would be perfect to fill some time during the odd inevitable rainy afternoon.

We had the smallest apartment as that's all we could afford this year, but even though compact it was perfectly comfortable and had everything we needed. In fact we felt like we were in a treehouse with a view over the garden and the badger's sett!

Unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to make use of the barbecues in early June, but the facilities were there and the garden at the front of the property or the lookout decked area at the top of the garden would have been lovely to spend a warm evening with a barbecue.

The pool was great and the hot tub was fantastic! we really enjoyed that.

The only negative point was the fact we couldn't get wifi in that particular apartment as we both own our own businesses and needed to do a little bit of work of an evening and couldn't. But it is available in all the other apartments and I believe Pam & Roy are addressing the issue.

They were lovely hosts and have a really lovely place. We will definitely be back again to Bassetts Acre.

Portreath, although a bit scruffy in places, has a lovely beach with great waves for surfing or bodyboarding and some great eateries. The bakery is wonderful. We really like the place and will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chameleon29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassets63, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Many thanks for your inspiring review , hopefully after 35 years at Bassets acre we have got it right ,or nearly ,
It makes it worth while when people appreciate what we have achieved here but we haven't finished yet we are always planning . We look forward to seeing you all again .
Kind regards
Pamela & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

From my booking, their welcome and our stay, Pamela & Richard were absolutely brilliant in accommodating our needs. Being a family inclusive of full time working adults, we were struggling to get a holiday rental with our dates. Pamela was really kind in explaining our options, offering suggestions for alternatives and finally even going out of her way to allow us to book a few days between two weeks which would have been quite troublesome, I'm sure.

On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to find the place absolutely beautiful with the outdoor covered pool, bbq kits all over the place, a lookout point and the cherry on top, our gorgeous apartment. Spacious, well-decorated and really comfortable we couldn't have asked for more to be honest.

Pamela was also helpful with advice on places to eat and things to do in addition to what we'd already planned.

Our only regret was the fact that our stay was so short and packed with things to do outside of Portreath giving us no time to relax in the hot tub or take advantage of the brief spell of sunshine to get a bbq fired up.

We've bookmarked Bassets Acre to return!!!

Room Tip: Basset's Lookout is probably the best located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timespacecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassets63, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for such a lovely review , it means a lot to us to know all of our hard work over the past 35 years has been worth while , we are passionate about our house and gardens as any one knows who has stayed with us , we will endeavour to keep up the good work.

Pamela & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at Bassetts Acre with our family and friends in August this year. The facilities were great as we had 11 children with us and the swimming pool, hot tub and games were were a great hit with them all. You are in walking distance of the beach and we went most days so we could body board. The apartments are well equipped and spacious. The owners, Pam and Richard were very welcoming and helpful. There are several BBQ's around the vast gardens and we BBQ'd most evenings and sat out in the lovely gardens and the children were happy to go into the games room and play pool etc. Would definately recommend to anyone with children, from littlies to biggies :) .. Location was fab and we are hoping to book again for May next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We always have a week away in England with our 2 young children. Usually we get a cottage but felt that Bassetts Acre having a pool and gardens was a better idea this time, and we weren't wrong.

Our 3 and 5 year olds loved the pool, which was always warm, the garden and the games room, and we all loved the location.

Brilliant beach for sand and surf, lovely food nearby, easy to get to, and lovely apartment meant that we have booked for next summer already.

We have young children, so tend to see the world through their eyes but we loved the place too. Having never been back to the same place twice (always try something new), this is the measure of how highly we thought of Bassetts Acre

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments

Address: Glenfeadon Terrace | Portreath, Portreath TR16 4JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Portreath
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basset Acre ~ We are just a few minutes walk to the,Beach,Shops,Pubs & Restaurants, Our grand historic house encapsulates six high quality unique self-catering 1 - 3 bedroom apartments.We are set in one acre of sub-tropical gardens with Sea views & BBQ's. Our unique air dome covered swimming pool and hot tub spa are the ultimate in relaxation.Also: Games room & children's adventure play area with table tennis. The stunning coast path & wood land walks are in easy reach. We also have private car parking.We are in the heart of Portreath but have a quiet location & are very central for visiting all of CornwallWe have been resident owners of Bassets Acre for 37 years and are on hand for all your needs . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing