We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portreath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Portreath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having stayed at Cliff House in Portreath several times, I cannot fault this B & B situated in a small but ideal part of Cornwall. The rooms are clean and spacious. The hosts are exceptionally friendly - Simon & Viv definately go that extra mile to ensure all guests needs are catered for.......particularly with the breakfast which is fab!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    34
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
75
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had a single overlooking the pub next door with a shared bathroom across the hall. The room was small but well appointed with a rack and hangers instead of a wardrobe - perfect for walkers. The bathroom was really good - larger than the bedroom with new-looking fixtures and fittings. The location of Cliff House meant that I could leave the window open without disturbance from the pub next door or the pungent smell of the harbour. The hosts were helpful and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for one night during our walk on the SW Coast Path. When we arrived we were made welcome in a very friendly way by the landlords. We had two rooms, one rather small room with an ensuite bathroom in the main house, and a room in the annexe. Both were impeccably clean, the bathrooms large and the beds comfortable. The landlord directed us to a nice restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated room and left nothing to be asked for. The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable (we learnt quite a bit about Portreath history!). I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Portreath.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrixieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Friendly hosts, beautiful home, stopped in a single room with shared bathroom which would not look out of place in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast room reflects the whole place, clean, fresh and bright with a lot of small design touches which show the pride and effort that must go into running this place and a great breakfast to boot!
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you so much for the review, we are so glad to hear that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one. We do try our hardest to make our home feel welcoming, Hope your other stops are as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

The enthusiasm Simon and Viv show in making sure you enjoy your visit is obvious from arrival to departure. Their friendly personalities make Cliff House special. The rooms are spotlessly clean and there's an excellent choice for breakfast. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We try to make everyone feel at home and if we can offer help in any way we do/will. We very much look forward to you visiting us at Cliff House in the not to distant furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked through LateRooms.com and I have never been made to feel so unwelcome! We had indicated that we hoped to arrive at 4pm but the site clearly said check-in was between 4pm and 7pm, so imagine my dismay when (having arrived at 7pm),we received a long lecture about how late we were and how we had spoilt their night. Well it spoilt MY night - and I had to pay £75 for the experience! I still don't understand what I did that was so bad. It was a relief to get out of Portreath. This is one place that I will never return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
We are sorry that you felt your experience of Portreath was not a good one, you have clearly shown your disappointment!
We should point out that actually you arrived at 7.40pm (we know that as we had just cancelled a booking we had for 7.30pm!) We do ask that guests if possible check in between 4-7pm (unless otherwise arranged) and you did state on your booking 4pm arrival.

Actually initially we were rather concerned for your welfare as it was 3.5 hours after your expected arrival time and we thought that maybe you were walking the South West Coast Path as so many of our guests do. It was your comment and I quote "actually, we couldn't be bothered to get in the car" that was a bit upsetting for us! Most guests give us a courtesy call to say they will be arriving late. it is such a shame that didn't cross your mind to do that as we could have made arrangements for your arrival. especially as unlike a hotel most B&B's do not have the benefit of a 24hr reception for check in which maybe more suitable for your future needs.

We sincerely hope that potential future guests will judge us by the numerous satisfied customers that have left us true and factual reviews here and on other sites. (We have just been awarded a 2013 certificate of excellence (which includes our breakfasts).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Cliff house is located just 5 mins from the Portreath Beach which to be honest was a big advantage. Since the check-in time was 4PM, its this beach where you can spend your first evening.Its clean and also dog lovers' heaven. You can enjoy at beach whenever you have spare time. The whole village is very peaceful and people are extremely friendly and helpful.

The owners Simon and Viv are very helpful and go an extra mile to help you even in your tiniest needs. The house is very clean and the breakfast is superb. Thanks to Viv, we got the discount coupons for the Eden Project and she also guided us precisely towards St. Ives (the map she drew was excellent). Overall an absolute value for money and I would definitely stay here again if I visit Cornwall.

We rented a car for 2 days and I thoroughly enjoyed driving(Indian driving License is valid for an year in the UK). Without a car it would be difficult to commute and visit more places. Places like St. Ives, Falmouth, Newquey, St. Agnes,St Michael's Mount, Penzance, etc are easily reachable from Portreath.

Abhay

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms. Always ask for the ones that has attached bath. We were lucky to have the ones wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you Abhay for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you and your family felt welcome here, what a shame you couldnt spend longer to discover all those other places and I'm glad our map writing was good enough for you to follow :-)
Maybe one day you can return, in the mean time it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
3.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
22.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cliff House Cliff Terrace, Portreath TR16 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Portreath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is located directly on The South West Coast Path. Being just a few steps from Portreath's historic working harbour and a 2 or 3 minute level walk from Portreath's sandy beach, Cliff House is ideally located for walkers of the South West Coast Path, to have a relaxing beach holiday or to travel around Cornwall. Parking is available on site or there is a local bus service which stops about 50 metres away so no problems getting about. One night stays are acceptable and a downstairs en-suite room caters for those guests who do not like stairs. Well behaved pets are welcome by prior arrangement and packed lunches can be provided if requested in advance(please ask for a quote). All in all it is the intention to make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing