We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Portreath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Portreath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing break in comfortable accommodation, Cliff House B&B is the perfect place for you to stay! With a warm and friendly atmosphere, the owners make you very welcome! As for the breakfast, such a variety of choice of quality fresh ingredients, from cereals, yoghurts, through to a full English and anything in between. You certainly won't go hungry! The bedrooms are clean and bright with nice decor and really comfortable beds, you'll definitely have a good nights sleep. The location is perfect with some local shops across the road, some lovely pubs serving great food, plus you are a stones throw away from the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having stayed at Cliff House in Portreath several times, I cannot fault this B & B situated in a small but ideal part of Cornwall. The rooms are clean and spacious. The hosts are exceptionally friendly - Simon & Viv definately go that extra mile to ensure all guests needs are catered for.......particularly with the breakfast which is fab!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had a single overlooking the pub next door with a shared bathroom across the hall. The room was small but well appointed with a rack and hangers instead of a wardrobe - perfect for walkers. The bathroom was really good - larger than the bedroom with new-looking fixtures and fittings. The location of Cliff House meant that I could leave the window open without disturbance from the pub next door or the pungent smell of the harbour. The hosts were helpful and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for one night during our walk on the SW Coast Path. When we arrived we were made welcome in a very friendly way by the landlords. We had two rooms, one rather small room with an ensuite bathroom in the main house, and a room in the annexe. Both were impeccably clean, the bathrooms large and the beds comfortable. The landlord directed us to a nice restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated room and left nothing to be asked for. The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable (we learnt quite a bit about Portreath history!). I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Portreath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrixieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Friendly hosts, beautiful home, stopped in a single room with shared bathroom which would not look out of place in a 5 star hotel. The breakfast room reflects the whole place, clean, fresh and bright with a lot of small design touches which show the pride and effort that must go into running this place and a great breakfast to boot!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nobby_Stiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you so much for the review, we are so glad to hear that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one. We do try our hardest to make our home feel welcoming, Hope your other stops are as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The enthusiasm Simon and Viv show in making sure you enjoy your visit is obvious from arrival to departure. Their friendly personalities make Cliff House special. The rooms are spotlessly clean and there's an excellent choice for breakfast. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stelvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We try to make everyone feel at home and if we can offer help in any way we do/will. We very much look forward to you visiting us at Cliff House in the not to distant furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked through LateRooms.com and I have never been made to feel so unwelcome! We had indicated that we hoped to arrive at 4pm but the site clearly said check-in was between 4pm and 7pm, so imagine my dismay when (having arrived at 7pm),we received a long lecture about how late we were and how we had spoilt their night. Well it spoilt MY night - and I had to pay £75 for the experience! I still don't understand what I did that was so bad. It was a relief to get out of Portreath. This is one place that I will never return to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIVHAYWOOD, Owner at Cliff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

We are sorry that you felt your experience of Portreath was not a good one, you have clearly shown your disappointment!
We should point out that actually you arrived at 7.40pm (we know that as we had just cancelled a booking we had for 7.30pm!) We do ask that guests if possible check in between 4-7pm (unless otherwise arranged) and you did state on your booking 4pm arrival.

Actually initially we were rather concerned for your welfare as it was 3.5 hours after your expected arrival time and we thought that maybe you were walking the South West Coast Path as so many of our guests do. It was your comment and I quote "actually, we couldn't be bothered to get in the car" that was a bit upsetting for us! Most guests give us a courtesy call to say they will be arriving late. it is such a shame that didn't cross your mind to do that as we could have made arrangements for your arrival. especially as unlike a hotel most B&B's do not have the benefit of a 24hr reception for check in which maybe more suitable for your future needs.

We sincerely hope that potential future guests will judge us by the numerous satisfied customers that have left us true and factual reviews here and on other sites. (We have just been awarded a 2013 certificate of excellence (which includes our breakfasts).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cliff House Cliff Terrace, Portreath TR16 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portreath
Price Range: £78 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is located directly on The South West Coast Path. Being just a few steps from Portreath's historic working harbour and a 2 or 3 minute level walk from Portreath's sandy beach, Cliff House is ideally located for walkers of the South West Coast Path, to have a relaxing beach holiday or to travel around Cornwall. Parking is available on site or there is a local bus service which stops about 50 metres away so no problems getting about. One night stays are acceptable and a downstairs en-suite room caters for those guests who do not like stairs. Well behaved pets are welcome by prior arrangement and packed lunches can be provided if requested in advance(please ask for a quote). All in all it is the intention to make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing