We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would Liked to Have Stayed Longer”
other travellers have booked this property
OUR POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE,ENJOY
A SWIM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER, JUST 5 MINS T0 BEACH
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OUR POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE,ENJOY
A SWIM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER, JUST 5 MINS T0 BEACH
Our Fab Hot tub / Spa for ultimate relaxation, Private use for residents use only. Open all year. The fitted galley kitchen and cosy dining area are ideal for cooking some locally cought fish
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
OUR POOL WITH TELESCOPIC ENCLOSURE,ENJOY
A SWIM AND RELAX WHATEVER THE WEATHER, JUST 5 MINS T0 BEACH
Our Fab Hot tub / Spa for ultimate relaxation, Private use for residents use only. Open all year.
The fitted galley kitchen and cosy dining area are ideal for cooking some locally cought fish
The spacious pristine bathroom has over bath electric shower etc, leading on to the front porch.
Bassets lookout , Classic double bedroom with super cumfy bed , plus 2 other bed rooms
The light and airy second of three bedrooms has 2 excellant full size single beds with ample storage
THE 3RD BEDROOM, CHILDRENS FAVOURITE,
FULL SIZE BUNK BEDS AND A FULL SIZE SINGLE
Captain Henry added the glass facade as a lookout to see his ships and the sea , What a perfect spot
The lovely staircase is just one of Bassets Acres superb features ,They dont build like this anymore
RICHARD AND PAMELA RESIDENT OWNERS OF BASSETS ACRE FOR 40 YEARS ,ON HAND FOR ALL YOUR NEEDS.
Bassets Acre ,Built in 1827 by Lord Basset , Our six beautiful apartments are all in the main house.
Our games room has a pool  and football tables, dvd and Book libruary, Toys and  Games ,
RELAX AND ENJOY OUR LOVELY GARDEN WITH GAS BARBECUE
The childrens aventure play area with sand pit , table tennis and other games.
The gas barbecue for guests use
Enjoy the privacy of the hottub in the summer house, the perfect place to relax and unwind.
Our acre sub tropical gardens in the valley has lots of wildlife, Badgers, Foxes, Squirrels and Owls
PORTREATH BAY, A UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE, LOOKING STUNNING
We are a just a 4-5 minute stroll to Portreaths beautiful sandy beach , Restuarants , and great pubs
Airiel view of Bassets acre and Portreaths historic village, Red arrow shows our location.
Fishing trip from Portreath harbour, caught 30 fish .
Portreath, historic harbour, a good place for fishing . We are surrounded by National trust countrys
Portreath is famed for its Caves and rock pools, Lady Bassets baths
and the natural  swimming pool.
One of many beautiful sunsets you only get on the north coast,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portreath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheepdog5...
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would Liked to Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Having left it rather late in the day to find an overnight place to stay we were recommended to try Bassets Acre. Luckily they had an apartment available for the night and we couldn't find fault. Pamela was more than helpful in supplying us with towels and showing us around. She also advised a good place to eat that night - The Basset Arms
The apartment was very clean with a well equipped kitchen, nice dining table and chairs, comfy settee and beds. Although we only stayed the one night I would not hesitate to stay longer as not only had the apartment had everything one would need & the pool and hot tub area looked very inviting.
The apartments are in a quiet road and only short walk to the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfy and relaxing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
MANY THANKS FOR YOUR APRECIATION OF ALL OUR HARD WORK, IT IS A PRIVILEDGE FOR ALL OF US TO STAY IN THIS BEAUTIFUL HOUSE WITH ITS WONDERFULL GARDENS SO CLOSE TO THE BEACH , HOPE TO HAVE THE PLEASURE OF MEETING YOU BOTH IN THE FUTURE , PAM & RICH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and roominess of the apartment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
If l were allowed to write my own review this would be it ,
its good to know you are as passionate about Bassets Acre as we are,
a holiday here seams to bring out the best in people ,
we are lucky to have so many fantastic like minded people staying with us and returning year after year.
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a full and detailed review.
Looking forward to seeing you all again next year.
Best Wishes
Pam and Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chantal59...
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“BASSETS ACRE IS A MUST”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a nice welcome by Pam,our apartment was spotless ,and well furnished.we were minutes from the sea.beautiful grounds.Pam and Richard are to be congratulated for their thoughtfulness regarding amenities to suit all ages,specially the hot tub.the location was perfect.we all had a wonderful and most relaxing week,and we certainly will go back.
THANK YOU PAM AND RICHARD

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub and everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
WOW , Thank you so much , it makes all the hard work worthwhile ,
hopefully the next 37years might get easier !
Kind regards
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anurag J
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay at Basset Acres”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Basset Acre was a lovely home away from home.. perfect location with mountains and sea for a view :)
Pam and Richard were lovely hosts ... provided us with all the information and were very friendly. The rooms were clean and had all the facilities required.
We had a lovely time in Portreath .. enjoyed a nice break

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,Hosts,Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our lovely house and beautiful grounds,So happy to share it with such
nice people who share the ethos that Bassets Acre has to offer and look forward to welcoming you again
Kind regards
Pam and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tez_i2
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful home-from-home holiday”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Garden Spring (rather than Basset's Lookout) as a family of 5, with children 4,8 and 14...one thing we often find hard is amusing everyone in the same place - no problem here! The kids all loved the play room, the table tennis, the pool, the garden - they never wanted to leave the apartment, despite the fact the beach at Portreath also has some thing for everyone. Cliff top walks, the bigger kids swam in the sea, there are rock to clamber over, rock pools to explore and a stream to dam up and build the most amazing earthworks! And some lovely cafes and bars in the town, so it was a hard decision to make between these and a BBQ in the garden at Bassets Acre (overlooking the bay). There was nothing more we could have wanted - except perhaps a mobile signal! Garden Spring has a comfy double bedroom, a twin, and a delightful room for younger kids with bunks and a single. Garden Spring also has the advantage of being next to the games room, which the children really appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly owners, the pool, the hot tub, the BBQs, the facilities for children
Liked least: wifi limited to public areas
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much , it is what has made us carry on for 35 years.
Best wishes
Pam & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian t
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To be made to feel that you are welcome is to us a great start to any holiday ,Richard & Pam do that .”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had been touring Europe for about 12 weeks in and out of hotels, we were ready to come home to the UK. We had never really visited Cornwall before so thought it would be a good idea to spend a couple of weeks there be for finishing
our extended holiday.
I think we googled self catering holiday in Cornwall , anyway we found the Bssets web site which had all the information we needed to decide this is the one. It lived up to all the web site had said and more.The facilities were fantastic although we did not use them all they were there.
The apartment we took was larger than we needed but it was the last one they had if you are a couple with 3_4 kids it would be ideal all the equipment you need to have a home from home and for a very modest cost Pam did all our washing.
Richard & Pam are amazing hosts and nothing is to much trouble , the last comment we would make is that it is a very central location to visit Cornwall of which we did extensively and glad we did it is a beautiful part of our country.
Well done Richard & Pam I'm sure we will be back sometime.

Brian & Theresa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House & garden
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Sorry for the late reply, What a great review, Always a pleasure to have such lovely people stay with us, We are the lucky ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Shower not quite as powerful as we were used to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing