We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Portreath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We, a group of 5 walkers, booked Cliff House as the first night before beginning our 6 day walk to The Lizard. The rooms were all really well decorated, fresh and spotlessly clean. Hot water in the showers and the breakfast excellent, especially needed to begin our walk! The hosts were friendly and I left my car opposite the B&B knowing they would keep an eye on it. Also when we returned they let us all use the bathroom before we went on our way! We had a good supper at the pub just a 5 minute walk away and around the corner is an award winning baker. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Hey Ladies, Thank you for your kind words, glad the car was ok upon your return. shhhhh dont tell everyone about the bathroom visit or they'll be queing up!!
See you maybe when you walk back the other way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Cliffhouse. it is conveniently located in town just a few minutes from the beach, shops and local shops. The hosts were warm and welcoming and offered us lots of helpful advice on the local area. The rooms were a recent size and well equipped. Great hearty breakfast that was really appreciated!

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Hello guys and girls, So glad you enjoyed your stay, You forgot your bacon! that just means you'll have to come back oneday to have some more. Seriously Thanks for the great comments. you are very welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked this lovely B&B for a last minute Bank Holiday getaway, mainly as they had availability for a Double and a Twin room. Wow, so glad we did. Excellent value for money, delicious breakfast (particularly the bacon, we actually bought to bring home with us), an excellent base for our Cornwall adventures and the hosts were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to see (St Michael's Mount, the Lizzard) and what to miss (Land's End). Also very convenient with regards to the coastal walk. Would definitely recommend to friends, and stay here again shoudl I be in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeiraV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here one night with another couple. Both rooms were immaculate, fresh and welcoming and nicely decorated. The bed and breakfast is ideally placed on the flat (as opposed to up a hill) We in the middle of the village, with easy access to the sea, and the convenience of a nearby shop and pub (although there was no noise). Breakfast was great and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst walking the SWCP. The path passes the front door, so very convenient!
It was a delightful experience; warm, very clean and very comfortable.The breakfast was excellent and got me on my way next morning well "set up". The owners were very welcoming and offered good advice about getting an evening meal. Would highly recommend - and not for just one night only..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wouldbetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Cliff House for two nights. Would stay longer if we could. The room was very comfortable, quiet, clean and had all the amenities. All the linens were pressed... that's the best! The shower was a little small and it was hard to adjust the hot water for me, but not my husband. Simon greeted us warmly when we arrived. There was a little mixup on the payment of the room, but it was resolved straight away with kind words from Simon when we discovered it was our mistake. The breakfast was spectacular, especially the bacon, which I had the joy of having for the first time. The ocean/beach decorations gave you a feeling of being in a seaside resort/ cottage..very nice. Plenty of information about the area sights. WiFi connection was weak. Simon was very helpful in suggesting a restaurant in the area. We recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Pleased we chose this B&B for our night in Portreath, The rooms are lovely, bright and clean - with a fab on-suite bathroom and comfy bed. The owners made us feel very welcome and the cooked breakfast in the morning was top notch! Would definately reccommend to others and would most definately stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cliff House Cliff Terrace, Portreath TR16 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portreath
Price Range: £68 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is located directly on The South West Coast Path. Being just a few steps from Portreath's historic working harbour and a 2 or 3 minute level walk from Portreath's sandy beach, Cliff House is ideally located for walkers of the South West Coast Path, to have a relaxing beach holiday or to travel around Cornwall. Parking is available on site or there is a local bus service which stops about 50 metres away so no problems getting about. One night stays are acceptable and a downstairs en-suite room caters for those guests who do not like stairs. Well behaved pets are welcome by prior arrangement and packed lunches can be provided if requested in advance(please ask for a quote). All in all it is the intention to make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing