We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Portreath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Friendly hosts made our stay a wonderful experience. Everything is well appointed with quality fittings and linen etc and absolutely spotless throughout. A ceiling fan was very welcome in the July heat wave too. We followed Simons' recommendation for evening meal at Bassets and were not disappointed. An excellent breakfast with properly cooked tomatoes too. Simon & Viv work very hard to make this a perfect B&B , better than a hotel. We will return .

Room Tip: We had the twin with ceiling fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coldandtired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Brilliant stay yet again, will always go back to Cliff House, it just seems to get better & better, Viv & Simon are always happy to help, nothing appears too much bother. Would recommend and would definitely return. Many thanks for such an enjoyable stay once again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyUktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very nice friendly people , great food , brilliant crisp white towels and bedding . Great bathroom facility's .
Exceeded expectations DVD tv with some DVDs for the children and some children's books in the family room , even has its own entrance . All furniture is nice not the normal old junk you see in many b&bs .
Recommended to any family very accommodating .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D11nkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing break in comfortable accommodation, Cliff House B&B is the perfect place for you to stay! With a warm and friendly atmosphere, the owners make you very welcome! As for the breakfast, such a variety of choice of quality fresh ingredients, from cereals, yoghurts, through to a full English and anything in between. You certainly won't go hungry! The bedrooms are clean and bright with nice decor and really comfortable beds, you'll definitely have a good nights sleep. The location is perfect with some local shops across the road, some lovely pubs serving great food, plus you are a stones throw away from the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having stayed at Cliff House in Portreath several times, I cannot fault this B & B situated in a small but ideal part of Cornwall. The rooms are clean and spacious. The hosts are exceptionally friendly - Simon & Viv definately go that extra mile to ensure all guests needs are catered for.......particularly with the breakfast which is fab!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I had a single overlooking the pub next door with a shared bathroom across the hall. The room was small but well appointed with a rack and hangers instead of a wardrobe - perfect for walkers. The bathroom was really good - larger than the bedroom with new-looking fixtures and fittings. The location of Cliff House meant that I could leave the window open without disturbance from the pub next door or the pungent smell of the harbour. The hosts were helpful and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for one night during our walk on the SW Coast Path. When we arrived we were made welcome in a very friendly way by the landlords. We had two rooms, one rather small room with an ensuite bathroom in the main house, and a room in the annexe. Both were impeccably clean, the bathrooms large and the beds comfortable. The landlord directed us to a nice restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated room and left nothing to be asked for. The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable (we learnt quite a bit about Portreath history!). I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Portreath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrixieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cliff Terrace, Portreath TR16 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Portreath
Price Range: £81 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is located directly on The South West Coast Path. Being just a few steps from Portreath's historic working harbour and a 2 or 3 minute level walk from Portreath's sandy beach, Cliff House is ideally located for walkers of the South West Coast Path, to have a relaxing beach holiday or to travel around Cornwall. Parking is available on site or there is a local bus service which stops about 50 metres away so no problems getting about. One night stays are acceptable and a downstairs en-suite room caters for those guests who do not like stairs. Well behaved pets are welcome by prior arrangement and packed lunches can be provided if requested in advance(please ask for a quote). All in all it is the intention to make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast Portreath, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing